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DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL CREDENTIAL PROCESSING 

INSTRUCTION PACKET FOR THE PRIVATE DETECTIVE LICENSE 

To be licensed and to perform private detective services as defined in Wis. Admin. Code § SPS 30.02(12)(1), an applicant 

must be licensed under an existing licensed private detective agency or may apply for their own private detective agency 

license.  If a person operates a private detective agency and conducts private investigations, both the individual and the 

agency (whether a corporation, partnership, limited liability company or a sole proprietorship) must be licensed. 

No person may act as a private detective until the proper license has been issued by this Department.  Failure to comply is 

in violation of Wis. Stats. § 440.26(8), and is subject to penalties.  The private detective license will not be issued until the 

criminal records search results and all requested application materials have been received. 

A complete application for a private detective license includes:  

 Form #469, Application for Private Detective License 

 Form #2687, Authorization for Release of FBI Information  

 Insurance or Bond Information  

o EITHER Form #1482, Statement Concerning Liability Insurance + Certificate of Liability Insurance 

o OR Form #1483, Bond of Private Detective or Private Security Agency  

 $75.00 credentialing fee  

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE APPLICATION  

1. Application for Private Detective License (Form #469): Complete the enclosed application and attach the 

appropriate fee.  

 An individual applying for both a private detective and a private detective agency license must complete the employer 

portion of the Application for Private Detective License (Form #469) as if the agency were already licensed, leaving 

the license number blank.  The Department will fill in the license number.  

2. Fingerprints: All applicants must submit their fingerprints electronically for a background check. Schedule an 

appointment with the Department’s approved vendor, Fieldprint, by visiting their web site at: 

http://www.FieldprintWisconsin.com/. 

Use the Fieldprint code “FPWISecurity” when prompted.  The cost for the digital fingerprints will be $39.25 and is 

expected at the time of reservation. You should plan to arrive at the test center fifteen minutes before the scheduled 

start time of the appointment for check-in. 

 You must submit your application to the department within 14 days of being fingerprinted. 

 Out of State Applicants: If you currently reside outside of the state of Wisconsin and are unable to come to 

Wisconsin to have digital fingerprints taken, you may submit fingerprints at any Fieldprint station in the United States 

by registering at the web site above and using the Fieldprint code “FPWISecurity” when prompted.  

 Criminal History Checks Notice: Provisions set forth in Title 28, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Section 16.34, 

require us to notify you that your fingerprints may be used to check the criminal history records with the FBI.  

Identification records obtained from the FBI may be used solely for the purpose requested and may not be 

disseminated outside the receiving department, related agency or other authorized entity.  The Department of Safety 

and Professional Services does not deny a license based on the information in the record itself, but does require the 

submittal of a certified copy of the criminal complaint and judgment of conviction in any matter which would appear 

to be cause for denial of a license.  

3. Authorization for Release of FBI Information (Form #2681) must be signed by the applicant and returned with the 

application. 
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4. Convictions and Pending Charges (Form #2252): All applicants will be required to answer questions on the 

application form about convictions of any crime, other violations and pending charges in Wisconsin or any other state.  

The Department will obtain a state and federal criminal records search on all applicants.  If any applicant was EVER 

convicted of a felony in Wisconsin or any other state and not pardoned, the applicant’s application will be denied.  

There are no exceptions. 

 If an applicant has been convicted of one or more misdemeanor or other violations or has pending charges and if the 

Department determines that the crimes or violations are substantially related to the practice of a private detective, the 

Department will not grant a license until it has received sufficient information to determine whether the license should 

be granted, denied or limited.  It is the responsibility of the applicant to provide complete information to the 

Department.  Applications are deemed complete after submission of all relevant background information by the 

applicant.  A certified copy of the police report, criminal complaint and judgment of conviction is required for each 

conviction. 

5. Employment Requirement: Every private detective applicant is required to be employed by a private detective 

agency licensed in Wisconsin. An authorized representative of your employing agency must complete page 3 of 4 of 

the application.  If an applicant wishes to work for him or herself, a private detective agency license must be obtained 

by completing and submitting the Application for Private Detective Agency (Form #456) with the appropriate fee and 

required documentation.  The private detective and agency applications may be submitted simultaneously.  

6. General liability insurance policy or bond: A private detective must either be covered by a comprehensive general 

liability insurance policy maintained by the private detective agency or be bonded for $2,000. Enclose either a copy of 

the certificate of liability insurance with Form #1482, Statement Concerning Liability Insurance, or Form #1483, 

Bond of Private Detective or Private Detective Agency. The Department is not able to issue a license until it has 

verified that you are covered by your employing agency’s liability policy or you have received a bond.  

7. Examination: The state licensing exam is available online from a home, work or public computer.  Directions for 

accessing the exam will be emailed to you upon receipt and processing of your application. 

 Wisconsin Statutes and Administrative Rules: A copy of the Wisconsin Statutes and Administrative Code relating 

to the Practice of Private Detectives and Private Security Persons is available on the Department’s web site. Visit 

http://dsps.wi.gov/Licenses-Permits/PrivateDetective and click on the link labeled “Profession Specific Codebook.” If 

you wish to purchase a hard print copy from Document Sales, call 800-362-7253 or 608-264-9419 or send email to 

docsales@doa.state.wi.us. 

 The private detective license expires on August 31 of the even-numbered year.  It may be renewed for a two-year 

period at that time.  
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