STATE OF WISCONSIN
DIETITIANS AFFILIATED CREDENTIALING BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF RULEMAKING : ORDER OF THE
PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE : DIETITIANS AFFILIATED
DIETITIANS AFFILIATED : CREDENTIALING BOARD
CREDENTIALING BOARD : ADOPTING RULES

(CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 22-031)

ORDER
An order of the Dietitians Affiliated Credentialing Board to amend DI 2.01 (5) and (6)
(Note); and to create DI 2.03 relating to reciprocal credentials for service members,

former service members, and their spouses.

Analysis prepared by the Department of Safety and Professional Services.

ANALYSIS
Statutes interpreted: Section 440.09, Stats.
Statutory authority: Sections 15.085 (5) (b) and 440.09 (5), Stats.

Explanation of agency authority:

Section 15.085 (5) (b), Stats., provides an affiliated credentialing board “[s]hall
promulgate rules for its own guidance and for the guidance of the trade or profession to
which it pertains...”

Section 440.09 (5), Stats., provides that “[t]he department or credentialing board, as
appropriate, may promulgate rules necessary to implement this section.”

Related statute or rule: None.

Plain language analysis:

The proposed rule creates a provision to implement s. 440.09, Stats., as amended by 2019
Wisconsin Act 143. Section 440.09, Stats., specifies the requirements for issuing
reciprocal credentials to service members, former service members, and the spouses of
service members and former service members. In addition, the proposed rule will revise
s. DI 2.01 (5) to reflect that the American Dietetic Association has been renamed the
Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. A revision to the note found under s. DI 2.01 (6)
updates the department phone number and website.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation: None.
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Summary of public comments received on statement of scope and a description of
how and to what extent those comments and feedback were taken into account in
drafting the proposed rule:

No public comments were received on the statement of scope.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states:

Ilinois:

The Illinois Statutes provide for the expedited licensure of service members and their
spouses (20 ILCS 5/5-715). “Service member” includes a person whose active-duty
service concluded within the 2 years preceding application for licensure. A license issued
to a service member, or the spouse of a service member may be renewed. Rules of the
Ilinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation establish requirements for
licensure as a dietitian nutritionist in Illinois (68 I1l. Adm. Code 1245 Subpart B).

Iowa:

Rules of the Professional Licensure Division of the lowa Department of Public Health
provide for the expedited reciprocal licensure of a veteran or a spouse of an active-duty
service member (645 IAC 645.20.3). A reciprocal license issued to a veteran or a spouse
of an active duty service member may be renewed. Rules of the lowa Board of Dietetics
establish requirements for licensure as a dietitian in lowa (645 IAC 81.4).

Michigan:

The Michigan Statutes provide for temporary licensure of the spouse of an active-duty
service member (MCL 339.213). A temporary license is valid for 6 months and may be
renewed for one additional 6-month term if it is determined the licensee continues to
meet the requirements for temporary licensure and needs additional time to fulfill the
requirements for initial licensure. Public Act 267 of 2014 repealed Michigan’s licensure
requirements for dietitians and nutritionists and eliminated the Michigan Board of
Dietetics and Nutrition.

Minnesota:

The Minnesota Statutes provide for temporary licensure of an individual who is an
active-duty military member, the spouse of an active-duty military member, or a veteran
who has left service in the 2 years preceding the date of license application (2020
Minnesota Statutes, Section 197.4552). A temporary license allows a qualified individual
to perform regulated professional services for a limited length of time as determined by
the applicable licensing board. During the temporary license period, the individual must
complete the full application procedure as required by applicable law. Rules of the
Minnesota Board of Dietetics and Nutrition Practice establishes requirements for
licensure as a dietitian in Minnesota (Minnesota Administrative Rules, 3250.0010).

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:

The rules were developed by reviewing the provisions of 2019 Wisconsin Act 143 in
conjunction with the current rules relating to applications and credentials under ch. DI 2
and obtaining input and feedback from the Dietitians Affiliated Credentialing Board.
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Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in
preparation of economic impact report:

The rules were posted for a period of 14 days to solicit public comment on economic
impact, including how the rules may affect businesses, local government units, and
individuals. No comments were received.

Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis:
The Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis is attached.

Effect on small business:

These proposed rules do not have an economic impact on small businesses, as defined in
s.227.114 (1), Stats. The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be
contacted by email at Jennifer.Garrett@wisconsin.gov, or by calling (608) 266-2112.

Agency contact person:

Nilajah Hardin, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Department of Safety and
Professional Services, Division of Policy Development, 4822 Madison Yards Way, P.O.
Box 8366, Madison, Wisconsin 53708; telephone 608-267-7139; email at
DSPSAdminRules@wisconsin.gov.

TEXT OF RULE

SECTION 1. DI 2.01 (5) and (6) (Note) are amended to read:

DI 2.01 (5) Official verification of having passed the registration examination for
dietitians established by the commission on dietetic registration of the Amertean-dietetie
asseetation academy of nutrition and dietetics, or passes an equivalent examination
approved by the board, and held under s. 448.84, Stats., to determine fitness to practice
dietetics.

(6) (Note) Application forms are-avatable upenrequestte may be obtained from the

Department of Safety and Professional Services; 1400-East-WashingtonAvenue; P-O-
Box8935, Madisen,—Wisconsin53708 by calling (608) 266-2112 or from the

department S web51te at http //dsps Wi, gov An—e%heaws&q&ahﬁed—appkeaﬁ{—w'ﬁh—a

SECTION 2. DI 2.03 is created to read:

DI 2.03 Reciprocal credentials for service members, former service members, and
their spouses. A reciprocal license shall be granted to a service member, former service
member, or the spouse of a service member or former service member who the board
determines meets all of the requirements under s. 440.09 (2), Stats. Subject to s. 440.09
(2m), Stats., the board may request verification necessary to make a determination under
this section.
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Note: Applications for reciprocal licensure may be obtained from the Department of
Safety and Professional Services by calling (608) 266-2112 or from the department’s
website at http://dsps.wi.gov .

SECTION 3. EFFECTIVE DATE. The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on the
first day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register,
pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats.

(END OF TEXT OF RULE)

Dated 2/19/2024 Agency 074/':‘4—' ‘ . C; ’é ,2/'&(

Chairperson
Dietitians Affiliated Credentialing Board
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