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CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES BOARD

Instruction Sheet for Application for Controlled Substances Authorization

Under Wisconsin Statute 961.43, all statements must be true and correct:

“(1) Itis unlawful for any person:

(a) to acquire or obtain possession of a controlled substance by misrepresentation, fraud, forgery, deception
or subterfuge;...

(2) Any person who violates this section may be fined not more than $30,000 or imprisoned not more than four
years or both.”

1.  Complete all items on application (Form #2184); appropriate checklist and any additional forms that may apply.
(Type or print.)

2. REQUIRED FEES

Waiver:
Per SUBCHAPTER 11 Section 961.335(3)
No fee is charged for authorizations issued to employees of state agencies or institutions.

Authorization fee $25.00:
For each application there is a non-refundable fee. Fees will be paid at the time the application for authorization is
submitted.

Amendment fee $5.00:
Amendments to an authorization must be accompanied by the fee.

Make checks payable to: Department of Safety and Professional Services

3. Sign and date application and return it to: Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services, Controlled
Substances Board, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wl 53708-8935.

4.  The completed application will be considered at the next Controlled Substances Board meeting. Failure to submit
all requested information may result in a delay in processing the application. You will be notified of an approval or
denial.

5. You must also apply for registration with the federal Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) in order to acquire
controlled substances. DEA approval is contingent upon CSB approval. Applications may be requested from:

DEA Diversion Group

4725 W. Electric Avenue
West Milwaukee, WI 53219
(414) 336-7374
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IMPORTANT INFORMATION: The applicant must maintain current and accurate records of all receipts and
dispositions of controlled substances obtained pursuant to the issuance of the authorization.

In accordance to federal and state laws, all Special Use Authorization (SUA) holders are only allowed to have
drug/substance amounts that have been previously authorized and approved by the Controlled Substances Board. Any
additional drug/substance amounts that are not authorized by the Controlled Substances Board is a violation of federal and
state laws. An SUA may be revoked for this violation.

Please be advised you need to contact the Drug Enforcement Administration for authorization to destroy or otherwise
properly dispose of all controlled substances.

e The CSB authorization will expire one year after its issuance. Failure to reapply will result in automatic
termination of the authorization without further notice.

e To terminate your Special Use Authorization (SUA) submit in writing that you wish to terminate and cease all
activity to which the SUA applies. To regain authorization in the future you will need to complete application
(Form #2184) as a new SUA holder. Following review by the Controlled Substance Board, a decision will be
made whether to grant an SUA to your organization at that time.

Please be advised you must also contact the Drug Enforcement Administration for the proper disposal of your
controlled substances:

Drug Enforcement Administration
4725 W. Electric Avenue

West Milwaukee, WI 53219
(414) 336-7374

e Research in which controlled substances are administered to human subjects must be under the direct supervision
of a physician currently licensed to practice in Wisconsin.

Amendments: These requests must be filed and approved by the Board prior to purchasing any additional drug
amounts or new substances. To file an amendment with the Controlled Substances Board submit your request in writing
for the need, and the justification for this change along with the required form information. Please include your SUA
permit number and expiration date.

An amendment must be filed with the Controlled Substances Board for a change to your current authorization prior to the
expiration date. The following changes must be approved by the board.

e Change in original authorization holder. (Complete and submit Form #2184, item numbers 1, 2, 3, 12, 13, 14, 15
and 16.)

e New individuals added who are participating in the functions for which the Authorization was approved.
(Complete and submit Form #2184, item numbers 1, 2, 3, 12, 13, and 14.)

e Increased possession limits above previously authorized amounts. (Complete and submit Form #2184, item
numbers 1, 2, 3, 4B, and 11.)

e New controlled substance that was not previously authorized for you to have in your possession. (Complete and
submit Form #2184, item numbers 1, 2, 3, 4A, and justification.)

A $5.00 fee is required for amendment changes. Please make checks payable to: Department of Safety and Professional
Services.

Once your request is received, it will be reviewed by a board advisor for approval. Upon approval, you will be issued an
amended SUA with the changes shown.



