Office Location: 4822 Madison Yards Way Madison, WI 53705 Phone Number: (608) 266-2112

LicensE Portal: License.wi.gov Email: dsps@wisconsin.gov Website: http://dsps.wi.gov

REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS BOARD

REAL ESTATE APPRAISER APPLICATION INFORMATION

AN APPLICATION IS NOT COMPLETE UNTIL ALL OF THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTS HAVE BEEN RECEIVED:

Initial Applicants

- 1. Application for Real Estate Appraiser License Apply online via LicensE, https://license.wi.gov/.
- 2. Credential Fee Pay \$16.00 credential fee online via LicensE.
- 3. <u>Authorization for Release of FBI Information (Form 2687)</u> Provisions set forth in Title 28, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Section 16.34, require us to notify you that your fingerprints may be used to check the criminal history records with the FBI. Identification records obtained from the FBI may be used solely for the purpose requested and may not be disseminated outside the receiving department, related Agency, or other authorized entity. The Department of Safety and Professional Services does not deny a license based on the information in the record itself, but does require the submittal of a certified copy of the criminal complaint and judgment of conviction in any matter which would appear to be cause for denial of a license.
- 4. <u>Photograph</u> All applicants must attach a recent photograph to the Authorization for Release of FBI Information Form (2687).
- 5. <u>Fingerprints</u> All applicants must submit their fingerprints electronically for a background check. The Department will contact you with details after the application and Form 2687 is received.
- <u>Certification of Completion</u> Submit a photocopy of the Certificate of Completion of the education courses specified in <u>Wis. Admin. Code §</u> <u>SPS 85.800</u>. (See table on Page iv.)
- 7. <u>Education</u> Submit proof of completion of the required college level education. (See table on Page iv.)
- <u>Real Estate Appraisal Experience (Form 1750</u>) Document completion of the required appraisal experience per <u>Wis. Admin. Code § SPS</u> 85.710.
- 9. Real Estate Appraisal Experience Roster (Form 2106) Document required appraisal experience per Wis. Admin. Code § SPS 85.710. An excel spreadsheet is acceptable for submission if it contains the information required.
- 10. <u>Experience</u> The Department will randomly choose three (3) reports for review of experience. You will be mailed a letter requesting these reports.
- 11. Examination on Wisconsin Law An applicant shall successfully complete an online examination on Wisconsin Statutes and Rules relating to the practice of real estate appraisals before a license can be issued in Wisconsin. Information for the online examination will be provided after an application for licensure has been received at DSPS. Scores are valid no more than 24 months per <u>Wis. Admin. Code § SPS 85.600(5)</u>. Pay \$75.00 exam fee online via LicensE.
- 12. <u>National Licensure/Certification Examination</u> Completion of education and experience is required for exam authorization. The Department will issue a letter of eligibility approving the applicant to take the exam. The letter will include instructions on how to schedule an appointment for the exam. The test provider will notify the applicant of the testing fee. Scores are valid no more than 24 months per <u>Wis. Admin. Code § SPS</u> <u>85.600(5)</u>.

When all requirements have been met, the federal registry fee will be assessed.

<u>Reciprocal Applicants</u> (Currently credentialed as a licensed, certified residential or certified general appraiser in another state. Credential must remain active during the Wisconsin credentialing process.)

In addition to submitting the documents listed in 1 through 5 and 11 above, you must submit:

 Verification of AOB Compliance – The Department will verify licenses held, discipline and compliancy with the Appraisers Qualifications Board (AQB) requirements by using the Appraisal Subcommittee (ASC) National Registry. Candidates that are not AQB compliant should refer to the "Initial Applicants" section above.

When all requirements have been met, the federal registry fee will be assessed.

#1749 (Rev. 5/8/2023) Wis. Stat. ch. 458

Applicants currently credentialed in another state with a training certificate (Associate/Registered, etc.): Refer to the "Initial Applicants" section above on Page i.

Applicants currently credentialed as an Appraiser in WI requesting to upgrade:

- 1. Application for Real Estate Appraiser License Apply online via LicensE, https://license.wi.gov/.
- 2. <u>Credential Fee</u> Pay \$16.00 credential fee online via LicensE.
- 3. <u>Education</u> Complete education requirements in addition to those required for current credential held. See "Core Curriculum Table" on Page iv. Provide proof of degree or core classwork certificates.
- 4. <u>Experience</u> Complete additional experience requirements. For example, to move from a Licensed Appraiser to a Certified Residential Appraiser, at least 500 additional hours and six (6) months of experience must be documented.
- 5. <u>National Licensure/Certification Examination</u> Completion of education and experience is required for exam authorization. The Department will issue a letter of eligibility approving the applicant to take the exam. The letter will include instructions on how to schedule an appointment for the exam. The test provider will notify the applicant of the testing fee.

Late Renewal After Five (5) or More Years (Wisconsin credential has been expired more than 5 years.)

If you have an AQB compliant license in any state, complete the following:

- 1. Application for Real Estate Appraiser License Apply online via LicensE, https://license.wi.gov/.
- 2. Late Renewal Credential Fees Pay \$41.00 online (\$16.00 credential fee and \$25.00 late renewal fee)
- 3. <u>Authorization for Release of FBI Information (Form 2687)</u> Provisions set forth in Title 28, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Section 16.34, require us to notify you that your fingerprints may be used to check the criminal history records with the FBI. Identification records obtained from the FBI may be used solely for the purpose requested and may not be disseminated outside the receiving department, related Agency, or other authorized entity. The Department of Safety and Professional Services does not deny a license based on the information in the record itself, but does require the submittal of a certified copy of the criminal complaint and judgment of conviction in any matter which would appear to be cause for denial of a license.
- 4. <u>Photograph</u> All applicants must attach a recent photograph to the Authorization for Release of FBI Information Form (#2687).
- 5. <u>Fingerprints</u> All applicants must submit their fingerprints electronically for a background check. The Department will contact you with details after the application and Form 2687 is received.
- 6. <u>Proof of Continuing Education Completion</u> Evidence of completion of 28 hours of approved continuing education for each biennium license was expired, including the most recent 7-hour national USPAP update course or its AQB-approved equivalent.
- 7. <u>Examination on Wisconsin Law</u> An applicant shall successfully complete an online examination on Wisconsin Statutes and Rules relating to the practice of real estate appraisals before a license can be issued in Wisconsin. Information for the online examination will be provided after an application for licensure has been received at DSPS. Pay \$75.00 exam fee online via LicensE.

If you do not have an AQB compliant license in any state, refer to the "Initial Applicants" section on Page i.

Assessor Experience:

DSPS is authorized under Wis. Stat. § 458.09 to accept assessor experience which it determines to be equivalent to experience as a Licensed, Residential, or General Appraiser.

The Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB) of the Appraisal Foundation has determined experience credit should be awarded to ad valorem tax appraisers who demonstrate that they (1) use techniques to value properties similar to those used by Appraisers, and (2) effectively use the appraisal process. Components of the mass appraisal process that should be given credit are highest and best use analysis, model specification (developing the model), and model calibration (developing adjustments to the model). Other components of the mass appraisal process, by themselves, are not eligible for experience credit.

Mass appraisals must be performed in accordance with Standards Rule 6 of the USPAP. A mass appraisal includes: (1) identifying properties to be appraised, (2) defining market area of consistent behavior that applies to properties, (3) identifying characteristics (supply and demand) that affect the creation of value in that market area, (4) developing a model structure that reflects the relationship among the characteristics affecting value in the market area, (5) calibrating the model structure to determine the contribution of the individual characteristics affecting value, (6) applying the conclusions reflected in the model to the characteristics of the property(ies) being appraised, and (7) reviewing the mass.

The term "Model" is defined in the Glossary section of USPAP. "Mass Appraisal Model" is defined in the definition section. Models are thoroughly discussed in Standards Rule 6-3 and further references can be found in the USPAP Index.

Models developed for Mass Appraisal purposes can include market models for applying the sales comparison approach, cost models for applying the cost approach, and/or income models for applying the income approach to value. Market models are built using sales data so that they replicate the market. They are then used to value all properties in the jurisdiction at market value. Cost models develop a base unit cost (often per square foot or per cubic foot) for representative structures, which then serve as models to derive the base unit cost of the comparable structures being appraised. Appropriate tables of additions and deductions are used to adjust the base cost. Examples of cost models include the Wisconsin Assessors Manual Vol. II, Marshall & Swift Valuation Service Calculator Method, Boeckh Building Valuation Manual, etc.

Submit the following items so that a determination can be made regarding whether the experience claimed is in compliance with USPAP Standard 6:

- 1. Verification of employment as an Assessor.
- 2. A copy of your job description, which identifies the components of your job performance and the hours spent performing each task.
- 3. A signed statement that the work you are submitting is your own and is in compliance with USPAP Standard 6.
- 4. Documentation of each of the following items according to type of credential applying for (certified general, commercial, or industrial properties, licensed or certified residential, or residential properties):
 - a. Highest and best use study: A map of the entire area assessed. Please identify and describe the neighborhood you selected.
 - b. Model specification: Copies of five (5) record cards for improved properties located in the neighborhood you selected, at least two (2) of which must relate to sales parcels, a copy of the model you used, and documentation of the analysis of sales.
 - c. Model calibration: Copies of ratio reports for the neighborhood selected, sales documentation for the neighborhood described, and documentation of how the model performed against at least three (3) unsold subject properties.

NOTE: The copy of the model to be submitted to our office is a copy demonstrating a market model, a replacement cost model, or an income model. Please reference the model you are using and how it was developed.

If documentation of assessor experience cannot be obtained, you can submit appraisal reports at the request of the Department. The Department will choose at random from your roster the reports to be sent in.

Certified General Appraiser:

Submit copies of three (3) commercial appraisals which were performed in compliance with USPAP, as in effect at the time the appraisals were prepared. The Department will request that you identify the standard applied to each report.

Licensed Appraiser and Certified Residential Appraiser:

Submit copies of three (3) residential appraisals which were performed in compliance with the USPAP, as in effect at the time the appraisals were prepared. The Department will request that you identify the standard applied.

Education Requirements

As of May 1, 2018, new education requirements are in effect. The new requirements are listed below. The following chart lists the education requirements for certification/licensure as a Licensed Appraiser, Certified Residential and Certified General Appraiser:

College Level Courses of Degrees from an Accredited College or University		
Licensed	No degree required	
Certified Residential	College-level education meeting requirements under Wis. Admin. Code § SPS 85425. (See Page v.)	
Certified General	Bachelor's degree or higher (in any field)	

Core Curriculum for each Appraiser Level				
Course	Licensed	Certified Residential	Certified General	
Basic Appraisal Principles	30	30	30	
Basic Appraisal Procedures	30	30	30	
15 Hour National USPAP	15	15	15	
Residential Market Analysis, and Highest and Best Use	15	15		
Residential Site Valuation and Cost Approach	15	15		
Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches	30	30		
Residential Report Writing and Case Studies	15	15		
Statistics, Modeling, and Finance		15	15	
Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies		15		
General Appraiser Market Analysis, and Highest and Best Use			30	
General Appraiser Sales Comparison Approach			30	
General Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach			30	
General Appraiser Income Approach			60	
General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies			30	
Appraisal Subject Matter Electives		20	30	
TOTALS	150	200	300	

CERTIFIED RESIDENTIAL PRE-CREDENTIAL EDUCATION INFORMATION

Education comprising one of the following:

- 1. A bachelor's degree or higher in any field of study from an accredited, degree-granting college or university.
- 2. An associate's degree from an accredited, degree-granting college or university in a field of study related to Business Administration, Accounting, Finance, Economics, or Real Estate.
- 3. Successful completion of 30 semester hours of college-level courses from an accredited, degree-granting college or university include all of the following:
 - 1) Three semester hours in English composition.
 - 2) Three semester hours in microeconomics.
 - 3) Three semester hours in macroeconomics.
 - 4) Three semester hours in finance.
 - 5) Three semester hours in algebra, geometry, or higher mathematics.
 - 6) Three semester hours in statistics.
 - 7) Three semester hours in computer science.
 - 8) Three semester hours in business law or real estate law.
 - 9) Two (2) elective courses of 3 semester hours each. Each course shall be in the subject area of accounting, geography, agricultural economics, business management, real estate, or one of the subject areas 1 through 8 above.
 - Successful completion of all of the following CLEP examinations:
 - 1) College Algebra.

4.

- 2) College Composition.
- 3) College Composition Modular.
- 4) College Mathematics.
- 5) Principles of Macroeconomics.
- 6) Principles of Microeconomics.
- 7) Introductory Business Law.
- 8) Information Systems.
- 5. Successful completion of any combination of the college-level courses and examinations under 3 and 4 that is equivalent to at least 30 semester hours and meets requirements set forth in Wis. Admin. Code § SPS 85.425(1)(e).

**The department shall consider an applicant to meet the education requirements if, during the 5 years immediately preceding the date of application, the applicant has been a licensed appraiser and has not been subject to any adverse, final, and nonappealable disciplinary action affecting eligibility to engage in appraisal practice.

For more information regarding Education Requirements please see Wis. Admin. Code § SPS 85.425.