Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services

Office Location: 4822 Madison Yards Way

Phone Number: (608) 266-2112

Madison, WI 53705

Email: dsps@wisconsin.gov Website: http://dsps.wi.gov

LicensE Portal: License.wi.gov

MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPY, PROFESSIONAL COUNSELING, AND SOCIAL WORK EXAMINING BOARD

CREDENTIALING INFORMATION FOR SOCIAL WORKER TRAINING CERTIFICATE APPLICANTS

INTRODUCTION

To be eligible for the Social Worker Training Certificate (SWTC), you must have received a Bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university in Psychology, Sociology, Criminal Justice, or other Human Service program approved by the Social Worker Section. Master's degrees in these programs will not be considered.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR OBTAINING A SOCIAL WORKER TRAINING CERTIFICATE

For the SWTC credential to be issued, you will need to submit:

- Application submit application and pay applicable fees online via LicensE. The credential fee is \$10.00.
- Your school will need to submit your transcripts directly to DSPS to verify you hold one of the acceptable degrees.
- If your degree is not pre-approved (Sociology, Psychology, or Criminal Justice), you will also need to submit (Form #2998) to request approval. Once received, this will be reviewed by the Section.

Once your SWTC credential is issued, it is valid for 24 months (2 years). In that time-period, both your experience and required coursework found in Wis. Admin. Code § MPSW 3.13(2) must be completed. Please Note: the experience may only have been done prior to the SWTC permit if it was an internship through a school during the degree program. Otherwise, either internships or experience must be completed within the 2-year credential period. Similarly, coursework may only be completed prior to the SWTC if all five (5) courses were taken during the Bachelor's degree.

- Once coursework is completed, complete (Form #2805) and mail to DSPS. Transcripts including courses must also be submitted directly from the school to our Department (if not previously submitted).
- Submit the Supervisor's Affidavit for Employment/Internship (Form #2802). An official description of the duties performed by the applicant during the internship/employment period must accompany the form. All experience is reviewed by the Social Work Section.

Experience must be completed either during the degree program used for the SWTC (400 hours) or while holding the SWTC (400 hours in not less than one year). Supervisor must have a degree in Social Work and hold a current Social Worker credential in the state of Wisconsin.

A list of approved courses is available online at http://dsps.wi.gov/SWTC Pre-Approved Education. If your coursework is not approved, you must have your school complete and submit Option 2 portion of (Form #2805).

The application forms and materials are available on our website at: http://dsps.wi.gov.

PLEASE NOTE: If you re-apply for the training certificate, coursework and experience will not carry over and will need to be re-completed under your new training certificate. The **only** exception to this is if courses/internship were completed during the Bachelor's degree.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR OBTAINING A "BASIC LEVEL" SOCIAL WORKER CERTIFICATION

The second step of the SWTC, applying for the Social Worker Certification, generally occurs when nearing completion of the SWTC requirements. Applicants apply for the Social Worker Certification via LicensE to obtain access to the WI Statutes and Rules Exam, and National exam authorization. Applying for the Social Work Certification is not a requirement of the SWTC and these steps do not have to happen while the SWTC is valid. The following are required to obtain a Social Work Certification.

- Completed DSPS LicensE application and required fees (The application may be submitted after the training certificate is issued.)
- Evidence of having passed the ASWB Examination. (This information will be forwarded to the Social Worker Section by ASWB upon completion of the exam.)
- Evidence of having passed the Wisconsin Statutes and Administrative Rules Examinations. (This information will be forwarded to the Social Worker Section.)

The application forms and materials are available on our website at: http://dsps.wi.gov.

NATIONAL EXAM INFORMATION

Please Note: If you take the exam post-SWTC completion and fail, you may re-take. Please consider this prior to taking the exam if SWTC is not completed. You may wish to complete your SWTC prior to taking the exam to allow re-examination in the event of a failure.

APPLICATION IS NOT COMPLETE UNTIL ALL OF THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTS HAVE BEEN RECEIVED:

- Complete application and pay applicable fee(s) online via LicensE.
- Official Transcripts
- Social Worker Training Certificate Required Coursework (Form
- Social Work Training Certificate Other Human Services Degree Evaluation Request (Form #2998) (for degree majors other than Psychology, Sociology, and Criminal Justice)
- Letters from all State Boards where licensed, active and inactive
- Convictions and Pending Charges (Form #2252), if applicable
- Malpractice Suits or Claims (Form #2829) and copies of malpractice suit, court documents with allegations and settlement, if applicable
- Supervisor Affidavit/Internship for Employment (Form #2802) along with official position description