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MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPY, PROFESSIONAL COUNSELING, AND SOCIAL WORK EXAMINING BOARD 
 

INFORMATION FOR APPLICATION FOR CERTIFIED SOCIAL WORKER, 
ADVANCED PRACTICE SOCIAL WORKER, AND INDEPENDENT SOCIAL WORKER 

There are three types of social work certificates.  They include the following: 

Social Worker 
Certification as a Social Worker (“CSW” or “basic-level social worker”) requires a bachelor’s or higher degree in social 
work and passage of the basic level national exam. 

Advanced Practice Social Worker 
Certification as an Advanced Practice Social Worker (“CAPSW”) requires a master’s or higher degree in social work and 
passage of the intermediate (ASWB master’s examination) level national exam. 

Independent Social Worker 
Certification as an Independent Social Worker (“CISW”) requires a master’s or higher degree in social work, 
passage of the advanced  (ASWB advanced generalist examination) level national exam or verification of 
certification from ACSW  of NASW, and verification of at least 3,000 hours of supervised social work practice. 

THE FOLLOWING ITEMS ARE REQUIRED DOCUMENTS FOR PROCESSING APPLICATIONS 
UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED: 

120 Social Worker (CSW) 
Complete Application (Form #1992) 
Appropriate Fee 
Addendum to Form #1992 (Social Security Number) 
Academic verification Form #2576 pre-graduation (optional) 
Certificate of professional education Form #1978 (after 

graduation) 
Convictions and Pending Charges Form #2252 (if applicable) 
Wisconsin Statutes & Rules exam 
Verification of Credential Form #2572 (if credentialed in 

another state(s) or territory(ies) active or inactive status) 

121 Advanced Practice Social Worker (CAPSW) 
Complete Application (Form #1992) 
Appropriate Fee 
Addendum to Form #1992 (Social Security Number) 
Academic verification Form #2576 pre-graduation (optional) 
Certificate of professional education Form #1978 (after 

graduation) 
Convictions and Pending Charges Form 2252 (if applicable) 
Wisconsin Statutes & Rules exam (if not taken within last 

5 years) 
Verification of Credential Form #2572 (if credentialed in 

another state(s) or territory(ies) active or inactive 
status) 

Clinical Review (optional) 

122 Independent Social Worker (CISW) 
Complete Application (Form #1992) 
Appropriate Fee 
Addendum to Form #1992 (Social Security Number) 
Certificate of professional education Form #1978 (after 

graduation) 
Convictions and Pending Charges Form #2252 (if applicable) 
Wisconsin Statutes & Rules exam (if not taken within last 

5 years) 
Complete information on supervision (Pg. 2 of Form #1992) 
Verification of Credential Form #2572 (if credentialed in 

another state(s) or territory(ies) active or inactive status) 
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Reciprocal Applicants (Applicants who currently hold a credential in another state): 

Reciprocal equivalency compares the state jurisdictional licensing standards to that of WI licensing requirements to 
determine if substantially equivalent. All reciprocity applications are reviewed by the section and the rules and regulations 
of that state must be submitted by the applicant.   It is not based on your individual qualifications.   
 
To apply for a APSW credential by Reciprocity, you would need to submit/complete the following information:  

A. Complete Application (Form #1992)  
B. Appropriate Fee - The fee for initial licensure is $160.  Check may be made out to DSPS.  
C. Convictions and Pending Charges Form #2252 (if applicable) -  
D.  Verification of Credential Form #2572 (if credentialed in another state(s) or territory(ies) active or inactive 

status) 
E. WI Statutes & Rules Exam – You will be given access to the WI Statutes & Rules Exam once you have applied 

for licensure and your application processed and entered into our system.   
F.  Rules and regulations from state of licensure submitted to be reviewed for reciprocity 

 
Please be aware that applicants may also apply by Exam /Initial License if they meet all of the requirements for licensure.  
TAKING EXAMINATION PRIOR TO GRADUATION/ACADEMIC VERIFICATION FORM: 

Applicants for basic-level social work or advanced practice social work may apply to take the national social work 
examination if they have completed all the other requirements for certification and their school completes and sends in the 
Academic Verification Form that the applicant is a student in good standing.  The Certificate of Professional Education 
must still be filed upon graduation.  The temporary permit cannot be issued until verification of graduation has been 
received by DSPS. 

 

TEMPORARY CERTIFICATES : (Temporary Certificates for Social Worker, Advanced Practice Social Worker, 
or Independent Social Worker) 

A temporary certificate permits you to practice and use a title if you have completed all the requirements except the exam, 
and can be issued for an additional $10.00 fee.  The Temporary Certificate expires upon notification of successful completion 
of examination or expiration of the 9-month period, whichever is earlier.  It may not be renewed.  

NATIONAL EXAMINATION:  ASSOCIATION OF SOCIAL WORKER BOARDS (ASWB) 

1. Required of all eligible applicants.  If you have already taken the ASWB examination for the same level you are 
applying for in Wisconsin, that score will be accepted if sent directly from ASWB.  Contact information for 
ASWB may be found under ‘study guides’ below. 

2. Eligibility will be determined upon receipt of a completed application, appropriate fee, and other requirements.* 

3. The Department will issue an approval letter with examination instructions when all requirements have been met. 

4. The ASWB examinations are administered year round at specific sites within the state.  After receipt of the 
approval letter contact ASWB after 5 work days at 1-888-579-3926 for the dates and further instructions. 

If you fail the examination you will be required to wait 90 days before retaking the examination.  Call ASWB to schedule 
another examination date. 

If you need re-authorization approval sent to ASWB, please contact the Department of Safety and Professional 
at dspscredjointbd@wi.gov. 
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STUDY GUIDES: 
Candidates may purchase a study guide by contacting ASWB directly at 1-800-225-6880 or by writing to:  ASWB Study 
Guide, 400 South Ridge Parkway, Suite B., Culpeper, VA  22701. 

SCORES: 
Wisconsin requires a scaled score of 70 or above to pass the examination. 

WISCONSIN STATUTES & RULES EXAMINATION: 
The Wisconsin Statutes & Rules examination is an open book examination relating to the practice of social workers.  If 
you have taken the jurisprudence examination within the last 5 years you do not need to retake this examination. 

The Wis. Stats. and administrative rules can be obtained from the department internet site at http://dsps.wi.gov.  You will 
need the most current edition.  This contains information needed to answer the exam questions.  This is available online or 
through Document Sales. 

Exam Instructions 

Password: 

About 10 days after receipt of your completed application at DSPS, you will be assigned an exam password, form 
instructor and ten digit ID.  See your on-line application status checklist to obtain this information.  You will need it to 
start the test. 

Supervision – CISW Applicants only: 
(MPSW 3.07 and MPSW 4, Wis. Adm. Code) 
Supervision of APSW practice of social work includes the direction by an approved supervisor (see list of approved 
supervisors below) of social work practice in face-to-face individual or group sessions of at least one hour duration, 
during each week of supervised practice of social work.  Also, at least 3,000 hours of social work practice in no less than 
two years, under the supervision of an approved supervisor. 

Approved supervisors: 
1. A Licensed Clinical Social Worker with a masters or doctorate degree in social work. 
2. A Certified Independent Social Worker with a masters or doctorate in social work. 
3. Another individual approved in advance by the Social Worker section. 

MAIL APPLICATION AND REQUIRED DOCUMENTS TO: EXPRESS DELIVERY: 
SOCIAL WORK SECTION SOCIAL WORK SECTION 
WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY & PROFESSIONAL SERVICES DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY & PROFESSIONAL SERVICES 
P.O. BOX 8935  1400 E. WASHINGTON AVE. 
MADISON, WI  53708-8935 MADISON, WI  53703 

 
The status of your application can be checked at http://dsps.wi.gov under “Applicant Information.” 

Please check status before contacting Department of Safety and Professional Services. 
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