Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services
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MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPY, PROFESSIONAL COUNSELING, AND SOCIAL WORK
EXAMINING BOARD

CREDENTIALING INFORMATION FOR LICENSED CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKER APPLICANTS

EDUCATION REQUIREMENT:

An applicant must have a Master’s or Doctorate degree in social work with a concentration in clinical social work, including completion of
supervised clinical field training.

To qualify as Master’s or Doctoral degree in social work with a concentration in clinical social work, the course of study shall include one course
in psychopathology in social work and, two (2) theory and practice courses from among the following:
(a) Case Management

(b) Clinical assessment and treatment of specific populations and problems, such as children, adolescent, elderly, alcohol and drug
abuse, family or couples relationships

(¢) Psychopharmacology

(d)  Psychotherapeutic Interventions

(e)  Electives such as family therapy, social work with groups, sex- or gender-related issues, and topics.
In lieu of supervised clinical field training, applicants may submit an affidavit indicating that they have completed 1,500 hours of supervised
clinical social work experience in not less than one year within a primary clinical setting, which includes at least 500 hours of face-to-face client

contact and is supervised as provided in Wis. Admin. Code § MPSW 4.01. However, this does not eliminate the 3,000 hours of supervised
experience requirement. The dates and hours must not overlap dates and hours indicated on Form #2560 (post-graduate experience).

SUPERVISED EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENT:

Verification of at least 3,000 hours of supervised clinical social work experience, including at least 1,000 hours of face-to-face client contact,
after receiving the Master’s or Doctoral degree. The supervised experience must include DSM diagnosis and treatment of individuals under the
supervision of a supervisor approved by the Social Worker Section and will be accepted only if the applicant was certified at the time as an
Advanced Practice Social Worker or an Independent Social Worker.

Approved supervisors include:

1. A Licensed Clinical Social Worker with a Doctorate degree in social work

A Licensed Clinical Social Worker with a Master’s degree in social work

A Licensed Clinical Social Worker with five (5) years of full-time clinical social work experience
A Psychiatrist or Psychologist
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Another individual approved in advance by the Social Worker Section

THE FOLLOWING ITEMS ARE REQUIRED UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED:

Completed LicensE online application for Clinical Licensed Social Worker.

Pay appropriate fee(s) online via LicensE.

Convictions and Pending Charges (Form #2252), if applicable

Wisconsin Statutes and Rules exam (if not taken within the last 5 years, will be authorized upon receipt of application)
Official transcript showing Master's or Doctorate degree (sent directly from school)

Official transcript for any post-graduate coursework

Supervised clinical field training (Form #2672)
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Documentation of post-graduate clinical experience (Form #2560) (This form must be completed by and sent directly to the
Department by each supervisor.)

]

Verification of Credential (if credentialed in other state(s) or territory(ies), active or inactive status)
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Verification of clinical coursework (Form #2673)
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Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services
RECIPROCAL APPLICANTS:

An application by Reciprocity is solely based on the jurisdictional standards of the state you are coming from compared to the WI
requirements. This determination does not include your individual qualifications. The license must remain active until a comparison
determination is complete. If your state’s requirements do not appear to be equivalent, you may wish to consider applying by exam or
initial licensure. Please note: All applicants have the option of applying by initial license.

Requirements for Reciprocity:

A. Completed LicensE online application for Clinical Licensed Social Worker.

B. Pay appropriate fee(s) online via LicensE.

C. Convictions and Pending Charges (Form #2252), if applicable

D. Wisconsin Statutes and Rules examination

E. Verification of Credential (if credentialed in other state(s) or territory(ies), active or inactive status)
TEMPORARY LICENSE:

A temporary license permits you to practice and use the “Clinical Social Worker” title if you have completed all the requirements for a Clinical
Social Worker except the ASWB national exam. The temporary license is valid for 9 months from the date of issuance.
e A temporary license permits you to practice as a licensed clinical social worker and to use that title.
e  The temporary license expires upon notification of successful completion of the examination or expiration of the 9-month period,
whichever is earlier.

NATIONAL EXAMINATION - ASSOCIATION OF SOCIAL WORKER BOARDS (ASWB):

1. Required of all eligible applicants. If you have already taken the ASWB examination for the same level you are applying for in
Wisconsin, that score will be accepted if sent directly from ASWB. Contact information for ASWB at 1-888-579-3926 or
https://www.aswb.org/.

2. Eligibility will be determined upon receipt of a completed application, appropriate fee, and other requirements.
3. The Department will forward authorization to ASWB and provide examination instructions to the applicant when all requirements have
been met.

4. The ASWB examinations are administered year-round at specific sites within the state. After authorization is forwarded by the
Department, contact ASWB for the dates and further instructions.

If you fail the examination, you will be required to wait 90 days before retaking the examination. Contact ASWB to schedule another
examination date.

If you need re-authorization approval sent to ASWB, please contact the Department of Safety and Professional Services.

WISCONSIN STATUTES AND RULES EXAMINATION:

All applicants are required to pass an open book examination on the Wisconsin Statutes and Rules relating to the practice of social
work. If you have taken this examination within the last 5 years, you do not need to retake this examination.

APPLICATION IS NOT COMPLETE UNTIL ALL OF THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTS HAVE BEEN RECEIVED:

Complete application and pay applicable fee(s) online via LicensE Letters from all State Boards where licensed, active and inactive

e Wisconsin Statutes and Rules Exam (if not taken within the last 5 e Verification of clinical coursework (Form #2673)
years) e Verification of ASWB examination scores (score information must
e Official transcript showing Master’s or Doctorate degree (sent be sent directly from ASWB)
directly from school) e Convictions and Pending Charges (Form #2252), if applicable
e Official transcript for any post-graduate coursework e Malpractice Suits or Claims (Form #2829) and copies of malpractice
Supervised clinical field training (Form #2672) suit, court documents with allegations and settlement, if applicable
e Documentation of post-graduate clinical experience (Form #2560), o [s name on all credentials the same? If not, submit certified copy of
form must be completed by and sent directly to the Department marriage certificate, divorce decree, etc.

by each supervisor.
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