Changes to Continuing Education for Psychologists
Clearinghouse Rule 13-103 went into effect January 1st 2016. This Rule changed PSY4 relative to Continuing Education for psychologists credentialed in Wisconsin. Attached is a link to PSY 4.
Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional Counseling and Social Work
Section MPSW 1.09 relating to the substance use disorder specialty has been updated effective December 1, 2015.
Removal of Structural Component Submittal Fee
Beginning February 1, 2015, DSPS will no longer charge a $100 plan entry fee for structural components submitted after the initial building plan has been submitted. If submitted with a current building project, there is a minimum $100 submittal fee. If submitted as a follow up to a previously submitted plan there is no additional fee.
Controlled Substances Board – Hydrocodone Combination Products
On August 22, 2014 the DEA published its final rule in the Federal Register rescheduling hydrocodone combination products from Schedule III to Schedule II of the Federal Controlled Substances Act. The scheduling action was effective October 6, 2014. The Wisconsin Controlled Substances Board pursuant to s. 961.11(4), Stats took affirmative action to similarly reschedule hydrocodone combination products from Schedule III to Schedule II effective November 1, 2014.
Click here to view the order from the Wisconsin Controlled Substances Board.
Professional Counselor Section: New Rule Relating to Master's Degree Equivalent Education
The Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional Counseling, and Social Work Examining Board has made changes to MPSW 14.01, relating to the requirements of an academic program equivalent to a Master's Degree in Professional Counseling in the state of Wisconsin.
The requirement for academic programs has increased from 42-semester hours to 60-semester hours. In addition, there are more specific course requirements that must be fulfilled as a component of this 60-hour requirement. The effective date for applicants to meet the requirements outlined in MPSW 14.01 is September 1, 2018. The Professional Counselor Section will have a program pre-approval mechanism in place starting in January 2015 for programs that wish to seek a pre-approval status prior to September 1, 2018.
On-line Compliance Statement Filing
The Department of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS) is excited to roll-out a new initiative to streamline and move required compliance statements to an electronic format. For many years, compliance statements have been filed via paper format and submitted to DSPS offices, local inspectors, or state inspectors. By offering an electronic format and process, the DSPS hopes to reduce the amount of paper, and make fulfilling the requirement easier for Supervising Professionals.
To utilize this new application, follow the enclosed link to the application on the DSPS website:
On-line Compliance Statement Filing
At this website location, you may enter your DSPS Customer ID number. Please be aware this needs to be your DSPS Customer ID number, not your PE or Architect license number.
From that point, the system should bring back the list of projects for which you are identified as Supervising Professional. For those projects completed, review the status and select: “Substantial Compliance,” “Non-Compliance,” “Abandoned,” “Withdrawn,” or “Partial Compliance” as you would have on the paper form.
Follow the prompts and the system will allow you to enter any relevant information, review the statement, and submit your form.
Once entered, a notification e-mail will be returned to you for your records and documentation; a similar email will also go to the local municipality, as well as to the state inspector assigned to the project.
Please keep a copy of the e-mail returned to you for your records.
Please let Robin Zentner (Robin.Zentner@wisconsin.gov, 608-266-3723) know immediately if you have questions or are unsure how to process your compliance statements.