# Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services

Office Location: 4822 Madison Yards Way

LicensE Portal: License.wi.gov

Madison, WI 53705
Phone Number: (608) 266-2112
Email: dsps@wisconsin.gov
Website: http://dsps.wi.gov

## DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL CREDENTIAL PROCESSING

### FIREARMS CERTIFICATION OF PROFICIENCY PERMIT APPLICATION INFORMATION

This form is required for Initial Certification in Wisconsin for any other situation when a person is required to obtain the complete 36-hour firearms training course before carrying a firearm while on duty as a Private Security Person or Private Detective.

An owner or officer of a licensed Private Detective Agency (**note that Private Security Companies are licensed as Private Detective Agencies**) must obtain a permit from the Department of Safety and Professional Services for each officer or employee who will carry a firearm while on duty as a Private Security Person, except as provided in Wis. Admin. Code §§ SPS 34.01 (5) to (8).

The permit is based on the certification of a Department approved Firearms Proficiency Certifier that the owner or employee has successfully completed required firearms training. It is also conditioned on the following:

- The circumstances of an assignment give rise to a substantial need for being armed.
- The agency has submitted a firearms policy to the Department.
- The owner or employee is not prohibited from possessing a firearm by state of federal law.

## **Initial or Renewal of Permit:**

Application for Firearms Certification of Proficiency: Apply online via LicensE, https://license.wi.gov/.

<u>Firearms Training Program Verification (Form 4679)</u>: Must be signed by an owner or officer of the Private Detective/Security Agency and the Firearms Certifier.

All applicants must attach a copy of the Private Security Permit issued by a Wisconsin Law Enforcement Agency, except those who are licensed Private Detectives.

#### Training Requirements for a Person who will Carry a Firearm:

- Initial: A person obtaining an initial permit must have successfully completed the required 36 hours of training per Wis. Admin. Code § SPS 34.03.
- **Renewal:** A person renewing a permit must complete a 6-hour refresher course.
- Late Renewal After Five (5) or More Years: Per Wis. Admin. Code § SPS 34.02(4), an owner or employee who has not obtained a certificate of proficiency at any time during the 5 years preceding the issuance of a permit by the Department shall obtain a new certificate by successfully completing the full 36-hour course, as required in Wis. Admin. Code § SPS 34.03.
- A person from another licensing jurisdiction (state, province, etc.) for whom an initial permit is being obtained in Wisconsin may satisfy the training requirement by successfully completing the 6-hour refresher course, provided that the following conditions apply:
  - The person received at least 30 hours of firearms training in the other jurisdiction.
  - The person was authorized by the other jurisdiction or a governmental agency to carry a firearm while on duty as a Peace Officer, a Security Person, or a Private Detective at any time during the five (5) years preceding application for a permit.

Conviction of Crime: A person, who has been convicted of a felony, unless pardoned, may not receive a Firearms Permit from the Department. A person who has been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence, unless pardoned, may not receive a Firearms Permit from the Department per 18 U.S.C. § 922(g)(9). A person who has been convicted of one (1) or more misdemeanors may be approved, depending on the nature of the crime, the number of crimes, and evidence of rehabilitation.

If an applicant was EVER convicted of a felony in Wisconsin or any other state and not pardoned, the applicant's application will be denied. There are no exceptions.

<u>Approved Firearms Certifiers</u>: Firearms Certifiers must be approved by the Department before certifying that a person has completed the required firearms training. Complete and submit the Application for Approval of Firearms Proficiency Certifier online via LicensE to apply for a Firearms Certifier license. The Department maintains a current list of approved Firearms Proficiency Certifiers. (See Approved Firearms Instructors, Form 2698.)

#467 (Rev. 5/8/2023)
Wis. Stat. § 440.26

(RC 503)