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DIVISION OF CREDENTIAL PROCESSING 
 

REQUIREMENTS RELATING TO THE USE OF THE TITLE “WISCONSIN REGISTERED INTERIOR 
DESIGNER” OR “WISCONSIN REGISTERED INTERIOR DESIGNERS” IN WISCONSIN 

 
Note: The answers to many of the following questions paraphrase the Wisconsin Statutes.  Please consult 

Ch. 440, Subchapter IX, for the exact wording. 

1. When did Wisconsin begin regulating the use of the titles “Wisconsin registered interior designer” 
and “Wisconsin registered interior designers”? 

 December 1, 1996. 

2. What persons must register with the Department? 

 Individuals who would like to use the title “Wisconsin registered interior designer,” imply that they are 
a Wisconsin registered interior designer or represent themselves as a Wisconsin registered interior 
designer.  Therefore, a person who does not use the title or make such representations may practice as an 
interior designer without being registered by the Department. 

3. How does this law apply to corporations, partnerships and firms? 

 Corporations, partnerships or firms are not required to be registered; however, they may only refer to 
themselves as a “Wisconsin registered interior designer” or as “Wisconsin registered interior designers” 
or make representations to that effect, if at least one principal, partner or officer who is in responsible 
charge of the interior design services provided by the corporation, partnership or firm is a Wisconsin 
registered interior designer. 

4. How much does it cost to obtain a registration certificate? 

 The initial registration fee is $75.  Registration certificates expire on August 1 of each even-numbered 
year and the renewal fee is $107. 

5. What are the requirements for registration? 

 An applicant must proceed under any one of the following tracks: 

(a) Registration based on education, an exam and experience. 

(b) Reciprocal registration of a person who is registered or licensed as an interior designer by 
another jurisdiction.  The reciprocal registration fee is $107. 

(c) Registration of a registered architect who has at least 6 years of practical experience in interior 
design. 
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6. Wasn’t there a grandfather clause in Wisconsin Act 322? 

 Yes, there was until May 1, 1997. 

7. What education and experience is required of all applicants, except registered architects and those 
seeking to be registered by reciprocity? 

 You must submit evidence of any one of the following: 

(a) That you are a graduate of a 5-year interior design or architecture program and have at least one 
year of practical experience in interior design of a character satisfactory to the Department. 

(b) That you are a graduate of a 4-year interior design or architecture program and have at least 
2 years of practical experience in interior design of a character satisfactory to the Department. 

(c) That you are a graduate of a 3-year interior design or architecture program and have at least 
3 years of practical experience in interior design of a character satisfactory to the Department. 

(d) That you are a graduate of a 2-year interior design or architecture program and have at least 
4 years of practical experience in interior design of a character satisfactory to the Department. 

8. What type of examination must I have passed in order to be a Wisconsin-registered interior 
designer? 

 You must have done one of the following: 

(a) Passed the complete exam administered by the National Council of Interior Design Qualification 
(NCIDQ) in 1990 or later.  The exam which was administered in 1990 and thereafter included a 
section on the building and barrier-free codes. 

(b) Passed the NCIDQ exam prior to 1990 and passed the separate building and barrier-free portion 
of the exam administered in 1990 or later. 

(c) Passed the exam administered by the Council for Qualification of residential Interior Designers 
(CQRID) and passed the building and barrier-free portion of the NCIDQ exam. 

9. How do I get scheduled to take the examinations administered by NCIDQ or CQRID? 

 You must direct all questions about the exams to the agencies which administer them. 

 You may contact NCIDQ by writing to 1200 18th Street NW #1001, Washington DC  20036; by calling 
(202) 721-0220; by sending a FAX to (202) 721-0221 or by sending an E-mail message to 
www.ncidq.org.  

 You may contact CQRID by writing to PO Box 1757, High Point, NC  27261; by calling 
(919) 883-1680; or by sending a FAX to (919) 883-1195. 
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10. Besides education and experience, are there any other application requirements? 

 Yes, if you have been convicted of a crime, the Department will determine whether the conviction is 
substantially related to the practice of interior design and, if so, how long ago it occurred and whether 
there is sufficient evidence of rehabilitation.  After the Department has completed this review, a 
determination will be made to grant or deny your application or to limit your practice under the title 
“Wisconsin registered interior designer.” 

11. What are the continuing education requirements? 

 An administrative rule, Chapter SPS 130, describes the number of hours, the course contents, and other 
issues relating to continuing education.  Therefore, if you initially register with the Department before 
January 2 of any even-numbered year, you will be required to complete at least 9 hours of continuing 
education before the renewal deadline of the first August 1 that occurs after the date of registration.  If 
you fail to obtain the education by that date, you will not be permitted to renew until you obtain the 
education and you pay a late renewal fee.  Those who are granted a registration certificate after 
January 1 of an even-numbered year, do not have to comply with the continuing education requirement 
until the following full two-year registration period, running from August 1 of the even-numbered year 
until July 31 of the following even-numbered year. 

 An approved educational program is a program of education relating to the general subject matter of 
interior design that, together with its instructors, is approved by the American Society of Interior 
Designers, the Interior Design Continuing Education Council, the International Interior Design 
Association, the Interior Design Education Council, the Interior Designers of Canada, or other body 
recognized by the Department.  The Department recognizes courses given by colleges, universities and 
vocational-technical schools. 

12. Can people lose their registration certificates? 

 Yes, if they do not truthfully complete their application for registration, if they have committed any 
gross negligence or misconduct or acted in a grossly incompetent manner as an interior designer, or if 
they have been convicted of certain types of crimes. 

13. Will the public be able to send to the Department complaints against registered interior 
designers? 

 Yes, and the Department will be able to investigate such complaints and take disciplinary action if 
warranted.  The registrant will have a right to a hearing before being disciplined. 
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