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NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATOR EXAMINING BOARD 

EXAMINATION INSTRUCTION PACKET 
 
Applicants applying for the Wisconsin Nursing Home Administrators examination must file two separate applications 
and fees.  
 
I. FILING ELIGIBILITY APPLICATION WITH THE DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND 

PROFESSIONAL SERVICES  
 
 ALL NEW (first time applying in Wisconsin) applicants must submit the following to the Department of Safety 

and Professional Services to determine eligibility to sit for the examinations:  
 
 1. Request to Apply for Examination (form #1573)  
 2. Fee   
 3. Request For CIB Information (Form #2375)  
 4. Verification of Licensure (Form #419). This form is for reciprocal applicants only.  
 
 Completed eligibility application materials and fee must be mailed to the Department at the address listed above.  

Eligibility applications hand-delivered or mailed by special courier must be delivered to the Department’s street 
address: 1400 E. Washington Avenue, Room 175, Madison, WI  53703. 

 
 You will be notified by the Department of your eligibility to sit for the examination.  
 
 Retake applicants must submit the Request to Apply for Examination (Form #1573) and the fee to the 

Department of Safety and Professional Services.  
 
II. FILING SCHEDULING APPLICATION WITH PROFESSIONAL EXAMINATION SERVICE (PES)  
 
 The NAB and the Wisconsin state law examination will be administered by Professional Examination Service 

(PES). Applicants are encouraged by NAB to apply online for the examination at www.proexam.org.nab. 
 
 The cost to apply online is $350 for the NAB exam and $175 for the state laws exam paid by credit card.  For 

applicants without access to a computer or an email account, a paper-based application form may be submitted to 
Professional Examination Service.  There is an additional $75 fee charged by PES for submitting a paper-based 
application.  Please contact the Department if you need to complete the paper-based application form. 

 
 Retake applicants must submit the scheduling application and fee to PES. 
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III. FEE PAYMENT SCHEDULE: 
 
 

 
EXAM ELIGIBILITY AMOUNT PAYABLE TO THE DEPARTMENT 

OF SAFETY AND PROFESSIONAL SERVICES 

 
AMOUNT PAYABLE TO NAB 

By Credit Card 

New Applicants 
(taking both the national and state 
exams) 

$98.00 Total Fee 
($75 initial credential fee; $15 DSPS contract fee; 
$8 CIB background check) 

$525.00 Total 
($350 national exam; $175 state 
exam) 

Reciprocity Applicants 
(taking the state exam only) 

$193.00 Total Fee 
($170 reciprocity fee; $15 DSPS contract fee; 
$8 CIB background check) 

$175.00  
(state exam) 

RETAKE EXAM APPLICANTS   

Retaking State Rules Exam  $15.00   (DSPS contract fee) $175.00 

Retaking NAB Exam  $15.00   (DSPSl contract fee) $350.00 
 
 
IV. EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE (Not required prior to examination) 
 

The examinations will be taken on a computer through a Prometric Technology Center located in each state on a 
weekly basis.  To take the computer-based examination, no prior knowledge of computers is needed.  Before the 
examination begins, a simple introductory lesson explains the process of selecting answers and moving around in 
the examination.  Applicants are given 3 hours to take the NAB exam and 1 hour 40 minutes to take the State 
Law exam. 

 
The nursing home administrator’s licensure examination is a two-part examination.  The first part is the national 
examination prepared by the National Association of Boards of Examiners for Nursing Home Administration 
(NAB).  The second part is the Wisconsin state law examination.  Applicants for initial licensure must 
successfully complete both parts of the examination.  Reciprocal applicants who have successfully completed the 
NAB examination in another state are only required to take the Wisconsin state law examination.  The passing 
scaled score on the state laws exam is 64 and 113 on the NAB exam. 

 
The content of the national examination can be accessed at either www.nabweb.org  or at www.proexam.org/nab.  
The content for the state law examination is listed on the next page. 
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Applicants will be taking the “state based law” exam through Professional Examination Service (PES).  The 
exam will consist of 85 multiple choice questions.  A minimum scaled score of 64 is required to pass.  The exam 
covers the following chapters from both the Department of Health Services (DHS) and the Department of Safety 
and Professional Services (DSPS): 

 
Content Area 

General (DHS 132.1) 
 
Enforcement (DHS 132.2) 
 
Resident Rights & Protections (DHS 132.3) 
 
Management (DHS 132.4) 
 
Admissions, Retentions & Removals (DHS 132.5) 
 
Services (DHS 132.6) 
 
Physical Environment (DHS 132.7) 
 
Life Safety, Design and Construction (DHS 132.8) 
 
Uniform Licensure (DHS Ch 50) 

Powers and Duties 50.03 
Special Provisions 50.04 
Monitor / Receiver 50.05 
Prohibited Acts 50.07 
Rights of Residents 50.09 

 
Education (DSPS – NHA 3) 
 
Standards of Conduct (DSPS – NHA 5) 
 
Impaired Professionals Procedure (DSPS - SPS 7) 
 
Certification/Training of Assistants and Aides (DHS 129) 
 
Caregiver Misconduct (DHS 13.05) 

 
V. EDUCATION 

 A. DEFINITIONS 

 Section NHA 2.02, Wis. Admin. Code, requires completion of one of the following academic programs: 

 1) “Program of study” means a prescribed sequence of courses offered by a university or college, accredited 
by a regional or national accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. department of education, which 
consists of at least one course of 3 credit hours in each of the following: 

(a) Laws governing the operation of licensed nursing homes; 
(b) Elements of proper and effective administration of licensed nursing homes; 
(c) Protection of the interests, safety and well-being of residents; and 
(d) Psychological, physical, medical and social needs of residents. 
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 2) “Regular course of study” means a prescribed program of courses offered by a university or college, 

accredited by a regional or national accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. department of education, 
which leads to an associate, baccalaureate, master or doctoral degree and which includes a program of 
study and a supervised clinical practicum. 

 
 3) “Specialized courses” means individual courses offered by one or more educational institutions or course 

providers which lead to adequate preparation in each of the following general subject areas in nursing 
home administration: 

 
(a) Administration of a nursing home. 
(b) Long-term patient care. 
(c) Organizations of health-care systems 

 
 B. APPROVED COURSES 
 
 Section NHA 3.01, Wis. Admin. Code, requires all regular courses of study, programs of study and 

specialized courses be approved by the board.  Courses are approved only on the basis that they meet the 
requirement as specified in sec. 456.04(4), Wis. Stats.  It is not within the authority, nor is it the intent, of the 
board to either endorse or recommend any educational program as adequate preparation for the examination 
or for the general practice of nursing home administration.  Courses and programs other than those listed in 
this packet will be considered on the basis of information submitted by the applicant.  This information 
should include course or program content and description as provided by the school or educational agency. 

 
1) Regular Course of Study:  The following courses have been approved by the Board: 

 
Concordia University-Wisconsin, Bachelor of Arts Degree in Health Care Administration, 
12800 N. Lake Shore Drive, Mequon, WI  53092-7699, (414) 243-5700.  
 
St. Joseph's College, Long-Term Care Administration, P.O. Box 1198, North Windham, ME  04062-1198, 
(800) 343-5498.  

 
Southern College of Seventh-Day Adventists, Bachelor of Science Degree in Long Term Health Care 
Administration, P.O. Box 370, Collegedale, TN  37315-0370, (615) 238-2754.  

 
Southwest Texas State University, Bachelor of Science in Health Professions, Major:  Long Term Health 
Care Administration, San Marcos, TX  78666, (512) 245-3556.  

 
Suny Institute of Technology, Bachelor of Professional Studies and Bachelor of Science in Health 
Service Management, Nursing Home Administration Track, P.O. Box 3050, Utica, NY  13504-3050, 
(315) 792-7429.  

 
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire, NHA Baccalaureate Program, Eau Claire, WI  54701, (715) 836-2628.  

 
University of Minnesota, LTC Program, Center for LTC Administration Education, C309 Mayo Memorial 
Bldg., Box 907, 420 Delaware St., S.E., Minneapolis, MN  55455, (612) 624-5159.  

 
University of Scranton, Health Administration, Concentration in Long-Term Care Administration, 
Department of Human Resources, Scranton, PA  18510-4597, (717) 941-4350. 
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Viterbo College, Bachelor of Business Administration with Specialization in Health Care 
Administration, 815 South 9th Street, La Crosse, WI  54601.  

 
Xavier University, Graduate Program in Hospital and health Administration declaring 9 hours of 
concentration in Gerontology, 3800 Victory Pkwy., Cincinnati, OH  45207, (513) 745-3392.  

 
2) Specialized Courses:  The following courses have been approved by the Board: 
 

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire, Health & Aging Services Administration (HASA) Certificate, 
Eau Claire, WI  54701, (715) 836-2628. 
 
University of Wisconsin-Madison Extension, NHA Long-term Care, 21 N. Park Street, 7th Floor, 
Madison, WI  53715, (608) 262-1156.  

 
Ohio State University, NHA Core of Knowledge Course, College of Business, Executive Education, 
941 Chatham Lane., Columbus, OH  43221, (614) 442-1316.  

 
St. Mary's College, MA in Human & Health Services Administration, Minneapolis Graduate Center, 
2510 Park Ave., S, Minneapolis, MN  55404, (612) 874-9877.  

 
St. Joseph's College, General Health Care Administration, P.O. Box 1198, North Windham, 
ME  04062-1198, (800) 343-5498.  Candidates completing this program are also required to 
complete and additional course in long-term patient care.  

 
University of North Carolina, Long Term Care Administration LTCE #201 and LTCE #202, 
706 Greenwood Rd., Chapel Hill, NC  27514, (919) 929-4454.  
 

3) Program of Study:  The following program has been approved by the Board: 
 

Ottawa University-Milwaukee, 300 N. Corporate Drive # 110, Brookfield WI 53045,  (262) 879-0200. 
 
To satisfy the educational requirement under a Program of Study, a student must complete all of the 
following courses: 

a. OAD 46364 Comprehensive Long-Term Health Care  (4 credits) 
b. HUS 30154 Issues in Gerontology  (4 credits) 
c. OAD 46164 Long-Term Care Policy and Regulation  (4 credits) 
d. OAD 37064 Long-Term Care Administration  (4 credits) 

 
VI. REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BY RECIPROCITY 
 

The board at its discretion and otherwise subject to laws pertaining to licensure of nursing home administrators 
may grant a license as a nursing home administrator to an applicant who holds a current license issued by the 
proper authorities in any other jurisdiction, which has not been revoked or suspended, upon payment of the fee 
and submission of evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant has satisfied all of the following: 

 
1. Has a bachelor’s degree in any field that was obtained from an accredited college or university or holds a 

current certification as a nursing home administrator granted by the American College of Health Care 
Administrators; 
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2. Has practiced as a nursing home administrator for at least 2,000 hours in any consecutive 3-year period 
within the 5-year period immediately preceding the date of application for licensure;  

3. Has passed the Wisconsin state law examination required for licensure; and 

4. Does not have an arrest or conviction record, subject to ss.111.321; 111.322 and 111.335, Stats.  An 
applicant who has a pending criminal charge or has a conviction record shall provide the board with all 
related information necessary for the board to determine whether the circumstances of the pending charge or 
conviction substantially relate to the practice of nursing home administration.  

Verification of current licensure (Form #419) must be completed by each state licensing board or agency in 
which you hold a credential (license).  A photocopy of the credential (license) is not acceptable. 

An official transcript must be submitted with your application to verify your bachelor’s degree in any field.  If 
you have not received a bachelor’s degree, you will then need to submit a current certification as a nursing home 
administrator granted by the American College of Health Care Administrators.  They can be contacted at 325 
South Patrick Street, Alexandria, VA  22314 

Along with your examination materials, you must submit evidence of having practiced as a nursing home 
administrator for at least 2,000 hours in any consecutive 3-year period within the 5-year period immediately 
preceding the date of application.  Please complete the enclosed Reciprocity Experience Record (Form #2470). 

The Nursing Home Administrator license expires on June 30 of the even numbered year. 
 
VII. ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS FOR OBTAINING A NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATOR 

CREDENTIAL BY EXAMINATION 
 

NOTE:   This section applies only to initial licensure applicants, not to reciprocity applicants. 

 In addition to successful completion of the examination, sec. NHA 4.01(1), Wis. Admin. Code, requires an 
applicant to meet certain experience requirements to obtain a nursing home administrator credential.  You will be 
provided with the APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE (Form #418) and VERIFICATION OF EXPERIENCE IN 
THE FIELD OF INSTITUTIONAL ADMINISTRATION (Form #71).  You will be required to complete the 
forms and return to our office for processing. 

An applicant for the examination is not required to have completed the experience requirement prior to taking the 
examinations.  Upon passing the required examinations, an applicant must complete the following experience 
requirement according to the type of education completed: 

Regular Course of Study: A successful completion of a supervised clinical practicum, which means work 
experience acquired in a nursing home in conjunction with the approved program (refer to the definition found in 
sec. NHA 1.02(9), Wis. Admin. Code). 

Program of Study:  Successful completion of one year of experience in the field of institutional administration as 
defined in sec. NHA 1.02(1), Wis. Admin. Code. 

Specialized Course:  Successful completion of one year of experience in the field of institutional administration 
as defined in sec. NHA 1.02(1), Wis. Admin. Code. 

THE EXPERIENCE IS NOT REQUIRED TO BE COMPLETED PRIOR TO TAKING THE EXAMINATION.  
Experience in the field of institutional administration is defined in sec. NHA 1.02(1), Wis. Admin. Code. 

The Nursing Home Administrator license expires on June 30 of the even numbered year. 
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VIII. REFUND/POSTPONEMENT POLICY 

 
The refund and postponement policy for examination candidates is covered in sec. SPS 4.06, Wis. Admin. Code. 

 
SPS 4.06 Refunds 

(1) A refund of all but $10 of the applicant’s examination fee and initial credential fee submitted to the 
department shall be granted if any of the following occurs: 

(a) An applicant is found to be unqualified for an examination administered by the authority; 
(b) An applicant is found to be unqualified for a credential for which no examination is required;  
(c) An applicant withdraws an application by written notice to the authority at least 10 days in advance of 

any scheduled examination; or 
(d) An applicant who fails to take an examination administered by the authority either provides written 

notice at least 10 days in advance that the applicant is unable to take the examination, or if written notice 
was not provided, submits a written explanation satisfactory to the authority that the applicant’s failure to 
take the examination resulted from extreme personal hardship.  

 
(2) An applicant eligible for a refund may forfeit the refund and choose instead to take an examination 

administered within 18 months of the originally scheduled examination at no added charge.  
 

(3) An applicant who misses an examination as a result of being called to active military duty shall receive a full 
refund.  The applicant requesting the refund must supply a copy of the call up orders or a letter from the 
commanding officer attesting to the call up.  

 
(4) Applicants who pay fees to service providers other than the department are subject to the refund policy 

established by the service provider.  
 

IX. PUBLICATION REQUEST: 
 

You may access a copy of the WISCONSIN STATUTES AND ADMINISTRATIVE CODE RELATING TO 
THE PRACTICE OF NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS on the department’s website by visiting the page:  

http://dsps.wi.gov/Licenses-Permits/NursingHomeAdministrator 
and clicking on the link labeled “Profession Specific Codebook.”  

You may also purchase a hard print copy of the codebook through Document Sales by calling 800-362-7253 or 
608-266-3358 or online at www.doa.state.wi.us.  

 
X. NAME AND ADDRESS CHANGE: 
 
 Any applicant scheduled for the examination who changes his or her name or address should notify the 

Department of Safety and Professional Services and Professional Examination Service (PES). 
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