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PHYSICAL THERAPY EXAMINING BOARD 

PHYSICAL THERAPY LICENSURE INFORMATION 

All applicants are required to pass the national physical therapist examination as well as an open book 
examination on Wisconsin Statutes and Administrative Code.  

National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE) 

NPTE registration form and fee must be submitted directly to FSBPT at https://pt.fsbpt.net 

IMPORTANT:  THIS MUST BE FILED WITH FSBPT AT THE SAME TIME THE WISCONSIN 
APPLICATION IF FILED WITH THE DEPARTMENT.  INFORMATION BOOKLETS FOR 
CANDIDATES ON THE NPTE ARE FOUND AT https://pt.fsbpt.net 

Candidates who have written the NPTE in another state  

Scores must be requested and forwarded to the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional 
Services.  For score transfer information contact FSBPT at https://pt.fsbpt.net 

Submit proof of completion of at least 30 hours of continuing education approved by the board that were 
taken 2 years prior to your application.  (For Endorsement candidates only) 

Oral Examination Candidates 

Applicants may be required to complete an oral examination if he/she: 

1. has a medical condition which in any way impairs or limits the applicant's ability to 
practice physical therapy with reasonable skill and safety; 

2. uses chemical substances so as to impair in any way the applicant's ability to practice 
physical therapy with reasonable skill and safety; 

3. have been diagnosed as suffering from pedophilia, exhibitionism or voyeurism; 

4. has within the past 2 years engaged in the illegal use of controlled dangerous substances; 

5. has been subject to adverse formal action during the course of physical therapy 
education, postgraduate training, hospital practice, or other physical therapy employment; 

6. has been disciplined or had licensure denied by a licensing or regulatory authority in 
Wisconsin or another jurisdiction; 

7. has been convicted of a crime the circumstances of which substantially relate to the 
practice of physical therapy; 

8. has not practiced physical therapy for a period of 3 years prior to application, unless the 
applicant has been graduated from a school of physical therapy within that period; 

9. has been graduated from a physical therapy school not approved by the board. 

An applicant who meets any of the above criteria, #1-9 will be reviewed by the Physical Therapists 
Affiliated Credentialing Board members.  The Board shall determine whether the applicant is eligible for 
a regular license without completing an oral examination. 

All examinations shall be conducted in the English language.  Where both written and oral examinations 
are required they shall be scored separately and the applicant is required to achieve a passing grade on 
both examinations to qualify for a license. 

If you are selected to appear for an oral examination, you will be advised of the date upon completion of 
your application. 
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TEMPORARY LICENSURE 

A temporary license will be issued to only one place of employment and cannot be transferred to another 
place of employment during the duration of the temporary license. 

You may not begin practicing physical therapy in Wisconsin unless you have either a permanent or 
temporary license. 

A temporary license may be renewed for a period of 3 months, and may be renewed a second time for a 
period of 3 months for reasons of hardship.  Practice under a temporary license may not exceed 9 months 
total duration. 

NOTE: ONLY ONE TEMPORARY LICENSE WILL BE ISSUED PRIOR TO PERMANENT 
LICENSURE. 

 


