
Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services 
 Mail To: P.O. Box 8935 1400 E. Washington Avenue 
 Madison, WI 53708-8935 Madison, WI  53703 
 FAX #: (608) 261-7083 E-Mail: web@dsps.wi.gov  
 Phone #: (608) 266-2112 Website: http://dsps.wi.gov 

MASSAGE THERAPY AND BODYWORK THERAPY AFFILIATED CREDENTIALING BOARD 

INFORMATION FOR MASSAGE THERAPIST OR BODYWORK THERAPIST  

 
LICENSURE ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS (Choose section A or B) 
A. EXAMINATION - An applicant is eligible for licensure as a massage therapist or bodywork therapist if the 

applicant:  
1. Completes and submits Application (Form #2960) and pays the fee specified in s. 440.05(1), Stats. 
2. Submit a signed copy (front and back) of current CPR/AED certificate from a DHS approved provider.  For a 

listing of approved providers go to http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/License_certification/CPR.htm. 
3. Is 18 years of age or older. 
4. Has graduated from high school or attained high school graduation equivalency as determined by the department 

of public instruction under s. 115.29(4), Stats.  Complete Massage Therapy and Body Work Therapy Program 
Curriculum Form #2962.  This form must be completed by your school and returned directly to the department. 

5. Wisconsin State Law Examination:  The Wisconsin Massage Therapy and Bodywork Therapy State Law Exam 
is an on-line open book examination on the Wisconsin Statutes and Administrative Codes that govern massage 
therapists and bodywork therapists.  Each massage therapy or bodywork therapy school will notify the students 
when and where to complete the examination; it is recommended that the applicant complete the examination as 
soon as reasonable. Candidates will be assigned an ID#, test name and password after submitting an application.  
If you graduated from massage therapy or body work therapy school prior to 1/1/2012 or graduated from a school 
in another state, you will be given information to take the exam after your application is received at DSPS.  If you 
fail this examination, a retake examination fee will be required. 

The exam may be accessed from any PC by using Internet Explorer.  The testing system will not work on a MAC 
computer or any web browser other than Internet Explorer.   

INSERT INSTRUCTION HERE 

IMPORTANT:   Upon completion of the exam, the applicant will be presented with the option to “Print test 
feedback report”.  The applicant MUST choose this option (“Print test feedback report”) to have the examination 
score available for review.  DSPS does NOT have the ability to recall a score.  If the applicant fails to print 
the test feedback report when given the option, the applicant will be required to retake the examination 
and pay an additional fee. 

6. Has in effect as a policy holder and insured, malpractice liability insurance coverage in an amount that is not less 
than $1,000,000 per occurrence and $1,000,000 for all occurrences in one year.  Malpractice Liability 
Insurance:  All applicants are required to submit a copy of a current certificate of malpractice liability insurance 
which shows the amounts of coverage and expiration date.

7. Has not been convicted of an offense under s. 940.22, 940.225, 944.15, 944.17, 944.30, 944.31, 944.32, 944.33, 
944.34, 948.02, 948.025, 948.08, 948.085, 948.09, 948.095, 948.10, Stats., or a comparable offense under federal 
law or a law of any other state. 

8. Subject to ss. 111.321, 111.322 and 111.335, Stats, has not been convicted of any other offense not listed in 
item (7) above, the circumstances of which substantially relate to the practice of massage therapy or bodywork 
therapy. 

9. Has passed one of the following nationally administrated examinations: 
 National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage  
 National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork 
 Asian Bodywork Therapy Examination of the National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and 

Oriental Medicine  
 Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination 
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 National Score Report: NCBTMB, NCCAOM or FSMBT   

 For official exam score report apply directly to the certifying agency as noted below. 

 Applicants who passed either the National Certification Examination of the National Certification Board 
for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB) and applied to the Board 

Complete NCBTMB Official Score Report Request Form.  Attach appropriate fee and forward to address 
indicated on form. 

Forms are available at http://www.ncbtmb.org 

Your scores must be returned directly to the Department from NCBTMB.  Scores received from the applicant 
will not be accepted. 

 
 Applicants who have passed the Asian Bodywork Therapy Exam of the National Certification Commission 

of Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM) 

Complete NCCAOM Request Form.  Attach appropriate fee and forward to address indicated on form. 

Forms are available at  http://www.nccaom.org/ 

Your scores must be returned directly to the Department from NCCAOM.  Scores received from the 
applicant will not be accepted. 

 
Applicants who have passed the Federation of State Massage Therapy Board’s (FSMTB) Massage & 
Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx) 

Complete Massage & Bodywork Licensing Examination Mobility Form.  Attach appropriate fee and forward 
to address indicated on form. 

Forms are available at http://www.fsmtb.org 

Your scores must be returned directly to the Department from FSMTB.  Scores received from the applicant 
will not be accepted. 

 
 
TEMPORARY LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS (This provision applies only to those eligible for licensure by 
examination and who meet all other requirements for licensure, but who have not yet received scores from an 
approved nationally-administered entry-level competency assessment examination.) 
 
A temporary license expires 6 months after the date of issuance or when the Department receives notice that the temporary 
licensee has failed or passed the examination required by § 460.06, whichever is first.  

 
(a) A temporary license may not be renewed; and 
(b) No person shall be issued more than one temporary license. 

 
Practice under a temporary license shall be under the supervision of a licensed massage therapist or bodywork therapist, at 
the level of general, direct or direct one-on-one supervision as necessary to avoid unacceptable risk of harm to the client.  
The supervising massage therapist or body work therapist is responsible for determining the level of supervision necessary 
to avoid unacceptable risk of harm to the client, and is responsible for the acts of the temporary licensee.  The supervisor 
may be subject to discipline for failure to appropriately supervise the temporary licensee and/or for failure to insure that the 
temporary licensee adheres to the Board’s rules and the standards of minimal competence. 
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The supervisor responsible for the temporary licensee shall insure that clients know that the temporary licensee is not fully 
licensed and that the supervisor is ultimately responsible for the care provided.  It is recommended that this information be 
documented in the client record. 

 
THE REQUIREMENTS FOR A TEMPORARY LICENSE ARE SUMMARIZED HERE: 

 
1. Application, Form 2960.  Complete and submit appropriate fee and application, including all required 
documentation.  The application addresses licensing requirements including age of at least 18 years; high school 
graduation or equivalency; certification of legal status; and education and examination requirements.  The application 
must be signed and the signature notarized.  All licensees are required to provide the Department with a current address at 
which the licensee will receive Department correspondence, including legal documents. 
 
2. Request for Temporary License for Massage Therapist or Bodywork Therapist, Form 2968.  If you meet the 
qualifications and wish to request a temporary license, you must submit this form along with your DSPS Application 
Form 2960. 
 
3. Massage Therapy and Body Work Therapy Program Curriculum Form 2962 and Wisconsin Statutes and 
Rules Examination.  (The completed form and required evidence must come directly from the school or training 
program.) 
 
Applicants must arrange for the school to send a completed Form 2962 directly to the Department.  Applicants may NOT 
submit the completed form on their own behalf it must come directly from the schools.  Successful completion of ALL of 
the following educational activities is required to be documented on this form:    

 
 Graduation from a school of massage therapy or bodywork therapy approved by the educational approval 

board under § 38.50 that meets the requirements under § 460.095 or completed a training program approved 
by the affiliated credentialing board. 

 
 Completion of at least 6 classroom hours in the statutes and the rules of the affiliated credentialing board 

relating to the practice of massage therapy and bodywork therapy. 
 

 Successful completion of the Wisconsin State Law Examination.  

Wisconsin State Law Examination:  The Wisconsin Massage Therapy and Bodywork Therapy State Law 
Exam is an on-line open book examination on the Wisconsin Statutes and Administrative Codes that govern 
massage therapists and bodywork therapists.  Each massage therapy or bodywork therapy school will notify 
the students when and where to complete the examination; it is recommended that the applicant complete the 
examination as soon as reasonable. Candidates will be assigned an ID#, test name and password after 
submitting an application.  If you graduated from massage therapy or body work therapy school prior to 
1/1/2012 or graduated from a school in another state, you will be given information to take the exam after 
your application is received at DSPS.  If you fail this examination, a retake examination fee will be required. 

The exam may be accessed from any PC by using Internet Explorer.  The testing system will not work on a 
MAC computer or any web browser other than Internet Explorer.   

INSERT INSTRUCTION HERE 

IMPORTANT:   Upon completion of the exam, the applicant will be presented with the option to “Print test 
feedback report”.  The applicant MUST choose this option (“Print test feedback report”) to have the 
examination score available for review.  DSPS does NOT have the ability to recall a score.  If the 
applicant fails to print the test feedback report when given the option, the applicant will be required to 
retake the examination and pay an additional fee. 
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4. Proof of approved CPR/AED training (signed copy of front and back).  You must provide evidence of successful 
completion of a CPR/automated external defibrillators (AED) certification program approved by the Wisconsin 
Department of Health Services (DHS).  Qualified AED training is offered only as a component of DHS-approved CPR 
certification programs.  DHS approved providers of CPR/AED Certification required for initial licensure and renewal may 
be found at: http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/License_certification/CPR.htm.  

 
5. Report Convictions and Pending Charges, Form 2252 with certified documentation (if applicable).  Report all 
criminal convictions or pending criminal charges, whether a felony or misdemeanor, regardless of the age of the 
conviction, and regardless of the jurisdiction in which the act occurred or is alleged to have occurred.  The applicant’s 
signature on Form 2252 must be notarized.  Applicants are required to submit certified copies of a police report, judgment 
of conviction and sentencing, verification of compliance with the terms of each sentence, including chemical dependency 
assessments ordered by any court.  If the applicant is in or has completed a deferred prosecution program, the applicant 
shall submit a certified copy of the agreement and proof of satisfactory completion.  Convictions of crimes or pending 
criminal charges may be grounds for denial of licensure if the circumstances of the conviction or charge are substantially 
related to the practice of massage therapy and body work therapy.   
 
B. BY RECIPROCITY - An applicant is eligible for reciprocal licensure as a massage therapist or bodywork therapist if 

the applicant: 
1. Completes and submits Application (Form #2960) and pays the fee specified in s. 440.05(2), Stats. 
2. Holds a current similar license, registration or certificate to practice massage therapy or bodywork therapy in 

another state or territory of the United States or another country, the requirements for which are substantially 
equivalent to the requirements under s. 460.05, Stats. 
“Substantially equivalent” means the requirements must include either of the following: 

Certification by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork or any other 
organization accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies to certify massage therapy or 
bodywork therapy;  
OR  
Completion of at least 600 classroom hours of instruction in massage therapy or bodywork therapy at a school 

approved by an accrediting agency. 
3. Submits a copy of the rules and regulations currently in effect pertaining to the practice of massage therapy or 

bodywork therapy in the jurisdiction from which the applicant wishes to reciprocate. 
4. Verification of a current license, registration or certification issued by another state or territory of the United 

States or province of another country.  You are required to have each jurisdiction in which you have ever been 
credentialed submit letters of verification to the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services.  The 
letters must indicate your date of birth, credential number, date of issuance, and a statement regarding disciplinary 
actions.  These letters will be required in order to complete your application for licensure.  City or county 
certification/licensure does not meet the State licensure requirement nor will you need to submit verification from 
these jurisdictions. 

5. Wisconsin State Law Examination:  Wisconsin State Law Examination:  The Wisconsin Massage Therapy and 
Bodywork Therapy State Law Exam is an on-line open book examination on the Wisconsin Statutes and 
Administrative Codes that govern massage therapists and bodywork therapists.  Each massage therapy or 
bodywork therapy school will notify the students when and where to complete the examination; it is 
recommended that the applicant complete the examination as soon as reasonable. Candidates will be assigned an 
ID#, test name and password after submitting an application.  If you graduated from massage therapy or body 
work therapy school prior to 1/1/2012 or graduated from a school in another state, you will be given information 
to take the exam after your application is received at DSPS.  If you fail this examination, a retake examination fee 
will be required. 
The exam may be accessed from any PC by using Internet Explorer.  The testing system will not work on a MAC 
computer or any web browser other than Internet Explorer.   
 
IMPORTANT:   Upon completion of the exam, the applicant will be presented with the option to “Print test 
feedback report”.  The applicant MUST choose this option (“Print test feedback report”) to have the examination 
score available for review.  DSPS does NOT have the ability to recall a score.  If the applicant fails to print 
the test feedback report when given the option, the applicant will be required to retake the examination 
and pay an additional fee. 
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6. Has not been convicted of an offense under ss. 940.22, 940.225, 944.15, 944.17, 944.30, 944.31, 944.32, 944.33, 
944.34, 948.02, 948.025, 948.08, 948.085, 948.09, 948.095, 948.10, Stats., or a comparable offense under federal 
law or a law of any other state. 

7. Subject to ss. 111.321, 111.322 and 111.335, Stats., has not been convicted of any other offense not listed in 
Item (6) above, the circumstances of which substantially relate to the practice of massage therapy or bodywork 
therapy. 

8. Has in effect as a policy holder and insured, malpractice liability insurance coverage in an amount that is not less 
than $1,000,000 per occurrence and $1,000,000 for all occurrences in one year.  Malpractice Liability Insurance:  
All applicants are required to submit a copy of a current certificate of malpractice liability insurance which shows 
the amounts of coverage and expiration date. 

9. Submit a signed copy (front and back) of current CPR/AED certificate from a DHS approved provider.  For a 
listing of approved providers go to http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/License_certification/CPR.htm. 

10. Has not engaged in conduct while practicing massage therapy or bodywork therapy that jeopardizes the health, 
safety, or welfare of a client or that evidences a lack of knowledge of, inability to apply, or the negligent 
application of, principles or skills of massage therapy or bodywork therapy. 

 

 
 
 
 

MAILING INSTRUCTIONS: 
Mail the application, the appropriate fee, and supporting documentation to the following address: 

 DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND PROFESSIONAL SERVICES 
 MASSAGE THERAPY AND BODYWORK THERAPY AFFILIATED CREDENTIALING BOARD 
 PO BOX 8935 
 MADISON WI  53708-8935 
 
 
RENEWAL INFORMATION: 
 
This licensure may be renewed.  This licensure will expire on March 1st of each odd numbered year.  At the time of 
renewal, license holders will be required to submit a current certificate of malpractice liability insurance coverage 
in an amount not less than $1,000,000 per occurrence and $1,000,000 for all occurrences in one year.  Proof of 
malpractice liability must show the amounts of coverage and expiration date. 
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