Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services

Office Location: 4822 Madison Yards Way
Madison WI 53705

Madison, WI 53705 Email: dsps@wisconsin.gov Phone Number: (608) 266-2112 Website: http://dsps.wi.gov

REAL ESTATE EXAMINING BOARD

REAL ESTATE BROKER LICENSE APPLICATION INFORMATION

To schedule an examination: Contact Pearson VUE directly at www.pearsonvue.com/wi/realestate/ or 1-888-204-6284.

Nonresident Applicants Applying for a Broker License: Complete the Irrevocable Consent by Nonresidents (Form 813). Nonresident Brokers who will be associated with a licensed Wisconsin firm located in this state must note this in their applications. Form 3036 is required.

All Broker Applicants: If you have a prospective firm Form 3036 is required. If the license is issued without registering a firm Form 812 and a \$10.00 fee are required to associate with a firm. See "Guide for Employer/Association for a Real Estate Salesperson and Real Estate Broker" for further information.

AN APPLICATION IS NOT COMPLETE UNTIL ALL OF THE INDICATED DOCUMENTS HAVE BEEN RECEIVED:

Initial License – Applicants Who Never Held a Broker License

- 1. Application for Real Estate Broker License Apply online via LicensE, https://license.wi.gov/.
- 2. Initial Credentialing Fee Pay \$60.00 credential fee online via LicensE.
- 3. **Proof of Education Completion -** Upload <u>one</u> of the following as proof of completion of the education requirement:
 - Copy of certificate of completion of a Board approved 72-hour pre-license education program for Broker.
 - Completion of nonresident Broker equivalency under Wis. Admin. Code § REEB 25.028.
 - Copy of transcript showing 20 academic semester hour credits completed at an institution of higher learning in real estate or real estate related law. A quarter hour credit equals 2/3 of a semester hour credit.
 - Evidence that you are licensed to practice law in Wisconsin.
- 4. Evidence of Passing the Broker Examination Upload a copy of your Pearson VUE certificate showing that you passed the Broker exam.
- 5. Nonresident applicants Submit Form 813 for Irrevocable Consent for Nonresidents.

Reciprocity - Applicants Holding a Current Broker License in Illinois or Indiana

- 1. Application for Real Estate Broker License Apply online via LicensE, https://license.wi.gov/.
- 2. **Reciprocity Fee -** Pay \$60.00 credential fee online via LicensE.
- 3. **Evidence of Passing the WI Broker Examination -** Upload a copy of your certificate from Pearson VUE showing that you passed the Wisconsin Broker exam.
- 4. Active Broker License Evidence that you hold an active Broker* license in good standing obtained by examination in Illinois or Indiana. *In Illinois, a Broker-Manager is the equivalent of a Wisconsin Broker.
- 5. Nonresident applicants Upload Form 813 for Irrevocable Consent for Nonresidents.

Endorsement - Applicants Who Have Held a Broker License in Another State for at Least Two (2) Years within the Last Four (4) Years

- 1. Application for Real Estate Broker License Apply online via LicensE.
- 2. **Initial Credentialing Fee -** Pay \$60.00 credentialing fee online via LicensE.
- 3. Verification of Examination or Registration (Form 2688) Completed by each state in which you have been issued a license.
- 4. **Proof of Education Completion -** Upload <u>one</u> of the following as proof of completion of the education requirement:
 - Copy of certificate of completion of a Board approved Broker's 6-hour education program and a Board approved 13-hour pre-license education program for Salespersons.
 - Copy of transcript showing 20 academic semester hour credits completed at an institution of higher learning in real estate or real estate related law. A quarter hour credit equals 2/3 of a semester hour credit.
 - Evidence that you are licensed to practice law in Wisconsin.
- 5. **Evidence of Passing the WI Broker Examination -** Upload a copy of your Pearson VUE certificate showing that you passed the Wisconsin Broker exam.
- 6. **Salesperson License or Exam** Evidence that you are a licensed Wisconsin Salesperson or have passed the Salesperson exam. If you are not a licensed Salesperson, you will also have to submit a copy of your certificate from Pearson VUE showing you passed the Salesperson exam.
- 7. Nonresident applicants Upload Form 813 for Irrevocable Consent for Nonresidents.

TRUST ACCOUNT: You are not required to maintain a Trust Account before you receive monies in the capacity of a firm. However, Real Estate Trust Funds must be deposited in a Wisconsin bank, savings and loan association or credit union within 48 hours of receipt (or the next business day of a depository institution if it is closed on the day of receipt), and a Consent to Examine and Audit Trust Account (Form 814) must be completed by you and the depository institution and submitted to the Department within 10-days after opening the account.

#809 (Rev. 1/19/2024)
Wis. Stat. ch. 452

(RC 90)