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MASSAGE THERAPY AND BODYWORK THERAPY CREDENTIALING BOARD
INFORMATION FOR MASSAGE THERAPIST OR BODYWORK THERAPIST

LICENSURE ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS BASED ON METHOD OF APPLICATION:

Licensure by Examination or Re-Registration: An applicant is eligible for licensure as a Massage Therapist or Bodywork Therapist if the
applicant:
1. Completes and submits Application (Form #2960) and pays the fee specified in Wis. Stat. § 440.05(1).

2. Submits a copy of current CPR/AED certificate from a DHS approved provider. For a listing of approved providers go to
http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/License_certification/CPR.htm.

Is 18 years of age or older.

4. Has graduated from high school or attained high school graduation equivalency as determined by the Department of Public Instruction
under Wis. Stat. § 115.29(4). Complete Massage Therapy and Bodywork Therapy Program Curriculum (Form #2962). This form
must be completed by your school and returned directly to the Department. If your school is not Educational Approval Program (EAP)
approved, you must also submit an official transcript.

5. Passes the Wisconsin State Law Examination: The Wisconsin Massage Therapy and Bodywork Therapy State Law Exam is an
on-line open book examination on the Wisconsin Statutes and Administrative Codes that govern Massage Therapists and Bodywork
Therapists. Candidates will be assigned an I1D#, test name, and password after submitting an application.

Important: (for Graduates from W1 State Schools on or After 1/1/2012) You are required to take and pass this exam as a
prerequisite to graduation. Your Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy school should notify students when and where to complete
the exam; it is recommended that the applicant complete the exam as soon as reasonable. Upon completion of the exam, the applicant
will be presented with the option to “Print test feedback report.” The applicant must choose this option (“Print test feedback report”)
to have the exam score available for review by the school (do not submit to DSPS). DSPS does not have the ability to recall a
score. If the applicant fails to print the test feedback report when given the option, the applicant will be required to retake the exam
and pay an additional fee.

6. Has in effect malpractice liability insurance coverage in an amount that is not less than $1,000,000 per occurrence and $1,000,000 for
all occurrences in one year. Malpractice Liability Insurance: All applicants are required to submit a copy of a current certificate of
malpractice liability insurance, which shows the amounts of coverage and expiration date.

7. Has not been convicted of an offense under Wis. Stat. 8§ 940.22, 940.225, 944.15, 944.17, 944.30, 944.31, 944.32, 944.33, 944.34,
948.02, 948.025, 948.08, 948.085, 948.09, 948.095, 948.10, or a comparable offense under federal law or a law of any other state.

8. Subject to Wis. Stat. 88 111.321, 111.322 and 111.335, has not been convicted of any other offense not listed in item (7) above, the
circumstances of which substantially relate to the practice of Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy.
9. Has passed one of the following nationally administrated examinations (exam applicants only):

National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage

National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork

Asian Bodywork Therapy Examination of the National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine
Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination

National Score Report: NCBTMB, NCCAOM, or FSMBT

Applicants who passed either of the National Certification Examinations of the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and
Bodywork (NCBTMB). Complete NCBTMB Official Score Report Request Form. Attach appropriate fee and forward to address indicated on
form. Forms are available at http://www.ncbtmb.org. Your scores must be returned directly to the Department from NCBTMB. Scores
received from the applicant will not be accepted.

Applicants who have passed the Asian Bodywork Therapy Exam of the National Certification Commission of Acupuncture and Oriental
Medicine (NCCAOM)

Complete NCCAOM Request Form. Attach appropriate fee and forward to address indicated on form.

Forms are available at http://www.nccaom.org. Your scores must be returned directly to the Department from NCCAOM. Scores received from
the applicant will not be accepted.
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Applicants who have passed the Federation of State Massage Therapy Board’s (FSMTB) Massage and Bodywork Licensing
Examination (MBLEX)

Complete Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination Mobility Form. Attach appropriate fee and forward to address indicated on form.

Forms are available at http://www.fsmtb.org. Your scores must be returned directly to the Department from FSMTB. Scores received from the
applicant will not be accepted.

Temporary Licensure

This provision applies only to those eligible for licensure by examination and who meet all other requirements for licensure, but who have not
yet received scores from an approved nationally administered entry-level competency assessment examination.

A temporary license expires 6 months after the date of issuance or when the Department receives notice that the temporary licensee has failed or
passed the examination required by Wis. Stat. § 460.06, whichever is first.

a. A temporary license may not be renewed; and

b.  No person shall be issued more than one temporary license.

Practice under a temporary license shall be under the supervision of a licensed Massage Therapist or Bodywork Therapist, at the level of general,
direct, or direct one-on-one supervision as necessary to avoid unacceptable risk of harm to the client. The supervising Massage Therapist or
Bodywork Therapist is responsible for determining the level of supervision necessary to avoid unacceptable risk of harm to the client and is
responsible for the acts of the temporary licensee.

The supervisor may be subject to discipline for failure to appropriately supervise the temporary licensee and/or for failure to ensure that, the
temporary licensee adheres to the Board’s rules and the standards of minimal competence.

The supervisor responsible for the temporary licensee shall ensure that clients know the temporary licensee is not fully licensed and that the
supervisor is ultimately responsible for the care provided. It is recommended that this information be documented in the client record.

Licensure by Reciprocity: An applicant is eligible for reciprocal licensure as a Massage Therapist or Bodywork Therapist if the applicant:

1. Completes and submits Application (Form #2960) and pays the fee specified in Wis. Stat. § 440.05(1).

2. Holds a current similar license, registration or certificate to practice Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy in another U.S. state or
territory or another country, the requirements for which are substantially equivalent to the requirements under Wis. Stat. § 460.05.

“Substantially Equivalent” means the requirements must include either of the following:
e  Certification by the NCBTMB or any other organization accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies to
certify Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy; or
e  Completion of at least 600 classroom hours of instruction in Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy at a school approved by
an accrediting agency.

3. Submits a copy of the rules and regulations currently in effect pertaining to the practice of Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy in
the jurisdiction from which the applicant wishes to reciprocate.

4. Submits verification of a current license, registration or certification issued by another U.S. state or territory or province of another
country. You are required to have each jurisdiction in which you have ever been credentialed submit letters of verification to DSPS.
The letters must indicate your date of birth, credential number, date of issuance, and a statement regarding disciplinary actions. City or
county certification/licensure does not meet the State licensure requirement, nor will you need to submit verification from these
jurisdictions.

5. Passes the Wisconsin State Law Examination: The Wisconsin Massage Therapy and Bodywork Therapy State Law Exam is an
online open book examination on the Wisconsin Statutes and Administrative Codes that govern Massage Therapists and Bodywork
Therapists. Candidates will be assigned an I1D#, test name, and password after applying.

6. Has not been convicted of an offense under Wis. Stat. 8§ 940.22, 940.225, 944.15, 944.17, 944.30, 944.31, 944.32, 944.33, 944.34,
948.02, 948.025, 948.08, 948.085, 948.09, 948.095, 948.10, or a comparable offense under federal law or a law of any other state.

7. Subject to Wis. Stat. 88 111.321, 111.322 and 111.335, has not been convicted of any other offense not listed in Item (6) above, the
circumstances of which substantially relate to the practice of Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy.

8. Has in effect malpractice liability insurance coverage in an amount that is not less than $1,000,000 per occurrence and $1,000,000 for
all occurrences in one year. Malpractice Liability Insurance: All applicants are required to submit a copy of a current certificate of
malpractice liability insurance, which shows the amounts of coverage and expiration date.

9. Submit a copy of current CPR/AED certificate from a DHS approved provider. For a listing of approved providers go to
https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/licensing/cpr.htm.

10. Has not engaged in conduct while practicing Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy that jeopardizes the health, safety, or welfare of a
client or that evidences a lack of knowledge of, inability to apply, or the negligent application of, principles or skills of Massage
Therapy or Bodywork Therapy.
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MASSAGE THERAPY AND BODYWORK THERAPY CREDENTIALING BOARD
APPLICATION FOR MASSAGE THERAPIST OR BODYWORK THERAPIST LICENSURE
The Department must deny your application if you are liable for delinquent state taxes, Ul contributions, or child support (Wis. Stat. 8§ 440.12 and 440.13).

Your name, address, telephone number, and email address are available to the public. Check box to withhold address,

PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT IN INK O telephone number, and email address from lists of 10 or more credential holders (Wis. Stat. § 440.14).

Last Name First Name Ml Former / Maiden Name(s)
Address (street, city, state, zip) Daytime Telephone Number
Mailing Address (if different) Date of Birth
p L]

Social Security Number You_r So_mal Secquty Number or Employer Identlf_lcatlon N'umber must be submitted with your
application on this form. If you do not have a Social Security Number, you must complete
| | | | | | | | | Form #1051. The Department may not disclose the Social Security Number collected except
- - as authorized by law.

Ethnicity/gender status information is optional.

Ethnicity: ] White, not of Hispanic origin [J American Indian or Alaskan [ Hispanic
[ Black, not of Hispanic origin [ Asian or Pacific Islander [] other
Sex: LM OIF

Email Address

Have you ever been licensed in Wl asa Massage [ ]Yes []No If yes, provide credential number:
Therapist or Bodywork Therapist?

Name of Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy School Date Completed (or anticipated comrletion date)

| Ny

School Address (street, city, state)

APPLICATION FEES: Please check applicable box. Make check payable to DSPS and For Receipting Use Only (146)
attach to this application.

[ I am seeking a Veteran Fee Waiver (for Initial Credential Fee only, see page 2
for further information)

[0  Licensure by Examination (applicants who have passed or plan to take a
nationally administered entry-level competency assessment examination that
meets generally accepted psychometric principles and standards)
$ 75.00 Credential Fee
$ 75.00 State Law Exam
$150.00 DSPS Total Fee Attached

[0  Request for a Temporary License (required in addition to the above DSPS Total
Fee and is non-refundable)
$ 10.00 Fee (This provision only applies to those eligible for licensure by
examination. Applicant must have met all other requirements for licensure except
they have not received scores from an approved national examination.)

[  Licensure by Reciprocity [ Re-Registration (License expired
(applicants who have a similar more than five (5) years)
license or credential issued by $ 75.00 Credential Fee
another U.S. state or territory $ 25.00 Late Renewal Fee
another county that is substantially $ 75.00 State Law Exam
equivalent) $175.00 DSPS Total Fee Attached

$ 75.00 Credential Fee
$ 75.00 State Law Exam
$150.00 DSPS Total Fee Attached
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APPLICATION ISNOT COMPLETE UNTIL ALL OF THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTS HAVE BEEN RECEIVED:

O Application (Form #2960) and appropriate fee O \verification of licensure or certification from another state

0 copy (front and back) of current CPR/AED card from DHS submitted directly from that state(s) board(s).
approved provider O Proof of passing National exam received directly from

[0 Passage of the Wisconsin Statutes and Rules Exam National Exam Services (exam applicants only)

[0 Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy Program Curriculum O Convictions and Pending Charges (Form #2252), if applicable
(Form #2962) (exam and re-registration applicants only) and O suits or Claims (Form #2829) and copies of malpractice suit,
official transcripts if required. court documents with allegations and settlement, if applicable

O Copy of Certificate of Insurance for malpractice liability policy

showing applicant as policyholder and insured with coverage not
less than $1,000,000 per occurrence and $1,000,000 for all
occurrences in one year.

ARE YOU A VETERAN? If yes, please view the Department website at https://dsps.wi.gov/Pages/Professions/MilitaryL icensureBenefits.aspx for
eligibility requirements.

If you qualify, are you requesting a waiver of your initial credentialing fee? [] Yes [] No

If Yes, provide a copy of your Department of Veterans Affairs voucher code and list your DVA Voucher Code Number: g
If you qualify, are you requesting equivalency of your Military Training and experience? [] Yes [] No
If Yes, complete and return the Veteran Request Application Addendum (Form #2996). This form must be included with this application.

If you qualify, are you requesting Temporary Spousal Reciprocal License? [] Yes [] No
If Yes, do not complete this form. You must complete and return the Application for Temporary Spousal Reciprocal License (Form #2982).

You may contact the DVA at 1-800-WisVets or wwvw.WISVETS.com for assistance in obtaining your DVA Voucher Code and/or documents
related to your training.

CONTINUING EDUCATION AND RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS: Please view the Department website at http://dsps.wi.gov and select
“Professions,” then “Massage Therapist or Bodywork Therapist.”

| AM OR HAVE BEEN LICENSED IN THE FOLLOWING STATE(S). (Include all active and inactive states.)

For each credential listed above, you are required to have each State Board or territory of the United States submit a letter of verification to the
Wisconsin Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy Examining Board. The verification letter(s) must state your date of birth, credential number, date
of issuance, and a statement regarding disciplinary actions.

REGARDING THE STATES YOU LISTED ABOVE: Identify the states in which you were licensed by EXAM.

FOR TEMPORARY LICENSE ONLY: (Please check one.)

O I plan to take the next National Certifying Examination on: | |/ | |/ | | | |

O I have taken and passed the National Certifying Examination

ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTION. (Attach additional sheets if necessary.)
1. Have you graduated from high school or attained high school graduation equivalency? If yes, give details below.

‘ [ Yes [ No

Name of High School:

Date of Graduation: | |/ | |/ | | | |

Location (city, state, country):

OR
Granting Agency:

Date High School Equivalency Obtained: | |/ | |/ | | | |
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ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS. (Attach additional sheets if necessary.)

2. Are you familiar with the state health laws and rules and regulations of the Wisconsin Department of Health Services [JYes []No
regarding communicable diseases?

3. Have you ever failed to pass any state or national board accrediting examination in the field of Massage Therapy or [JYes []No
Bodywork Therapy, including but not limited to the NCBTMB exams, MBLEx, NCCAOM (this does not include
examinations taken solely as part of a Massage Therapy and Bodywork Therapy education program)? If yes, provide

details.

4, Have you ever surrendered, resigned, canceled, or been denied a professional license, or other credential in Wisconsin, [JYes []No
or any other jurisdiction? If yes, give details on an attached sheet, including the name of the profession and the
agency.

5. Has any governmental credentialing agency ever taken any disciplinary action against you, including but not limited to [JYes []No

any warning, reprimand, suspension, probation, limitation, or revocation? If yes, attach a sheet providing details
about the action, including the name of the credentialing agency and date of action.

6. Is disciplinary action pending against you in any jurisdiction? If yes, attach a sheet providing details about pending [JYes []No
action, including the name of the agency and status of action.

7. Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor or a felony, or do you have any felony or misdemeanor charges [JYes []No
pending against you? If yes, submit Convictions and Pending Charges (Form #2252).

8. Are you incarcerated, on probation, or on parole for any conviction? If applicable, attach a sheet providing details [JYes []No
including the terms of incarceration and a copy of a report from your probation or parole officer.

9. Have any suits or claims ever been filed against you as a result of professional services? If yes, submit a copy of the [JYes []No
claim or suit and a copy of the final settlement or disposition and complete Malpractice Suits or Claims (Form
#2829).

10. | Areyou registered or licensed in any other profession(s)? If yes, state what profession(s) and in what state(s): [JYes []No

11. Have you ever been credentialed under any other name(s)? If yes, state name(s) credentialed under: [JYes []No

For the purposes of these questions, the following phrases or words have the following meanings:

"Ability to practice Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy " is to be construed to include all of the following:

1. The cognitive capacity to make appropriate clinical diagnoses and exercise reasoned Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy judgments and to
learn and keep abreast of Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy developments; and

2. The ability to communicate those judgments and Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy information to patients and other health care providers,
with or without the use of aids or devices, such as voice amplifiers; and

3. The physical capability to perform Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy tasks, with or without the use of aids or devices, such as corrective
lenses or hearing aids.

"Medical Condition" includes physiological, mental or psychological conditions or disorders, such as, but not limited to orthopedic, visual, speech,
and hearing impairments, Cerebral Palsy, epilepsy, Muscular Dystrophy, Multiple Sclerosis, cancer, heart disease, Diabetes, mental retardation,
emotional or mental illness, specific learning disabilities, HIV disease, tuberculosis, drug addiction and alcoholism.

"Chemical Substances" is to be construed to include alcohol, drugs, or medications, including those taken pursuant to a valid prescription for
legitimate medical purposes and in accordance with the prescriber's direction, as well as those used illegally.

"Currently"” does not mean on the day of, or even in the weeks or months preceding the completion of this application. Rather, it means recently
enough so that the use of drugs may have an ongoing impact on one's functioning as a licensee, or within the past two years.

"lllegal use of Controlled Dangerous Substances™ means the use of controlled dangerous substances obtained illegally (e.g. heroin or cocaine) as well
as the use of controlled dangerous substances, which are not obtained pursuant to a valid prescription, or not taken in accordance with the directions of
a licensed health care practitioner.

ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS. (Attach additional sheets if necessary.)

12. Do you have a medical condition, which in any way impairs or limits your ability to practice Massage Therapy or [ Yes [ No
Bodywork Therapy with reasonable skill and safety? If yes, please explain.

13. Does your use of chemical substance(s) in any way impair, or limit your ability to practice Massage Therapy or [ yes [] No
Bodywork Therapy with reasonable skill and safety? If yes, please explain.
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ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS. (Attach additional sheets if necessary.)

14. | Are the limitations or impairments caused by your medical condition reduced or ameliorated because you receive [JYes []No
ongoing treatment (with or without medications) or participate in a monitoring program? If yes, please explain.

15. | Are the limitations or impairments caused by your medical condition reduced, or ameliorated because of the field of [IvYes [No
practice, the setting, or the manner in which you have chosen to practice? If yes, please explain.

16. Have you ever been diagnosed as having, or have you ever been treated for pedophilia, exhibitionism, or voyeurism? [Iyes [JNo
If yes, please explain.

17. | Are you currently engaged in the illegal use of controlled dangerous substances? Jyes [No

18. If yes, are you currently participating in a supervised rehabilitation program or professional assistance program, which
monitors you in order to assure that you are not engaging in the illegal use of controlled dangerous substances? Ifyes, | []1Yes []No
please explain.

CERTIFICATION OF LEGAL STATUS

I declare under penalty of law that | am (check one):
[J A citizen or national of the United States, or

[ A qualified alien or nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United States who is eligible to receive this professional license or credential as defined
in the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunities Reconciliation Act of 1996, as codified in 8 U.S.C. §1601 et. Seq. (PRWORA). For
questions concerning PRWORA status, please contact the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services in the Department of Homeland Security at
1-800-375-5283 or online at http://www.uscis.gov.

Should my legal status change during the application process or after a credential is granted, | understand that | must report this change to the
Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services immediately.

CONTINUING DUTY OF DISCLOSURE

I understand that I have a continuing duty of disclosure during the application process. If information | have provided in this application becomes
invalid, incorrect, or outdated, | understand that | am obliged to provide any necessary information to ensure the information on my application remains
current, valid, and truthful. I understand that credentialing authorities may view acts of omission as dishonesty and that my duty of disclosure during
the application process exists until licensure is granted or denied.

AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICANT

I declare that | am the person referred to on this application and that all answers set forth are each and all strictly true in every respect. | understand
that failure to provide requested information, making any materially false statement and/or giving any materially false information in connection with
my application for a credential or for renewal or reinstatement of a credential may result in credential application processing delays; denial, revocation,
suspension or limitation of my credential; or any combination thereof; or such other penalties as may be provided by law. | further understand that if |
am issued a credential, or renewal, or reinstatement thereof, failure to comply with the statutes and/or administrative code provisions of the licensing
authority will be cause of disciplinary action.

By signing below, | am signifying that | have read the above statements (Certification of Legal Status, Continuing Duty of Disclosure, and Affidavit of
Applicant) and understand the obligation | have as an applicant or credential-holder should information I’ve provided to the Department of Safety and
Professional Services change.

Signature: |Date: | |/ | |/ | | | |

#2960 (Rev. 6/20)
Wis. Stat. ch. 460 Page 4 of 4
Committed to Equal Opportunity in Employment and Licensing


http://www.uscis.gov/

