Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services

Office Location: 4822 Madison Yards Way Madison, WI 53705 Phone Number: (608) 266-2112 LicensE Portal: License.wi.gov Email: dsps@wisconsin.gov Website: http://dsps.wi.gov

FUNERAL DIRECTORS EXAMINING BOARD

INFORMATION FOR LATE RENEWAL OF CREDENTIAL APPLICATION

(For applicants whose credential has been expired more than 5 years.)

AN APPLICATION IS NOT COMPLETE UNTIL ALL OF THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTS HAVE BEEN RECEIVED:

- 1. <u>Application for Late Renewal</u> Apply online via LicensE, <u>https://license.wi.gov/</u>. If your credential has been expired more than five years you must apply by Late Renewal.
- 2. Late Renewal Fee The total amount is for the \$60.00 renewal fee plus a \$25.00 late renewal fee. Pay fees online in LicensE.
- 3. <u>Wisconsin State Laws Examination</u> An applicant shall successfully complete an online examination on Wisconsin Statutes and Rules relating to the practice of funeral directing before a license can be issued in Wisconsin. Pay the \$75.00 exam fee online in LicensE.

4. Evidence of One of the Following:

- a. <u>Proof of Current Licensure</u> Submit proof of current licensure as a Funeral Director with an active license in good standing in another state. Submit Verification of Examination or Licensure (Form <u>1576</u>) for the state in which you are issued a current Funeral Director license. The certification form must be sent by the state directly to DSPS.
- b. Proof of Continuing Education Completion If your Funeral Director license has been expired for more than five (5) years but less than ten (10) years and you do not hold an active license in good standing in another state, submit proof of completing required 30 hours of continuing education per Wis. Admin. Code § FD 4.03. The continuing education courses shall have been completed within the four (4) years prior to submitting this application and shall include a minimum of ten (10) hours of in-person instruction.
- c. <u>Pass National Board Examination (NAB) and Continuing Education</u> If your Funeral Director license has been expired for ten (10) years or more and you do not hold an active license in good standing in another state, provide evidence of passage of the National Board Examination of the International Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards within twelve (12) months prior to submitting this application. You must also submit proof of completing required 30 hours of continuing education per <u>Wis. Admin.</u> <u>Code § FD 4.03</u>. The continuing education courses shall have been completed within the four (4) years prior to submitting this application and shall include a minimum of ten (10) hours of in-person instruction.