Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services

Office Location: 4822 Madison Yards Way LicensE Portal: https://license.wi.gov/

Madison, WI 53705

Email: dsps@wisconsin.gov Phone Number: (608) 266-2112 Website: http://dsps.wi.gov

DENTISTRY EXAMINING BOARD

CREDENTIALING INFORMATION FOR DENTAL HYGIENE APPLICANTS

All applicants must file the following with the Dentistry Examining Board to complete the requirements for licensure in the State of Wisconsin. Information and links to forms and laws are located at https://dsps.wi.gov/Pages/ Professions/ DentalHygienist/Default.aspx.

- 1. Application Submit application and pay applicable fee(s) online via LicensE, https://license.wi.gov/. (Initial credential fee is \$60.00. There is a \$75.00 fee for the Wisconsin Law exam.)
- 2. National Board Score(s) Original score(s) must be submitted directly from National Board of Dental Hygiene Examiners. Both passing and failing scores are required. Copies, online verification, or faxes sent by the applicant are not acceptable. You may submit an online request by contacting the American Dental Association, ada.org. The testing service should provide your scores directly to the Department.
- 3. Regional Examination Requirements Original score reports must be submitted directly from the testing agency. Both passing and failing scores are required. Copies, online verifications, or faxes sent by the applicant are not acceptable. Please request that the testing agency to provide your scores directly to the Department.
- 4. Verification of Licensure in Other State(s) You are required to have each state/country board in which you have ever been licensed submit letters of verification directly to the Wisconsin Dentistry Examining Board. The letters must indicate your license number, date of issuance, status, and a statement regarding disciplinary actions. These letters will be required in order to complete your application for licensure.
- 5. Examination on Wisconsin Law An applicant shall successfully complete an online examination on Wisconsin Statutes and Rules relating to the practice of dental hygiene before a license can be issued in Wisconsin. Information for the online examination will be provided after an application for licensure has been received at the Department.
- 6. Certificate of Professional Education (Form 1463) Have your dental hygiene school complete this form and request that the school send it directly to the Department. (Please see form for instructions.)
- 7. Certificate of Proficiency in Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation/AED Submit a current copy of the front and back of your signed and dated certification card or certificate of Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) and Automated External Defibrillator (AED) program completion. See the Wisconsin Department of Health Services (DHS) website https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ ems/licensing/cpr.htm for a listing of approved programs.
- 8. Convictions and Pending Charges (Form 2252), if applicable.
- 9. Malpractice Suits or Claims (Form 2829) and copies of malpractice suit, court documents with allegations and settlement, if applicable.
- 10. Is name on all credentials the same? If not, submit certified copy of marriage certificate, divorce decree, etc.

Exam Applicants: An applicant who has passed the Central Regional Dental Testing Service examination or other Board-approved examination in clinical and laboratory demonstrations) taken within the 1-year period immediately preceding application may apply via Exam (Wis. Admin. Code § DE 2.01(2)).

Endorsement Applicants: An applicant who holds a license in good standing issued by the proper authorities of any other jurisdiction of the United States or Canada may apply via Endorsement (Wis. Admin. Code § DE 2.04(2)). License must remain active until Wisconsin credentialing process is complete.

ADMINISTRATION OF LOCAL ANESTHESIA AND/OR NITROUS OXIDE

Submit the following additional forms if you wish to administer local anesthesia (Wis. Admin. Code ch. DE 7):

- Apply for Dental Hygiene Certificate (Specialty) to Administer Local Anesthesia online via LicensE, https://license.wi.gov/.
- Local Anesthesia Certificate of Completion (Form 2457)
- Certification of Inferior Alveolar Injection (Form 2458)-only required for dental hygienists who are employed and taking a local anesthesia program as continuing education outside of the initial accredited dental hygiene program. (The administration of local anesthesia on a non-classmate may be performed at the place where the dental hygienist is employed.)

Submit the following additional forms if you wish to administer nitrous oxide (Wis. Admin. Code ch. DE 15):

- Apply for Dental Hygiene Certificate (Specialty) to Administer Nitrous Oxide online via LicensE, https://license.wi.gov/.
- Nitrous Oxide Certificate of Completion (Form 3164)