
 

 
 

MANUFACTURED HOME COMMUNITY PROGRAM 
 
Department of Safety and Professional Services oversees several manufactured home community functions:  1) 
licensing of new manufactured home communities and renewing current licensed communities; 2) regulation of 
manufactured home communities; 3) the investigation and resolution of manufactured home community 
complaints; 4) plan review for private sewage systems serving manufactured home communities; 5) plan review 
for some plumbing system features; 6) site installation features and basement or addition construction 
requirements; 7) licensing of manufactured home manufacturers; and 8) after July 1, 2000, titling of 
manufactured/mobile homes. 
 
GENERAL INFORMATION 

The general information of manufactured home communities falls under Wisconsin State Statute 101.935 and 
Wisconsin Administrative Code SPS 326. 
 
Wisconsin Administrative Code SPS 326 regulates the license fee structure per number of mobile home 
park/manufactured home community sites as follows:  3 - 20 sites $250; 21 - 50 sites $450; 51 - 100 sites $700; 
101 – 175 sites $900, and 176 sites or more $1000. 
 
§ 101.935 also sets guidelines for license renewals and allows for a village, city, or county to qualify as an agent 
to perform the licensing and regulating for the department. 
 
Wisconsin Administrative Code SPS 326 states the requirements for designing and modifying a manufactured 
home community and the general upkeep requirements.  For example, the garbage must be disposed of as 
often as necessary to prevent decomposition or overflow.  SPS 326 also refers to the appropriate codes for 
private sewage systems at DSPS and private water supplies at Department of Natural Resources.   
 
LICENSING 

A license is required if three or more manufactured homes are located on a plot or plots of ground.  To be 
licensed as a manufactured home community, the licensee must submit an application packet and meet the 
requirements set forth in Wisconsin Administrative Code SPS 326.  Some of the requirements to be met are: 
 
♦ Submit 2 sets of plans and one set of specifications of the manufactured home community. 
♦ For private water supplies, submit a safe water sample result in accordance with NR809. 
♦ For private sewage systems, submit an approval letter from DSPS, Safety & Buildings Division, in 

accordance with SPS 382 and 383. 
 
The information provided is reviewed and an inspection of the manufactured home community may be ordered.  
If approved, a two-year license is issued and the licensee is provided with copies of applicable state regulations 
governing mobile home parks/manufactured home communities.  To renew a mobile home park/manufactured 
home community license, a notice is sent out and the fees must be submitted. 
 
COMPLAINTS/INSPECTIONS 

The Safety & Buildings Integrated Services Bureau also receives mobile home park/manufactured home 
community complaints from both community residents and community owners.  The complaint process involves 
the completion of a Safety & Buildings complaint form and, if necessary, an inspection of the mobile home 
park/manufactured home community.  If a State Statute or Administrative Code within our jurisdiction is violated, 
Safety & Buildings may commence formal action, such as a written order to correct the violation, final denial, 
suspension, or revocation of the manufactured home community license.  An inspection will be conducted on a 
manufactured home community when there is a new community, expansion, or a complaint. The contact number 
is 608-785-9335. 
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AGENTS 

In addition, there are local and county health departments who serve as agents of the Safety & Buildings division  
in licensing and regulating manufactured home communities.  If your proposed community is located within the 
boundaries of one of the following local or county offices, please contact them directly for licensing and 
regulating assistance: 
 
 

AGENCY TELEPHONE 

Appleton City Health Dept (920) 832-6429 
Ashland County Health Dept (715) 682-7028 
Brown Co Health Dept (920) 448-6400 
Dane Co Dept Human Services/Pub Health Div (608) 243-0330 
Douglas Co Dept of Health & Human Svcs  (715) 395-1304 
Eau Claire City/Co Health Dept (715) 839-4718 
Kenosha Co Human Serv Bldg/Div of Health (262) 605-6700 
La Crosse Co Health Dept (608) 785-9731 
Lincoln County Health Dept (715) 536-0307 
Manitowoc Co Health Dept (920) 683-4155 
Marathon Co Health Dept (715) 261-1900 
Menasha City Health Dept (920) 967-5119 
City of Milw/Dept of Neighborhood Svcs (414) 286-2543 
Oneida County Health Dept (715) 369-6111  
Oshkosh City Health Dept (920) 236-5031 
Outagamie Co Health & Human Services (920) 832-5107 
Portage Co Health & Human Services (715) 345-5771 
Rock Co Health Dept (608) 757-5441 
St Croix Co DHHS Health Dept (715) 246-8370 
Taylor County Health Dept (715) 748-1410 
Waupaca Co Health & Human Svcs (715) 258-6300 
Winnebago County Health Dept (920) 232-3000 
Wood Co Health Dept (715) 421-8911 

 
 
LANDLORD/TENANT ISSUES 

The Department of Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection handles all landlord/tenant issues.  Their contact 
number is (800) 422-7128. 
 
PRIVATE SEWAGE AND PLUMBING PLAN REVIEW 

Safety & Buildings conducts plumbing and private sewage system plan review.  Their contact number is       
(608) 266-3151. 
 
BASEMENTS AND ADDITIONS 

Safety and Buildings enforce the Uniform Dwelling Code which applies to basements and constructed additions 
to manufactured homes.  The contact number is (920) 360-0020. 
 
WATER QUALITY 

The Department of Natural Resources (DNR) handles water quality issues.  Contact the nearest DNR office: 
 

Eau Claire (715) 839-3700 
Green Bay (414) 492-5800 
Madison (608) 275-3266 
Milwaukee (414) 961-2738 
Rhinelander (715) 362-7616 
Spooner (715) 635-2101 

 
 


