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The Wisconsin Department of Commerce proposes an order to repeal Comm 2.31 (1) (b) 
note;  to renumber Comm 5. 09 (8) (b) and (c);  to amend Comm 2.31 Table 2.31-1 line 3., Comm 
2.31 (1) (d) 6., Comm 2.35 (3) (a) 3., Comm 5.02 Table 5.02 lines 1. to 8., 13. to 15., 18. to 20., 29., 
33., 34., 44., 50., and 68. to 70., and Comm 5. 08 (1) (f) 1.; and  to create Comm 5.09 (8) (b), 
relating to program revenue fees, and affecting small businesses. 
 
 
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 

ANALYSIS OF PROPOSED RULES 
 
1.  Statutes Interpreted. 
 
 Sections 101.02 (1), 101.19 and 145.08, Stats. 
 
 
2.  Statutory Authority. 
 
 Sections 101.02 (1), 101.19 and 145.08, Stats. 
 
 
3.  Related Statute or Rule. 
 
 None 
 
 
4.  Explanation of Agency Authority. 
 
 Chapters 101 and 145, Stats., grant the department general authority for the purpose of 
protecting public health, safety and welfare by establishing standards and regulatory oversight 
programs for the construction and maintenance of buildings, structures and dwellings and their 
components.  These programs are administered by the Safety and Buildings Division.  Sections 
101.19 and 145.08, Stats., grant the department authority to promulgate rules to fix and collect fees 
that reflect the cost of providing these programs. 
 
 
5.  Summary of Proposed Rules. 

 
The proposed rules contain two substantive provisions that establish fees for credentials 

administered by the Safety and Buildings Division: 
 A credential application fee for 22 credential categories in addition to the credential fee. 
 The review of a previously completed credentialing exam. 
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6.  Summary of, and Comparison with Existing or Proposed Federal Regulations. 
 
 An Internet-based search in the Code of Federal Regulations and the Federal Register did 
not identify any existing or proposed federal regulations that address these topics. 
 
 
7.  Comparison with Rules in Adjacent States. 
 

Illinois, Iowa, Michigan and Minnesota:  An Internet based search did not identify any 
separate fee for processing credential applications or reviewing credential exams.  

 
 
8.  Summary of Factual Data and Analytical Methodologies. 
 

Of the 82 types of credentials issued by the department, an application fee is part of the 
overall credential fee charge by the department for approximately 75 percent of the credentials.  The 
application fee is charged for the initial application and for late credential renewals.  Current 
application fees range from $10 to $35.  The implementation of an application fee for the remaining 
25 percent of the credentials creates equity across the board. 
 
 
9.  Effect on Small Business including an Analysis and Supporting Documents Used to 
Determine the Effect or in Preparation of Economic Impact Report. 
 

The proposed fee to review a previous licensing exam affects individuals and not businesses 
directly. 

 
Manufactured home dealer businesses would be the only business type credential affected 

by the implementation of the proposed $15 credential application fee. 
 

An economic impact report has not been required to be prepared. 
 
 
10.  Agency Contact. 
 

James Quast, Program Manager, jim.quast@wisconsin.gov, (608) 266-9292 
 
 
11.  Public Hearing Comments. 
 
 The hearing record on this proposed rulemaking will remain open until August 7, 2009.  
Written comments on the proposed may be submitted to James Quast, at the Department of 
Commerce, P.O. Box 2689, Madison, WI 53701-2689, or email at jim.quast@wisconsin.gov. 
 
 
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
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SECTION  1.     Comm 2.31 Table 2.31-1 line 3. is amended to read: 
 

Table 2.31−1 
Plan Review Fees for Buildings Not Located in Municipalities That Perform Inspections 

(partial table) 
 

Fees Area (Square Feet) 
Building Plans HVAC Plans Fire Alarm 

System Plans 
Fire Suppression 

System Plans 
3. 5,001-10,000 600 300 350 150 150 
 
 
SECTION  2.     Comm 2.31 (1) (b) note is repealed. 
 
 
SECTION  3.     Comm 2.31 (1) (d) 6. is amended to read: 
 

Comm 2.31 (1) (d) 6.  Any building component, other than building, HVAC and fire 
protection systems, submitted following the final inspection by a deputy of the department or, in the 
case of an agent municipality or county, the inspector having jurisdiction after installation. 
 
 
SECTION  4.     Comm 2.35 (3) (a) 3. is amended to read: 
 

Comm 2.35 Rental unit energy efficiency program. (3) (a) 
3.  Over 8 rental units……………………………………$250.00 500.00 plus $25 for each 

additional rental unit over 8 rental units. 
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SECTION  5.     Comm 5.02 Table 5.02 lines 1. to 8., 13. to 15., 18. to 20., 29., 33., 34., 44., 50., 
and 68. to 70. are amended read: 
 

 
Table 5.02 

FEES 
(partial table) 

  
License, Certification or Registration Category

 
Type 

 
Application Fee 

 
Examination 

Fee 

License, 
Certification or 
Registration Fee 

 Subchapter II     
1. Class 1 Blaster License none $15 $30 $100 
2. Class 2 Blaster License none $15 $30 $100 
3. Class 3 Blaster License none $15 $30 $100 
4. Class 4 Blaster License none $15 $30 $100 
5. Class 5 Blaster License none $15 $30 $100 
6. Class 6 Blaster License none $15 $30 $100 
7. Class 7 Blaster License none $15 $30 $100 
8. Fireworks Manufacturer License none $15 NA $70 
 Subchapter III     
13. Manufactured Home Dealer - Main Business License none $15 NA $200 
14. Manufactured Home Dealer - Branch License none $15 NA $200 
15. Manufactured Home Salesperson License none $15 NA $16 
18. Welder Registration none $15 NA $35 
19. Weld Test Conductor - Physical Certification none $15 $20 $80 
20. Weld Test Conductor - Radiographic Certification none $15 $20 $80 
 Subchapter V     
29. Automatic Fire Sprinkler System Apprentice Registration none $15 NA $15 
 Subchapter VI     
33. Boiler-Pressure Vessel Inspector Certification none $15 NA $120 
34. In-Service Field Inspector Certification none $15 NA $120 
44. Elevator Inspector License none $15 NA $120 
 Subchapter VII     
50. Refrigerant Handling Technician Certification none $15 NA $20 
 Subchapter IX      
68. Plumbing Apprentice Registration none $15 NA $15 
69. Plumbing Learner-Restricted Appliance Registration none $15 NA $15 
70. Plumbing Learner-Restricted Service Registration none $15 NA $15 

 
 
SECTION  6.     Comm 5.08 (1) (f) 1. is amended to read: 
 
 Comm 5.08 (1) (f) 1.  The individual or organization which had obtained the course, 
program or seminar approval shall maintain an attendance record of those individuals who have 
attended and completed the course, program or seminar for at least 5 years from the date of the 
course, program or seminar. 
 
 
SECTION  7.     Comm 5.09 (8) (b) and (c) are renumbered 5.09 (8) (c) and (d). 
 
 
SECTION  8.     Comm 5.09 (8) (b) is created to read: 
 
 Comm 5.09 (8) (b)  The request to review an examination relating to subchs. II to VII, but 
not including s. Comm 5.68, and subchs. IX and X shall be accompanied by a $15 fee. 
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(END) 
 
 
 
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

EFFECTIVE DATE 
 
 Pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats., these rules shall take effect on the first day of the 
month following publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register. 
 
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 
 


