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August 8, 2013 
 
Shawn Leatherwood, Rules Coordinator 
Department of Safety and Professional Services 
Division of Policy Development 
1400 East Washington Avenue, Room 151 
PO Box 8935 
Madison, WI 53708-8935 
 
VIA email shancethea.leatherwood@wisconsin.gov 
 
Dear Ms, Leatherwood,  
 
Associated Bodywork & Massage Professionals (ABMP) is a national professional association for 
massage therapists that provides professional liability insurance, business resources and 
publications, and legislative and regulatory advocacy on behalf of our members. ABMP’s 
membership totals more than 82,000 nationwide, including more than 2000 members in Wisconsin. 
 
ABMP is opposed to imposing mandatory continuing education (CE) requirements on licensees 
simply for the sake of requiring it. Wisconsin has regulated the practice of massage therapy since 
1998, first under the certification law and more recently by mandatory licensing. ABMP is not 
aware of what has changed so drastically to now mandate, not only CE in general, but so many 
hours. In reviewing the Massage Therapy & Bodywork Therapy Credentialing Board meeting 
minutes, I did not see examples of excessive disciplinary actions to warrant the state mandating 
twenty-four (24) hours of CE.  
 
ABMP values CE just as others do, however, we feel there should be a reason behind a policy. 
Massage therapy is regulated and there is clear disciplinary action data that can be used to make 
the case for (or against) imposing CE requirements, and how many hours should, or should not be 
required.  The vast majority of CE offered in the massage therapy profession relates to 
professional development (learning a new massage technique), very few courses relate to public 
safety, such as contraindications for massage.  
 
Other considerations should be made as well. According to our membership surveys, 63% of our 
members work part-time in the profession and rely on income from another occupation as well. 
They average $24,000 in massage income per year. Seventy percent of our members are self-
employed independent practitioners. The other national massage therapy association’s data 
indicates a similar demographic. Twenty-four hours of CE can be expensive; practitioners could 
expect to pay (at minimum) $18 per credit hour if taken in the city in which they live. It is obviously 
much more expensive if you have to travel to another part of the state, or out of state. If you live in 
a rural area, it can be a real challenge.   
 
The purpose of regulating a profession is to ensure public safety. I think the entire profession is in 
favor of practitioners pursuing professional development; however, we do differ in that ABMP 
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hesitates to encourage states to mandate such development. We believe disciplinary actions and 
data should drive the policy choice. On the surface, it does not seem that massage therapists are 
endangering the public to the extent that 24 hours of CE should be mandated of everyone. In fact, 
a national review of disciplinary cases related to massage therapists revealed that only 0.5% of all 
massage licensees are ever disciplined by their regulatory board; the majority of these cases are 
related to unlicensed practice, not the unqualified practice of massage. 
 
We request that the Board re-evaluate the need to impose mandated CE on massage therapists, 
or perhaps significantly decrease the amount of hours required. The law sets the maximum amount 
of hours the Board may impose, thereby allowing flexibility. 
 

460.10 (1) (a)…The rules promulgated under this paragraph may not require a license 
holder to complete more than 24 hours of continuing education programs or courses of 
study in order to qualify for renewal of his or her license. 

 
ABMP fully supports and commends the Board for exempting licensees first renewal period from 
the CE requirement and allowing all hours to be accomplished through distance learning or online 
courses. These policies will help licensees, but the question remains whether 24 hours are needed 
in order to protect the public from injury or harm. ABMP recommends the Board begin this new 
requirement by lowering the hours mandated hours of CE to 6 per year at most. If disciplinary 
cases in the future justify raising the level to protect consumers ABMP will be the first to support 
such a measure.  
 
Thank you for your consideration of ABMP’s views. We sincerely appreciate the Board’s time and 
effort on behalf of the profession. If you have any questions, or you would like to further discuss 
our views, please contact me at 800-458-2267 extension 645, or jean@abmp.com.  
 
Sincerely, 
 

 
 
Jean Robinson 
Government Relations Director 
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From: Joan Hamilton [mailto:jhamilton@globeuniversity.edu]  

Sent: Wednesday, August 07, 2013 1:23 PM 
To: Leatherwood, Shancethea N - DSPS 

Cc: Maria Leonard; Suzette Plemel 
Subject: Question for consideration For August 13 public hearing 

 
Good Afternoon Shawn, 
 
I am submitting some questions for clarification for the upcoming August 13 public hearing. Would you 
please make sure these points/questions are submitted for consideration?  Please disregard the 
previous email. 
 
How it reads: 
Off-site Externship 

(17) “Massage therapy extern or bodywork therapy extern” means a student currently 

enrolled in an approved massage therapy or bodywork therapy school or program and in 

good standing, who provides massage therapy and bodywork therapy services under the 

following conditions: 

(a) The extern has successfully completed a massage therapy or bodywork therapy internship and 

has been approved for an externship by an instructor affiliated with the massage therapy or 

bodywork therapy school or program in which the student is enrolled. 

(b) A licensed massage therapist or bodywork therapist, whose license is current and unlimited, 

provides direct on-premises supervision of the unlicensed massage therapy extern or bodywork 

therapy extern or more intensive supervision if required to avoid unacceptable risk of harm to the 

client. 

(c) Services are provided off school or program premises. 

(d) Services are provided without financial compensation to the massage therapy extern or 

bodywork therapy extern. 

(e) The externship site has been approved by the school or program in which the student is 

enrolled; 

(f) Clients have given informed consent to be treated by a massage therapy extern or bodywork 

therapy extern 
 
Question 1:  We need clarification on 17 (b) It says the student would need to be supervised by a 
 Licensed massage therapist this does not take into consideration  the hospital or clinic settings.  (In one 
of the local hospitals it is the physical therapy department that oversees manual therapy.)  This means 
that if they are placed at anywhere that isn’t a massage specific facility, e.g. hospital or clinic, it may be 
more difficult to place our students.  Many other health related professionals do massage within their 
current licensure.   Can the wording be changed to Licensed Health care professional? 
 
Question 2: We need clarification on 17 (d) Does financial compensation also include tips? 
 
 
Thank you for your consideration 
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Joan Hamilton LMT 
Massage Therapy Program Chair 

Eau Claire 
 

4955 Bullis Farm Road 
Eau Claire, WI 54701 
 

Direct: 715-855-6639 
Main: 715-855-6600 
Fax: 715-855-6601 
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