# Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services

Mail To: P.O. Box 8935 Madison, WI 53708-8935

FAX #: (608) 251-3036 Phone #: (608) 266-2112 4822 Madison Yards Way Madison, WI 53705 E-Mail: dsps@wisconsin.gov Website: http://dsps.wi.gov

### MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPY, PROFESSIONAL COUNSELING, AND SOCIAL WORK EXAMINING BOARD

### LICENSED CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKER INFORMATION FOR APPLICATION

The Wisconsin Statutes provide that the Social Worker Section will grant a Clinical Social Worker License to any applicant who submits an application, pays the required fee, satisfies the education and supervised experience requirements, passes the jurisprudence examination, and passes the clinical level national examination of the Association of Social Worker Boards (ASWB).

### **EDUCATION REQUIREMENT:**

An applicant must have a master's or doctorate degree in social work with a concentration in clinical social work, including completion of supervised clinical field training:

- To qualify as master's or doctoral degree in social work with a concentration in clinical social work, the course of study shall include one course in psychopathology in social work and, 2 theory and practice courses from among the following:
  - (a) Case management.
  - (b) Psychopathology in social work.
  - (c) Clinical assessment and treatment of specific populations and problems, such as children, adolescent, elderly, alcohol and drug abuse, family or couples relationships.
  - (d) Psychopharmacology.
  - (e) Psychotherapeutic interventions.
  - (f) Electives such as family therapy, social work with groups, sex- or gender-related issues, and topics.
- In lieu of supervised clinical field training, applicants may submit an affidavit indicating that they have completed 1,500 hours of supervised clinical social work experience in not less than one year within a primary clinical setting, which includes at least 500 hours of face-to-face client contact and is supervised as provided in s. MPSW 4.01. However, this does not eliminate the 3,000 hours of supervised experience requirement.

### **SUPERVISED EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENT:**

Verification of at least 3,000 hours of supervised clinical social work experience, including at least 1,000 hours of face-to-face client contact, after receiving the master's or doctoral degree. The supervised experience must include DSM diagnosis and treatment of individuals under the supervision of a supervisor approved by the social worker section and, will be accepted only if the applicant was certified at the time as an Advanced Practice Social Worker or an Independent Social Worker.

#### Approved supervisors include:

- 1. A Licensed Clinical Social Worker with a doctorate degree in social work.
- 2. A Licensed Clinical Social Worker with a master's degree in social work.
- 3. A Licensed Clinical Social Worker with 5 years of full-time clinical social work experience.
- 4. A psychiatrist or psychologist.
- 5. Another individual approved <u>in advance</u> by the Social Worker section.

### THE FOLLOWING ITEMS ARE REQUIRED UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED:

- A. Completed Application (Form #2681)
- B. Appropriate fee
- C. Addendum to Form #2681 (Social Security Number)
- D. Convictions and Pending Charges Form #2252 (if applicable)
- E. Wisconsin Statutes and Rules exam (if not taken within last 5 years)
- F. Official transcript showing master's or doctorate degree (sent directly from school)
- G. Official transcript for any post-graduate coursework
- H. Supervised clinical field training (Form #2672)
- I. Documentation of post-graduate clinical experience (Form #2560) (This form must be completed by supervisor.)
- J. Verification of Credential Form #3083 (if credentialed in other state(s) or territory(ies), active or inactive status)
- K. Verification of clinical coursework (Form #2673)
- L. Verification of ASWB examination scores (score information must be sent directly from ASWB)

## Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services

### **<u>RECIPROCAL APPLICANTS</u>**:

Application by Reciprocity is solely based on the jurisdictional standards of the state you are coming from compared to the WI requirements. This determination does not include your individual qualifications. If your state's requirements do not appear to be substantially equivalent, you may wish to consider applying by exam or initial licensure. <u>Please note: All applicants have the option of applying by initial license</u>.

Requirements for reciprocity:

- A. Completed Application (Form #2681)
- B. Appropriate fee
- C. Addendum to Form #2681 (Social Security Number)
- D. Convictions and Pending Charges Form #2252 (if applicable)
- E. Wisconsin Statutes and Rules examination
- F. Verification of Credential Form #3083 (if credentialed in other state(s) or territory(ies), active or inactive status)

### **TEMPORARY LICENSE:**

A temporary license permits you to practice and use the "clinical social worker" title if you have completed all the requirements for a clinical social worker except the ASWB national exam. The Temporary License is <u>valid for 9 months</u> from the date of issuance.

- A Temporary License permits you to practice as a licensed clinical social worker and to use that title.
- The temporary credential expires upon notification of successful completion of the examination or expiration of the 9-month period, whichever is earlier.

### NATIONAL EXAMINATION: ASSOCIATION OF SOCIAL WORKER BOARDS (ASWB):

- 1. Required of all eligible applicants. If you have already taken the ASWB examination for the same level you are applying for in Wisconsin, that score will be accepted **if sent directly from ASWB**. Contact information for ASWB may be found under "study guides" below.
- 2. Eligibility will be determined upon receipt of a completed application and appropriate fee.
- 3. The Department will approve applicants to take the exam upon receipt of a completed application and appropriate fee.
- 4. The ASWB examinations are administered year round at specific sites within the state. After receipt of the approval letter, contact ASWB after 5 workdays at 1-888-579-3926 for the dates and further instructions.

If you fail the examination, you will be required to wait 90 days before retaking the examination. Call ASWB to schedule another examination date.

If you need re-authorization approval sent to ASWB, please contact the Department of Safety and Professional Services <u>at dspscredjointbd@wi.gov</u>.

## WISCONSIN STATUTES AND RULES EXAMINATION:

All applicants are required to pass an open book examination on the Wisconsin Statutes and Rules relating to the practice of social work. If you have taken this examination within the last 5 years, you do not need to retake this examination.

The Wis. Stats. and administrative rules can be obtained from the department internet site at <u>http://dsps.wi.gov</u>. You will need the most current edition. This contains information needed to answer the exam questions. This is available online or through <u>Document Sales</u>. Before you choose to use the online version while taking the exam, try the practice to make sure you can easily navigate between the exam and the codebook.

### Exam Instructions

### **Password:**

About 10 days after receipt of your completed application at DRL, you will be assigned an exam password, form instructor and ten digit ID. See <u>your on-line application status</u> checklist to obtain this information. You will need it to start the test.

MAIL APPLICATION AND REQUIRED DOCUMENTS TO:
SOCIAL WORK SECTION
WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND
PROFESSIONAL SERVICES
P.O. BOX 8935
MADISON, WI 53708-8935

EXPRESS DELIVERY: SOCIAL WORK SECTION DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND PROFESSIONAL SERVICES 4822 MADISON YARDS WAY MADISON, WI 53705

To view the status of your application go to the department website at http://dsps.wi.gov.