Cosmetology Manager - Continuing Education
Continuing education (CE) requirements are listed on this page according to the renewal year. Cosmetology managers must renew their license by March 31 of every odd year to keep their license current. If continuing education (CE) is required for renewal, it must be completed during the 2-year period, referred to as a “biennium”, before the renewal deadline. The biennium for cosmetology manager licenses is from 4/1/every odd year to 3/31/every odd year.
NOTE: If you perform any of the following delegated medical procedures such as laser hair removal, microdermabrasion or chemical exfoliation
, click here
for more information.
**CONTINUING EDUCATION UPDATES**
Starting with the 2015 renewal, cosmetology licensees must complete 4 hours of WI approved continuing education. More information on this requirement is located below under the “March 2015 Renewal" headline.
March 2015 Renewal
Starting with the March 2015 renewal, cosmetology licensees must complete 4 hours of approved continuing education in order to renew their active license. For the 3/31/2015 renewal, the continuing education must be completed during the time period from 4/1/2013 to 3/31/2015. NOTE: if you are issued your license for the first time on or after 4/1/2013, you are not required to complete any continuing education for the 3/31/2015 renewal.
Click on the following link to access the rule adopted by the Cosmetology Examining Board about CE requirements: Wis. Administrative Code Ch. COS 11
For the March 2015 license renewal, licensees will be required to complete 4 total hours of approved CE; 1 hour in laws governing licensees and establishments and 3 hours in safety, sanitation and infection control.
List of Approved Courses for the 2013-2015 Biennium
Course Approval Information for the 2013-2015 Biennium
Wis. Administrative Code Ch.COS 11 outlines the CE requirements and standards for approval of the required courses.
According to, Wis. Administrative Code Ch. COS 11.04 (2), CE programs that meet the requirements outlined in BC 11 and are offered by the following providers do not require pre-approval from the Board:
(a) Universities, technical colleges and schools licensed by the appropriate authority for the state in which the program is offered.
(b) The Wisconsin Cosmetology Examining Board and the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services
(c) State or national professional organizations recognized by the Board. (NOTE: these organizations may offer the 3-hour safety, sanitation and infection control course with no prior approval from the Board; however, they must submit an application for approval of the 1-hour law course per BC 11.04 (4).
Please click on the following links for information on the required CE course topics and the CE course approval process:
Continuing Education Course Approval Application (Form #2893)
Information and Standards for Continuing Education Course Approval (Form #2894)
March 2013 Renewal
The continuing education requirements for the renewal of your license at this time will depend on the current status of your license. To check on the status of your license, click on the following link: License Look-up. The three different situations are listed below and include the continuing education requirement based on your situation.
License is CURRENT
There are no continuing education requirements for the 2013 renewal. If your license is CURRENT at this time, you will not have to take any CE classes during the time period from 4/1/2011 to 3/31/2013 in order to renew your license.
The option to renew your license online will be available on February 11, 2013. Click on the following link for more information on the renewal requirements for your license and to renew online: Renewal Information
License is EXPIRED and has been for less than 5 years
If your license is EXPIRED and has been for less than 5 years, go to the section below titled “March 2011 Renewal” for more information on the continuing education that you must complete in order to renew your license.
License is EXPIRED and has been for more than 5 years
Click here for more information
March 2011 Renewal
If your license is EXPIRED (did not renew your license at the time of the 3/31/2011 renewal) you must complete 2 continuing education hours in laws governing licensees and establishments and 4 hours in safety, sanitation and infection control. You are able to complete these requirements by passing the CE test-out exam (information below), or completing the courses through one of the approved providers (lists below).
List of Approved Courses (click on links below)
Please Note: The courses listed were approved during the 2009-2011 biennium. Some providers on the list chose not to offer their courses through the end of the 2009-2011 biennium; therefore, this is not guaranteed to be a complete list of current offerings and there is no guarantee that a course you want to take is currently available. It is your responsibility as the licensee to verify with the course provider that the courses you want to take are approved for continuing education credit for the March 2011 renewal and that the courses are still available.
2 Hour Approved Law Courses
4 Hour Approved Safety, Sanitation and Infection Control Courses
Continuing Education (CE) Test-Out Examination
Licensees who have not completed the continuing education requirements may take and pass the continuing education (CE) test-out examination in order to renew their barber, cosmetologist, manicurist, aesthetician, electrologist or manager license.
If a licensee holds more than one of the above named licenses, the licensee is only required to pass the CE test-out exam once and it will satisfy requirements for all licenses held by the individual.
Applicants who wish to complete the CE test-out exam shall submit the Application for Barbering and Cosmetology Continuing Education Test-Out Examination (form #2946) along with the examination fee of $75.00 (check or money order made payable to the Department of Safety and Professional Services). To access the application form, click on the link below.
CE Test-out Exam Application (form #2946)