Home
Skip to main content
        

Funeral Director – License Information

 

1) Take and pass the National Board Examination (NEB) and the Wisconsin State Laws Examination.

2) Submit application and fee to the Department.  A complete application includes:

Application by Reciprocity

A person holding a valid license as a Funeral Director or embalmer in another state having requirements equal to those in Wisconsin may apply for a license by reciprocity.  For current Wisconsin requirements, refer to Wis. Admin. Code § FD 1.04.
 
An applicant for licensure by reciprocity must provide evidence of:

9 months or more of schooling in mortuary science

2 years of academic coursework

Certification of licensure from each state in which you are licensed or have been licensed.

The applicant must also pass the Wisconsin State Laws exam.

Reinstatement of Licensure

A credential holder who fails to renew the credential within 5 years after the renewal date will need to complete ALL of the following requirements before the credential can be reinstated:

1) Complete a total of 30 hours of continuing education. You must complete at least:

a) 6 hours in "professional conduct, busines ethics or legal aspects specifically related to practice in the profession" (Category 2)

b) 10 hours in "technical or practical aspects of the profession" (Category 4)

c) 3 hours in "grief counseling or communication" (Category 1)

d) 3 hours in "business management concepts relating specifically to delivery of services to a consumer" (Category 3)

e) The remaining 8 hours can be in any of the four categories.

2) Complete 9 embalming services within 12 months under the direct supervision of a licensed funeral director.

Because embalming sevices can only be performed by a person holding a current funeral director license or current apprentice permit, you will need to obtain an apprentice permit to be able to perform the embalming services.  The apprentice permit would be solely for this purpose and the apprentichesip would end when you complete the 9 embalming services.  The 9 embalming services may be completed at more than one funeral establishment.

3) Successfully pass the Wisconsin State Laws exam.  See Application for Funeral Director Examination (Form #1590).


Application Process


 

http://dsps.wi.gov/Images/Divisions/Credentialing/WEAVER.PNG

Wisconsin Emergency Assistance Volunteer Registry
The Wisconsin Emergency Assistance Volunteer Registry (WEAVR) is Wisconsin's initiative to pre-register, manage, and mobilize clinical and non-clinical volunteers to help in responding to all types of disasters. The volunteer management system is part of a nation-wide effort to make sure that volunteer professionals can be quickly identified and their credentials checked so that they can be properly utilized in response to a public health emergency or disaster. WEAVR is coordinated administratively by the Wisconsin Department of Health Services (DHS) Public Health Emergency Preparedness Section (PHEP). WEAVR is Wisconsin's Emergency System for Advanced Registration of Volunteer Health Professionals (ESAR-VHP), part of a national initiative to form an interoperable emergency health volunteer network.