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DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL CREDENTIAL PROCESSING 
 

QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS RELATING TO THE RENEWAL OF AN EXPIRED 
REAL ESTATE LICENSE 

 
1. What must I do to renew my real estate license? 
 You must send the renewal form that was sent to you by the Department or a letter or memo that contains 

your name, address, city, state, zip code and your license number.  You must also submit the renewal fee, a 
$25 late filing fee, your social security number (if we don’t already have it on file), and a statement that you 
satisfied the education requirements, as described below. 

2. What are some other things I should know about renewing an expired real estate license? 
 The renewal fees usually change between August and October of each odd-numbered year.  

 The renewal procedures are the same for all circumstances, regardless of the reason that you did not renew 
your license, except for those who were in active military duty at the time of renewal. 

 You will have to satisfy certain education requirements, depending on how long your license has been in 
expired status, depending on whether you held a salesperson’s or a broker’s license, and depending on 
whether you have been actively practicing as a real estate licensee in another state during the period of 
expiration of your Wisconsin license.   

3. Please tell me more about the fees. 
 The Wisconsin Legislature begins working on a Biennial Budget Bill at the end of January of each 

odd-numbered year.  The Biennial Budget Bill determines the renewal fees to be paid by all occupations and 
professions licensed or registered by the Department.  Ideally, the Biennial Budget Bill should be passed by 
July 1 of each odd-numbered year; however, it is frequently either passed a few months later or some of the 
changes in the Bill become effective later.  Such is the case with the renewal fees.  Regardless of the length 
of time that your license had been expired, you will always be required to pay the renewal fee that is in the 
Wisconsin Statutes at the time you renew, plus the late filing fee which is currently $25. 

4. What education requirements must I satisfy before being able to renew a license that has been expired 
less than 5 years? 

 If you renew less than 5 years after the expiration of your license, you will be required to satisfy the 
continuing education requirement that was required of all licensees during the previous two-year licensing 
period.  For example, if your license expired on December 31, 1998 and you apply for renewal between 
January 1, 1999 and October 31, 2000, you would be required to satisfy the continuing education that you 
should have obtained during 1997-98.  If your license expired on December 31, 2000 and you apply for 
renewal between January 1, 2001 and October 31, 2002, you would be required to satisfy the continuing 
education that licensees were required to obtain in 1999-2000.  There are some quirks that apply when 
renewing an expired license during November or December of an even-numbered year.  The required 
continuing education courses are those that licensees are required to take during the year in which you 
renew during November or December.  If you renew your license 5 years or more after the expiration of 
your license, you will be required to satisfy the requirements described below.  
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5. What education and examination requirements apply for renewing a salesperson’s license 5 or more 

years after expiration? 
 There are a few exceptions for persons licensed in another state, for persons who have completed credit 

courses at a college or university, for Wisconsin-licensed attorneys or for persons who were on active 
military duty; however, all other applicants are required to complete the salesperson’s pre-license education 
and pass the salesperson’s licensing exam.  

6. What education and examination requirements apply for renewing a broker’s license 5 or more years 
after expiration? 

 There are a few exceptions for persons licensed in another state, for persons who have completed credit 
courses at a college or university, for Wisconsin-licensed attorneys or for persons who were on active 
military duty; however, all other applicants are required to complete just the broker’s pre-license education 
(not the salesperson’s pre-license education).  They must also pass the salespersons and the broker’s 
licensing exam. 

7. What do I do, if the precise continuing education courses that were required during a specific 
two-year period are no longer being presented by approved schools?  

 You may chose to take one of the following courses that pre-license schools are continually teaching: 

a. Two segments from the real estate pre-license education course.  The one segment consists of 8 hours on 
real estate contracts; the other segment consists of 4 hours on real estate ethics. 

b. The 13-hour course designed to satisfy pre-license education requirements for persons licensed in 
another state and seeking a real estate salesperson’s license in Wisconsin.  

8. Please tell me more about the exception for the renewal of an expired license by a person licensed in 
another state? 

 A renewal applicant whose license has been expired 5 years or longer and who has held a real estate license 
in another licensing jurisdiction within the 2 years prior to filing an application for renewal is not required to 
satisfy any education requirements, but must pass the state portion of the salesperson’s exam (if renewing a 
salesperson’s license) or both the state portion of the salesperson’s exam and the broker’s reciprocal exam 
(if renewing a broker’s license). 

9. If a person has taken credit courses at an accredited institution of higher learning, how does that 
education relate to the education required of a person whose license has been expired 5 or more 
years? 

 A person who has obtained 20 or more credits in real estate or real estate-related law courses at any time in 
his or her life will not be required to obtain any of the broker’s pre-license education, as described above.  A 
person who has obtained 10 or more credits at any time in his or her life will not be required to obtain any of 
the salesperson’s pre-license education, described in #5 above. 

10. What if I am an attorney who wishes to renew a real estate license that has been expired for 5 or more 
years? 

 You will be exempt from any education; however, you will have to pass one or more exams, as described 
above. 

11. Where do I find licensure requirements in the Wisconsin Statutes and the Wisconsin Administrative 
Code? 

 Wis. Stats. § 440.08(3), 452.12(5), and Wis. Admin. Codeº§ RL 12.04.  


