Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services

Office Location: 4822 Madison Yards Way Madison, WI 53705 Phone Number: (608) 266-2112

Email: dsps@wisconsin.gov Website: http://dsps.wi.gov

LicensE Portal: License.wi.gov

AUCTIONEER BOARD

AUCTIONEER REGISTRATION APPLICATION INFORMATION

AN APPLICATION IS NOT COMPLETE UNTIL ALL OF THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTS HAVE BEEN RECEIVED:

- 1. Application for Auctioneer Registration Apply online via LicensE, https://license.wi.gov/.
- 2. <u>Fee(s)</u> Pay \$47.00 credential fee online via LicensE. (If your Wisconsin credential has been expired more than 5 years, a \$25.00 late renewal fee is also required.)
- 3. Auctioneer Exam Unless exempted based on reciprocity (below), see exam information at https://dsps.wi.gov/Pages/Professions/Auctioneer/Exams.aspx. (Pay the \$126.00 exam fee online via LicensE.) (Note: If your Wisconsin credential has been expired more than 5 years, you must take and pass the registration examination within one year prior to the date of the late renewal application according to Wis. Admin. Code § SPS 121.04(1)(c)3).)

Exam Exemption Based on Reciprocity

Applicants with a current Auctioneer license (not an Apprentice Auctioneer license) in Alabama, Arkansas, Illinois, Kentucky, North Carolina, Ohio, Tennessee, or Texas may request an exam exemption.

- Alabama, Arkansas, Illinois, Kentucky, North Carolina, Tennessee, or Texas Applicant must be licensed/registered as an auctioneer for a period of a least one year and must be in good standing.
- Ohio Applicant must be licensed/registered and in good standing as an auctioneer and has either served an apprenticeship <u>or</u> has been licensed/registered in Ohio for a period of at least one year.

<u>All Applicants</u> - Please reference "Questions and Answers Relating to the Regulation of Auctioneers and Auction Companies in Wisconsin" (<u>Form 2258</u>) and "Advertising Requirements for Wisconsin Auctioneers and Auction Companies" (<u>Form 2259</u>) for more information on Auctioneer and Auction Company requirements.

<u>Temporary Registration Information</u> - In addition to the application for a regular credential (above) applicants who apply to register by examination may request a temporary permit for an additional \$10.00 fee.

A temporary registration certificate issued under <u>Wis. Stat. § 480.08 (7)</u> shall be valid for no more than 60 days after the date that the applicant has filed an application for registration as an auctioneer with the Department. During the 60 days, the temporary registrant must take and pass the exam or, at the end of the 60 days, cease practicing as an auctioneer. The temporary registration cannot be renewed, and the \$10.00 fee is nonrefundable.

Department's Auctioneer web page: https://dsps.wi.gov/Pages/Professions/Auctioneer/Default.aspx

Related Statutes and Administrative Code: https://dsps.wi.gov/Pages/RulesStatutes/Auctioneers.aspx