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The Wisconsin Department of Commerce proposes an order to repeal and recreate s. Comm 
5.12, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to the assessment of forfeitures for violating plumbing licensing 
requirements, and affecting small businesses. 
 
 
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
 
 

ANALYSIS OF PROPOSED RULES 
 
 
1.  Statutes Interpreted. 
 
 Section 145.12 (5), Stats., as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Act 182 
 
 
2.  Statutory Authority. 
 
 Section 145.12 (5), Stats., as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Act 182 
 
 
3.  Related Statute or Rule. 
 
 Section 145.06, Stats. 
 
 
4.  Explanation of Agency Authority. 
 
 Section 145.02, Stats., grants the Department of Commerce general authority for protecting the 
health, safety and welfare of the public by establishing reasonable and effective standards for plumbing 
including the licensing of individuals to install plumbing.  Section 145.06, Stats., specifies when and 
what types of plumbing licenses are needed for various plumbing activities.  Section 145.12 (5), Stats., 
as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Act, allows the Department to directly assess forfeitures to individuals 
who violate the licensing provisions of s. 145.06, Stats. 
 
 
5.  Summary of Proposed Rules. 
 
 The proposed rules under chapter Comm 5 delineate the procedures for implementing the 
forfeiture assessments for plumbing licensing violations as allowed by 2005 Wisconsin Act 182.  The 
proposed rules established a schedule for forfeitures based upon various situations and/or activities.  
The rules also delineate a process for appealing a forfeiture assessment. 
 
 
6.  Summary of, and Comparison with Existing or Proposed Federal Regulations. 
 
 There are no known federal regulations or proposed federal regulations that could be compared 
to this provision. 
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7.  Comparison with Rules in Adjacent States. 
 

The rules of Minnesota Department of Health allow the state to issue a penalty of up to 
$10,000.00 for violation of the licensing laws in that state.  Illinois does not have a statewide license 
law except that a Chicago license is valid throughout the state for plumbing installation.  The state of 
Illinois has a $5,000.00 civil penalty for unlicensed individuals performing plumbing.  Iowa has state 
registration for plumbing contractors, but only local licensing.  Michigan has a penalty of $1,000.00 
per day with a maximum fee of $5,000.00 for violations of its plumbing licensing regulations. 
 
 
8.  Summary of Factual Data and Analytical Methodologies. 

 
 The Department utilizes advisory councils in analyzing and developing proposed revisions to 
the Wisconsin Uniform Plumbing Code.  The councils involved in the review of the proposed rules 
were the Plumbing Licensing Council and the Wisconsin Plumbing Code Advisory Council.  These 
councils involve a variety of organizations whose memberships include small businesses and 
municipal staff.  The Department utilizes these councils to gather information on potential impacts in 
complying with the administrative requirements of this proposal.  A responsibility of council members 
is to bring forth concerns their respective organizations may have with the requirements, including 
concerns regarding economic impacts.  (Copies of the council meetings summaries are on file in the 
Safety and Building Division.) 

 
 An economic impact report has not been required pursuant to s. 227.137, Stats. 
 
 
9.  Analysis and Supporting Documents Used to Determine Effect on Small Business or in 
Preparation of Economic Impact Report. 
 
 The requirements relating to direct forfeiture under the credentialing code impact businesses of 
all sizes.  The rules are intended to clarify and implement the s.145.12 (5), Stats. 
 
 The forfeiture could affect illegal plumbing businesses by the utilization of another 
enforcement tool to maintain code-compliant installations and therefore, public health and safety and 
the waters of the state. 

 
 

Council Members and Representation 
 
The proposed rules were developed with the assistance of the following Advisory Councils: 
 
Plumbers Licensing Council: 
Dave Jones, Master Plumber 
Scott Hamilton, Journeyman Plumber 
Lynita Docken, Department of Commerce 
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Plumbing Advisory Code Council: 
Arthur J. Biesek, League of Wisconsin Municipalities  
Thomas, Boehnen, Chair, American Society of Plumbing Engineers 
Patrick Casey, Wisconsin State AFL-CIO 
Hallet Jenkins, City of Milwaukee 
Dave Jones, Plumbing Contractor 
Gary Kowalke, PHCC/MPA Wisconsin  
Jeff Kuhn, Plumbing, Mechanical and Sheet Metal Contractors Alliance 
Rudolf Petrowitsch, American Society of Sanitary Engineering 
Gene Shumann, Plumbing Designer 
David Viola, Plumbing Manufacturers Institute 
Joseph Zoulek, PHCC/MPA Wisconsin  
 
 
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 
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Section 1.  Comm 5.12 is repealed and recreated to read: 
 
 Comm 5.12 Penalties. (1) GENERAL.  In addition to the forfeitures provided for in sub. (2), 
penalties for violations of the provisions of this chapter may be assessed in accordance with the 
respective penalty provisions in the statutes, depending upon the license, certification or registration 
category or activity involved. 
 

(2) PLUMBING FORFEITURES.  (a)  Pursuant to s. 145.12 (5), Stats., the department may 
assess a forfeiture in the amount listed in subds. 1. to 7. and par. (b) to a violator of the licensing 
requirements under s. 145.06, Stats. 

 
Note:  A violation of each point is considered separately when assessing a first, second or third violation.  For 

example: violating points 1, 2 and 3 creates a first violation for each point, not a first, second and third violation. 
 
 1.  The amount of forfeiture by an individual who does not hold appropriate type of plumbing 
license under subch. IX and who installs plumbing when a master plumber is not in charge of the 
plumbing installation shall be one of the following: 
 
 a.  First offense - $500. 
 
 b.  Second offense - $1,000. 
 
 c.  Third and subsequent offense - $2,000. 
 

2.  The amount of forfeiture by an individual who does not hold the appropriate type of 
plumbing license under subch. IX and who installs plumbing where a master plumber is in charge of 
the plumbing installation shall be one of the following: 
 
 a.  First offense - $100. 
 
 b.  Second offense - $250. 
 
 c.  Third and subsequent offense - $500. 
 
 3.  The amount of forfeiture by a master plumber who allows the use of his or her master 
plumber license for the purpose of obtaining a plumbing permit without that master plumber assuming 
responsibility for the plumbing installation shall be one of the following: 
 
 a.  First offense - $1,000. 
 
 b.  Second offense - $1,500. 
 
 c.  Third and subsequent offense - $2,000. 
 

4.  The amount of forfeiture by a master plumber who allows another licensed plumber to 
install plumbing in the master plumber’s name when that master plumber is not in charge of the 
plumbing installation shall be one of the following: 

 
 a.  First violation offense - $500. 
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 b.  Second violation offense - $1,000. 
 
 c.  Third and subsequent violation offense - $1,500. 
 

5.  The amount of forfeiture by a master plumber who allows an individual who does not hold 
the appropriate licensed under subch. IX to install plumbing when that master plumber is not in charge 
of the plumbing installation shall be one of the following: 

 
 a.  First violation offense - $1,500. 
 
 b.  Second violation offense - $1,750. 
 
 c.  Third and subsequent violation offense - $2,000. 
 

6.  The amount of forfeiture by an individual who does not hold a master plumber license under 
s. Comm 5.91 and who engages in the business or offers to engage in the business of superintending 
plumbing installations shall be one of the following: 
 
 a.  First violation offense - $500. 
 
 b.  Second violation offense - $1,000. 
 
 c.  Third and subsequent violation offense - $2,000. 
 
 7.  The amount of forfeiture by an individual who does not hold a registration as cross 
connection control tester under s. Comm 5.99 and who tests cross connection control devices to meet 
the requirements in s. Comm 82.21 (3) shall be one of the following: 
 
 a.  First violation offense - $500. 
 
 b.  Second violation offense - $750. 
 
 c.  Third and subsequent violation offense - $1,000. 
 

Note:  See section 145.06, Stats., for exemptions to the licensing requirements. 
 

(b)  When a violator creates an imminent health risk the forfeiture amounts under par. (a) shall 
be doubled within the maximum statutory limit of $2,000. 
 

(3) FORFEITURE PROCESS.  (a)  The department shall assess an administrative forfeiture in 
writing. 
 

(b) A notice of administrative forfeiture shall include the following: 
 
 1.  The rule or rules violated. 
 
 2.  A statement or explanation of how the violation was determined. 
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 3.  The amount of forfeiture. 
 
 4.  A statement or explanation of how the amount of forfeiture was determined. 
 
 5.  Information about how to contest the notice of administrative forfeiture. 
 

(4) FORFEITURE PAYMENTS.  (a)  Except as provided in sub. (5), all forfeitures shall be 
paid to the department within 30 days after issuance of the notice. 
 
 (b)  An interest penalty shall be imposed in accordance with s. 101.02 (22) (e), Stats., for a 
forfeiture not paid in accordance with par. (a). 
 
 Note:  Section 101.02 (22) (e), Stats., reads:  In the case of any failure in the payment of a forfeiture, the 
department shall impose an interest penalty of 12% per year from the time when the forfeiture should have been paid. 
 

(5) FORFEITURE APPEAL. (a)  A person may contest the assessment of forfeiture using the 
procedure in this subsection. 
 
 (b)  The contesting of an assessment of forfeiture under this subsection shall be on the basis to 
completely overturn or completely sustain the assessment. 
 
 (c)  A request to review the assessment of forfeiture shall be made in writing to the 
administrator of the Safety and Buildings Division. 
 
 (d)  A request to review the assessment of forfeiture shall include a statement of the specific 
reasons why the person believes the notice of administrative forfeiture is incorrect. 
 
 (e)  A request to review the assessment of an administrative of forfeiture shall be denied if the 
request is received more than 30 days after issuance of the forfeiture notice. 
 
 (f) 1.  The administrator shall make a decision on the request to review the assessment of an 
administrative forfeiture within 15 days of receipt of the request. 
 

2.  If the administrator determines that insufficient reasons are provided in the request for 
review, the request may be denied. 
 
 3.  The denial of a review shall be in writing and shall state the reasons for denial and with 
information about the right to appeal the denial. 
 
 4.  If the administrator determines that sufficient reasons are provided in the request, the 
request shall be granted. 
 
 5.  If the administrator grants the request for review, the administrator shall notify the person 
making the request in writing of the date, time and location where the review will take place and who 
will conduct the review.  The review shall be scheduled within 10 days after the request for review is 
granted, unless the person requesting the review asks for and is granted an extension. 
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 6.  If a review is granted, the person requesting the review shall be provided an opportunity to 
meet with the administrator or designee to present statements and documents regarding the contested 
notice of administrative forfeiture. 
 

(6) ADMISTRATOR REVIEW. (a)  The administrator shall issue a written decision within 30 
days following the review. 
 
 (b)  The written decision from the administrator shall include information about appeal rights 
and procedures if the decision is to deny. 
 

(7) SECRETARY REVIEW. (a)  A person adversely affected by the decision of the 
administrator on an assessment of administrative forfeiture may request a hearing by the secretary. 
 
 (b)  A request for a hearing to review the assessment of an assessment of administrative 
forfeiture shall be made in writing to the secretary. 
 
 (c)  A request for a hearing to review an assessment of administrative forfeiture shall include a 
statement of the specific reasons why the person believes the forfeiture assessment is incorrect. 
 

(d)  A request for a hearing to review an assessment of administrative forfeiture shall be denied 
if the request is received more than 30 days after issuance of the forfeiture notice. 
 
 (e)  A hearing held by the secretary or designee to review an assessment of administrative 
forfeiture shall be a contested case hearing.  The hearing and the decision issued after the hearing shall 
be governed by the provisions under ch. 227, Stats. 
 
 
 
 
 
 

END 
 
 
 
 
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *  

EFFECTIVE DATE 
 

 Pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats., these rules shall take effect on the first day of the 
month following publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register. 
 
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *  
 


