Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services

Office Location: 4822 Madison Yards Way Madison, WI 53705 Phone Number: (608) 266-2112

LicensE Portal: License.wi.gov Email: dsps@wisconsin.gov Website: http://dsps.wi.gov

COSMETOLOGY EXAMINING BOARD

LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT APPLICATION INFORMATION

AN APPLICATION IS NOT COMPLETE UNTIL ALL OF THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTS HAVE BEEN RECEIVED:

- 1. Application for Licensure by Endorsement Apply online via LicensE, https://license.wi.gov/.
- 2. **<u>\$11.00 Initial Credentialing Fee</u>** Pay online LicensE.
- 3. <u>One-hour training course on statutes and rules that apply to practice.</u> Once the one-hour course is complete a Certificate of Completion must be submitted directly from the school. A list of currently approved courses is available on the DSPS website at https://dsps.wi.gov/Documents/COSLawsCourseList.pdf.
- 4. Verification of Licensure (Form 373) Completed by each state in which you have been issued a license. You must hold a current license in at least one state. Form 373 is available on the DSPS website at https://dsps.wi.gov/Credentialing/Business/fm373.pdf.

To Qualify for Licensure by Examination:

If you have not satisfied the endorsement requirements, you will need to qualify for licensure by examination. You will need to apply for the Wisconsin state board exam online with our vendor, DL Roope Administrations Inc., at <u>http://www.dlroope.com/wisconsin.cfm?state=10</u>. Phone: (888) 375-2020.

The fee for the exam is available online at <u>http://www.dlroope.com/wisconsin.cfm?state=10</u> and includes the fee for your first license. Please review the **Candidate Handbook** posted on DL Roope Administrations Inc.'s website for information on how to apply, the content of the exams, etc.

Wis. Stat. § 454.06 requires graduation from a course of instruction in a school licensed in Wisconsin or that is accredited by an accrediting agency approved by the Board.

If you have graduated from a school in another state with the same hours of education as required in this state (see below), you will need to do the following to **qualify for licensure**:

- Apply for and pass the current state board examination (both written and practical) with DL Roope Administrations Inc., (888) 375-2020. The fee for the exam is available online at: <u>http://www.dlroope.com/wisconsin.cfm?state=10</u> and is paid to DL Roope Administrations Inc.
- Contact the school you attended and request that they complete our Certification of Training (Form 3044). This form should be submitted directly to our office (DSPS) by the school. Form 3044 is available on the DSPS website at https://dsps.wi.gov/Credentialing/Business/fm3044.pdf.
- 3. Your information will then be reviewed, and a determination made as to your eligibility for licensure. No additional fee will be required. The licensure fee was included in the exam fee paid to DL Roope Administrations Inc.

If you have graduated from a school in another state with the same hours of education as required in this state (see below), you will need to do the following to qualify for a temporary permit:

- 1. Apply for the current state board examination (**both written and practical**) with DL Roope Administrations Inc. (888) 375-2020. The fee for the exam is available online at: <u>http://www.dlroope.com/wisconsin.cfm?state=10</u> and is paid to DL Roope Administrations Inc. You may also apply for a temporary permit by paying an additional \$10.00 to DL Roope Administrations Inc.
- Contact the school you attended and request that they complete our Certification of Training (Form #3044). This form should be submitted directly to our office (DSPS) by the school. Form 3044 is available on the DSPS website at https://dsps.wi.gov/Credentialing/Business/fm3044.pdf.
- 3. After we have received and approved this form, we will make you eligible for the temporary permit through DL Roope Administrations Inc.

Minimum Hours of Education Required:

- Cosmetologist: 1,550 hours
- Manicurist: 300 hours
- Aesthetician: 450 hours
- Electrologist: 450 hours

Application is not complete until all the following documents have been received:

- Online LicensE Application and fee,
- One-hour training course on statutes and rules that apply to practice,
- Letters from all state boards where licensed (active and inactive),
- Certification (Form 373), and
- Barbering and Cosmetology Convictions (Form 2253), if applicable.