Cosmetology Manager - Continuing Education
Continuing education (CE) requirements are listed on this page according to the renewal year. Cosmetology managers must renew their license by March 31 of every odd year to keep their license current. If continuing education (CE) is required for renewal, it must be completed during the 2-year period, referred to as a “biennium”, before the renewal deadline. The biennium for cosmetology manager licenses is from 4/1/every odd year to 3/31/every odd year. CE must be taken from a provider on the list of approved Cosmetology CE providers/courses.
March 2017 Renewal
For the March 2017 license renewal, license holders must complete 4 hours of approved continuing education in order to renew their active license (1 hour in laws and 3 hours in safety, sanitation an infection control). The CE must be completed during the time period from 4/1/2015 to 3/31/2017.
NOTE: If you were issued your license for the first time on or after 4/1/2015, you are not required to complete any continuing education for the 3/31/2017 license renewal.
List of Approved Courses for 2015-2017 Biennium
List of Other Approved Course Providers
Course Approval Information for the 2017-2019 Biennium
Wis. Administrative Code Ch. COS 11 outlines the CE requirements and standards for approval of the required courses.
According to, Wis. Administrative Code Ch. COS 11.04 (2), CE programs that meet the requirements outlined in BC 11 and are offered by the following providers do not require pre-approval from the Board:
(a) Universities, technical colleges and schools licensed by the appropriate authority for the state in which the program is offered.
(b) The Wisconsin Cosmetology Examining Board and the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services
(c) State or national professional organizations recognized by the Board. (NOTE: these organizations may offer the 3-hour safety, sanitation and infection control course with no prior approval from the Board; however, they must submit an application for approval of the 1-hour law course per COS 11.04 (4).
Please click on the following links for information on the CE course approval process:
Continuing Education Course Approval Application (Form #2893)
If your license is EXPIRED and has been for more than 5 years,click here for more information on how to reinstate your license.