Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services

Office Location: 4822 Madison Yards Way Madison, WI 53705 Phone Number: (608) 266-2112 LicensE Portal: License.wi.gov Email: dsps@wisconsin.gov Website: http://dsps.wi.gov

FUNERAL DIRECTORS EXAMINING BOARD

INFORMATION FOR COMPLETING FUNERAL DIRECTOR LICENSE APPLICATION

AN APPLICATION IS NOT COMPLETE UNTIL ALL OF THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTS HAVE BEEN RECEIVED:

Initial Applicants

- 1. Application for Funeral Director License Apply online via LicensE, https://license.wi.gov/.
- 2. Initial Credentialing Fee Pay \$60.00 credential fee online via LicensE.
- 3. Official Transcripts Evidence of completion of at least 24 semester credits of instruction specified in Wis. Stat. § 445.045(1)(d). An applicant shall submit to the board an official transcript of courses from a regionally accredited college showing that the applicant has completed at least 24 semester credit hours in the following areas: English or Communication Skills; Social Sciences; Natural Sciences; Business Studies; and electives (Wis. Admin. Code § FD 1.04). Transcripts must be forwarded directly by the college to you. Unofficial copies of transcripts are not acceptable.
- 4. <u>Mortuary Science Course Completion</u> Evidence of satisfactory completion of 9 months or more instruction in a prescribed curriculum in funeral service education, either before or after completing the 1-year apprenticeship required under <u>Wis. Stat. § 445.095</u>, offered by an educational institution accredited by the American board of funeral service education or otherwise deemed to be equivalent by the funeral directors examining board (<u>Wis. Admin. Code § FD 1.05</u>).
- 5. <u>Apprenticeship Completion</u> Evidence of completion of a one (1) year apprenticeship under <u>Wis. Stat. § 445.095</u> and <u>Wis. Admin. Code</u> § FD 1.077.
- 6. National Board Examination (NBE) All applicants for initial licensure must pass the NBE.
- 7. <u>Wisconsin State Laws Examination</u> An applicant shall successfully complete an online examination on Wisconsin Statutes and Rules relating to the practice of funeral directing before a license can be issued in Wisconsin.

<u>Reciprocal Applicants</u> A person licensed as a funeral director in another state may obtain a license if the applicant holds a valid funeral director's license in good standing from another state having requirements determined by the board to be substantially equivalent to the requirements prescribed in <u>Wis. Stat. § 445.045</u> and <u>Wis. Admin Code ch. FD 1</u>. Note: License from other state must remain current and in good standing until Wisconsin credentialing process is complete.

- 1. <u>Application for Funeral Director License</u> Apply online via LicensE, <u>https://license.wi.gov/</u>.
- 2. <u>Credentialing Fee</u> Pay the \$60.00 application fee online via LicensE.
- 3. <u>Verification of Examination or Registration (Form 1576</u>) Must be completed by each state licensing Board or agency in which you hold a credential. A photocopy of the credential is not acceptable.
- 4. <u>Wisconsin State Laws Examination (Form 1590)</u> Submit evidence of passage of the Wisconsin State Laws Examination (also referred to as the WI jurisprudence examination) for Funeral Directors. The NBE is not required for reciprocal applicants.

Funeral Director web page: <u>https://dsps.wi.gov/Pages/Professions/FuneralDirector/Default.aspx</u> Related Statutes and Administrative Code: https://dsps.wi.gov/Pages/RulesStatutes/FD.aspx