
Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services 

REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS BOARD

REAL ESTATE APPRAISER TEMPORARY REGISTRATION APPLICATION INFORMATION

AN APPLICATION IS NOT COMPLETE UNTIL ALL OF THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTS HAVE BEEN RECEIVED: 

1. Application for Temporary Registration  - Submit real estate appraiser application and request temporary permit online via LicensE,
https://license.wi.gov/.

2. Initial Credentialing Fee - Pay $16 initial credential fee and $10 temporary permit fee online via LicensE.

3. Conviction Review Documents: (if applicable)
Applicants who have previously held a temporary permit in Wisconsin must submit the documents listed below if the prior conviction or
pending charge has not been documented as approved by DSPS within the licensing biennium of 12/15/odd year - 12/14/odd year.
First-time applicants who have been convicted of a felony, misdemeanor, or other violation of federal or state law or have criminal charges
currently pending must submit the documents listed below.

1. Convictions and Pending Charges (Form 2252) and all supporting documentation listed on the form.

2. $8.00 Criminal Investigatory Bureau (CIB) Fee

If you have questions about whether these documents are required for your application, please contact DSPSCredAppraiser@wisconsin.gov. 

Temporary Registration Information 

An Appraiser who holds a current appraiser certificate in another state may use the titles described under Wis. Stat. § 458.055 when performing 
an appraisal in this state, if all of the following apply: 

• The appraisal is performed in a federally related transaction.
• The appraiser’s practice in this state is practice of a temporary nature.
• The appraiser completes the application and pays the fee specified in Wis. Stat. §§ 440.05(1) and (6).

The term “practice of a temporary nature” is defined by the Department to mean the performance of one or more appraisals by an Appraiser 
conducted for purposes of completing a specific appraisal assignment. 

If you will be performing real estate appraisals for federally related transactions in Wisconsin on a regular basis, apply for a Real Estate 
Appraiser credential. 

You will be held accountable for compliance with the appraiser standards as specified in the Wisconsin Statutes and Administrative 
Rules relating to the practice of real estate appraisal. 
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