## Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services

Office Location: 4822 Madison Yards Way

LicensE Portals

LicensE Portal: <u>License.wi.gov</u>

Madison, WI 53705 Email: dsps@wisconsin.gov Phone Number: (608) 266-2112 Website: http://dsps.wi.gov

#### DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL CREDENTIAL PROCESSING

### CREDENTIALING INFORMATION FOR SUBSTANCE ABUSE COUNSELOR APPLICANTS

### **SUBSTANCE ABUSE COUNSELOR IN TRAINING (SAC-IT) REQUIREMENTS:**

• 100 hours of specialized education in the content areas below:

CONTENT AREA	HOURS
Substance Abuse Assessment	15
Substance Abuse Counseling	15
Substance Abuse Case Management	10
Substance Abuse Patient Education	15
Substance Abuse Professional Responsibility	20
Electives within the performance domains listed above	25

TOTAL 100

- Provide evidence of current employment such as a written offer of employment, internship, practicum, or an agreement authorizing volunteer hours at an agency providing substance use disorder treatment.
- Take and pass the Wisconsin Statutes and Rules Exam.

### **SUBSTANCE ABUSE COUNSELOR (SAC) REQUIREMENTS:**

360 hours of substance use disorder specialized education, obtained through a postsecondary institution or a Department-approved education program (view our website for a list of approved programs:
 <a href="https://dsps.wi.gov/Documents/SACCurrentPreCertificationEducation.pdf">https://dsps.wi.gov/Documents/SACCurrentPreCertificationEducation.pdf</a>) in the content areas listed below:

CONTENT AREA	HOURS
Substance Abuse Assessment	60
Substance Abuse Counseling	60
Substance Abuse Case Management	60
Substance Abuse Patient Education	60
Substance Abuse Professional Responsibility	60
Boundaries and Ethics	6
Electives within the performance domains listed above	54

TOTAL 360

- Completion of 3,000 hours of work experience described in <u>Form #2749</u> within five (5) years immediately preceding the date of application.
- Obtain a passing score for the on the National Association for Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors (NAADAC) NCAC I exam.
- Take and pass the Wisconsin Rules and Statues Exam, unless the applicant has previously passed the examination in the process of
  obtaining a substance abuse counselor-in-training credential.
- Licensure via reciprocity may be granted if the applicant for SAC holds a current credential in good standing in another state or U.S. territory with requirements that are not lower than the current Wisconsin requirements (Form #2786).

### Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services

### CLINICAL SUBSTANCE ABUSE COUNSELOR (CSAC) REQUIREMENTS:

- An Associate degree or higher in behavioral science field from an accredited university or college
- Evidence of one (1) of the following:

Holding a substance abuse counselor credential

10

360 hours of substance use disorder specialized education obtained through a postsecondary institution or a Department-approved education program (view our website for a list of approved programs:

https://dsps.wi.gov/Documents/SACCurrentPreCertificationEducation.pdf) in the content areas listed below:

CONTENT AREA	HOURS
Substance Abuse Assessment	60
Substance Abuse Counseling	60
Substance Abuse Case Management	60
Substance Abuse Patient Education	60
Substance Abuse Professional Responsibility	60
Boundaries and Ethics	6
Electives within the performance domains listed above	54

TOTAL 360

- Completion of 5,000 hours of work experience as described in <u>Form #2749</u> within five (5) years immediately preceding the date of application.
- · Obtain a passing score on the National Association for Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors (NAADAC) NCAC I exam
- Take and pass the Wisconsin Statutes and Rules Exam, unless the applicant has previously passed the examination in the process of obtaining a substance abuse counselor-in-training or substance abuse counselor credential.
- Licensure via reciprocity may be granted if an applicant for CSAC holds a current credential in good standing in another state or U.S. territory with requirements that are not lower than the current Wisconsin requirements (Form #2786).

# NATIONAL ASSOCIATION FOR ALCOHOLISM AND DRUG ABUSE COUNSELORS' NCAC I REQUIRED OF ALL ELIGIBLE SAC AND CSAC APPLICANTS:

- Applicants must apply for the credential and have completed all education requirements.
- Required of all eligible SAC and CSAC applicants.
- For information on the NCAC I exam visit <a href="http://www.naadac.org/testing-faqs">http://www.naadac.org/testing-faqs</a>
- The Department will authorize you to take the NCAC I exam.
- Payment for the exam must be paid directly to NAADAC. The Department will **not** accept payment for the exam.

### WISCONSIN STATUTES AND RULES EXAM:

- The Department will provide applicants with an ID number and password once the application and fees are received and reviewed.
- The Wisconsin Statutes and Administrative Rules are located on the Department website at <a href="http://dsps.wi.gov">http://dsps.wi.gov</a>.

#2743 (Rev. 4/2022) Wis. Stat. ch. 440

## Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services

### APPLICATION IS NOT COMPLETE UNTIL ALL OF THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTS HAVE BEEN RECEIVED:

### **Substance Abuse Counselor-in-Training**

- A. Complete application and pay applicable fee(s) online via LicencE
- B. Wisconsin Statutes and Rules Examination
- C. Employment Verification (Form #2770)
- D. Certificate of Completion of Department approved substance use disorder education program (Form #3079) or
- E. Completion of 100 Hours of Specialized Education (Form #2832) obtained from a postsecondary institution or Department approved continuing education with proof of attendance and completion
- F. Conviction and Pending Charges (Form #2252, if applicable)
- G. Malpractice Suits and claims (Form #2829, if applicable)

### Substance Abuse Counselor & Clinical Substance Abuse Counselor

- A. Complete application and pay applicable fee(s) online via LicencE
- B. Wisconsin Statutes and Rules Examination (unless previously passed in the process of obtaining a substance abuse counselor-intraining credential)
- C. Certificate of Completion of a Department approved substance use disorder education program
- D. National Association for Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors (NAADAC) NCAC I exam
- E. Supervised Experience Form (Form #2749)
- F. Conviction and Pending Charges (Form #2252, if applicable)
- G. Malpractice Suits and claims (Form #2829, if applicable)

### **Clinical Substance Abuse Counselor**

- A. Completed application and pay applicable fee(s) online via LicencE
- Wisconsin Statutes and Rules Examination (unless previously passed in the process of obtaining a substance abuse counselor-in-training or substance abuse counselor credential)
- C. Evidence of holding a substance abuse counselor credential, or Certificate of Completion of a Department-Approved Substance Use Disorder Education Program (Form #3079)
- D. Official transcripts indicating proof of an associate degree or higher in a behavioral science field from an accredited university or college, sent directly from the school to the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services
- E. National Association for Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors (NAADAC) NCAC I exam
- F. Supervised Experience Form (Form #2749)
- G. Conviction and Pending Charges (Form #2252, if applicable)
- H. Malpractice Suits and claims (Form #2829, if applicable)