Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services

Office Location: 4822 Madison Yards Way Madison, WI 53705 Phone Number: (608) 266-2112 LicensE Portal: License.wi.gov Email: dsps@wisconsin.gov Website: http://dsps.wi.gov

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL CREDENTIAL PROCESSING

HOME INSPECTOR REGISTRATION APPLICATION INFORMATION

An applicant is not eligible for examination unless the application and fees are received at the Department at least 30 days before the date of the examination (Wis. Stat. § 440.973(3)).

Before obtaining registration as a Home Inspector, you must take and pass the National Home Inspector Examination administered by the Examining Board of Professional Home Inspectors (EBPHI) and the Wisconsin Home Inspector Statutes and Rules Examination. You may take the national and state exams in any order.

- To schedule an appointment to take the National Home Inspector exam, contact EBPHI directly at http://www.homeinspectionexam.org/ or (800) 733-9267.
- Apply for the state exam by following the application instructions below. The Department will email the instructions and an application ID number.

INITIAL APPLICATION IS NOT COMPLETE UNTIL ALL OF THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTS HAVE BEEN RECEIVED:

- 1. <u>Application for Home Inspector Registration</u> Apply online via LicensE, <u>https://license.wi.gov/</u>.
- 2. Credential and Exam Fees Pay the \$55.00 credential fee and the \$75.00 State Law Exam Fee online via LicensE.
- 3. <u>National Home Inspector Examination</u> Submit proof of passing the national exam administered by EBPHI. [Applicants must pass an examination approved by the Department. In approving an examination, the Department shall consider the use of an examination that is similar to an examination that is required for membership in the American Society of Home Inspectors (<u>Wis. Stat. § 440.973(1)</u>).]
- 4. <u>40 hours of Pre-Registration Instruction</u> See Form <u>2466Attest</u>, Home Inspector Attestation of Pre-Registration Instruction.
- 5. <u>Wisconsin Statutes and Rules Examination</u> An applicant shall successfully complete an online examination on Wisconsin statutes and rules relating to the practice of home inspection before a credential can be issued in Wisconsin. Information to take the online examination will be provided after an application for registration and fees have been received at the Department.
- 6. Convictions and Pending Charges (Form #2252) (if applicable)

<u>RECIPROCAL APPLICATION IS NOT COMPLETE UNTIL ALL OF THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTS HAVE BEEN</u> <u>RECEIVED</u>:

- 1. Application for Home Inspector Registration Apply online via LicensE, https://license.wi.gov/.
- 2. <u>Credential and Exam Fees</u> Pay the \$55.00 credential fee and the \$75.00 State Law Exam Fee online via LicensE.
- 3. Convictions and Pending Charges (Form 2252) (if applicable).
- 4. National Home Inspector Examination Submit proof of passing the national exam administered by EBPHI. [Applicants must pass an examination approved by the Department. In approving an examination, the Department shall consider the use of an examination that is similar to an examination that is required for membership in the American Society of Home Inspectors (Wis. Stat. § 440.973 (1)).]
- 5. <u>Wisconsin Statutes and Rules Examination</u> An applicant shall successfully complete an online examination on Wisconsin statutes and rules relating to the practice of home inspection before a credential can be issued in Wisconsin. Information to take the online examination will be provided after an application for registration and fees have been received at the Department.
- 6. <u>Registration/Licensure in Orther State(s)</u> To apply via reciprocity, proof of registration/licensure in good standing as a home inspector in another state is required. For every state where you have ever been registered/licensed, contact the state(s) where registered/licensed and request that a verification and a statement regarding discipline be sent directly to the Department.

<u>Please Note</u> The requirements of the state where you are registered/licensed will be reviewed by the Department to determine if they meet or exceed Wisconsin requirements per <u>Wis. Stat. § 440.972(1m)</u>.

#2466 (Rev. 7/5/2023) Wis. Stat. ch. 440

Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services

REINSTATEMENT APPLICATION IS NOT COMPLETE UNTIL ALL OF THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTS HAVE

BEEN RECEIVED (WI registration expired more than 5 years)

- 1. Application for Home Inspector Registration Apply online via LicensE, https://license.wi.gov/.
- 2. <u>Credential and Exam Fees</u> Pay the \$55.00 credential fee and the \$75.00 State Law Exam Fee online via LicensE. If you credential has been expired more than 5 years a \$25.00 late renewal fee is required.
- 3. <u>Wisconsin Statutes and Rules Examination</u> An applicant shall successfully complete an online examination on Wisconsin statutes and rules relating to the practice of home inspection before a credential can be issued in Wisconsin. Information to take the online examination will be provided after an application for registration and fees have been received at the Department.
- 4. Convictions and Pending Charges (Form #2252) (if applicable)
- 5. <u>Registration/Licensure in Other State(s)</u> (If applicable) If you have ever been registered/licensed in another state, contact the state(s) where registered/licensed and request that verification and a statement regarding discipline be sent directly to the Department.

<u>Please note</u>: The Department may also require demonstration of competence by various methods including, but not limited to, written or oral examination, documentation of home inspection in other jurisdictions, or documentation of current education or experience in the field (<u>Wis. Admin. Code § 131.14</u>).