Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services

P.O. Box 8935 Office Location: 4822 Madison Yards Way

Madison, WI 53708-8935 Madison, WI 53705 E-Mail:

Fax #: (608) 251-3036 dsps@wisconsin.gov Website: Phone #: (608) 266-2112 http://dsps.wi.gov

MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPY, PROFESSIONAL COUNSELING, AND SOCIAL WORK EXAMINING BOARD

INFORMATION FOR COMPLETING PROFESSIONAL COUNSELOR/TRAINING LICENSE APPLICATION

IMPORTANT NOTE

Applicants who apply for a Professional Counselor Training License and wish to proceed to full Professional Counselor licensure will apply **TWICE**:

- 1) Submit application for a Professional Counselor Training License to accrue supervised hours. (A training license must be issued before supervised practice and the accrual of supervised practice hours can begin.)
- When the majority of supervised practice hours have been accrued, complete and submit form (#1962) again (with fees) in application for a full Professional Counselor License.

AN APPLICATION IS NOT COMPLETE UNTIL ALL OF THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTS HAVE BEEN RECEIVED:

Requirements for Temporary License: (Not available to reciprocal applicants or applicants who have taken and passed the NCE, the NCMHCE, or the CRCE.)

A temporary license may be granted to an individual who pays the fee and who has met all qualifications for a full Professional Counselor (not training) license but who has <u>not</u> passed the NCE, the NCMHCE, or the CRCE. A temporary license is valid for a period not to exceed 9 months. The temporary license expires upon notification of successful completion of the national examination or expiration of the 9-month period, whichever is earlier. The temporary license may be renewed once by the Professional Counselor Section of the Board. A temporary license shall be issued to a person who:

- Complete application and pay applicable fee(s) online via LicensE,
- Includes the additional (non-refundable) \$10 temporary license fee, and
- Has met all educational and supervised practice requirements.

Requirements for Training License:

A Professional Counselor training license allows a person to use the title "Professional Counselor" and is required for individuals acquiring the supervised experience necessary for licensure. The Wisconsin Statutes provide that the Professional Counselor Section will grant a Professional Counselor Training license to any applicant who:

- submits application online via LicensE,
- pays the applicable fee(s) online via LicensE,
- satisfies the educational requirement, and
- submits evidence satisfactory to the Professional Counselor Section that he or she is in a position or has an offer for a position as a Professional Counselor in a supervised professional counseling practice, or in a position which the applicant will, in the opinion of the Professional Counselor Section, receive training and supervision equivalent to the training and supervision received in a supervised professional counseling practice.

A Professional Counselor Training License is valid for 48-months and may be renewed at the discretion of the Professional Counselor Section (must submit Form #2921). The holder of a Professional Counselor Training License may use the title "Professional Counselor" and may practice professional counseling within the scope of his or her training or supervision during the period in which the license is valid.

Supervision that does not meet the qualifications of Wis. Admin. Code § MPSW 12.02 may be grounds for denial.

Requirements for Professional Counselor License:

The Professional Counselor Section will grant a Professional Counselor license to any applicant who:

- submits an application and pays the applicable fee(s) online via LicensE,
- satisfies the education requirements,
- satisfies the supervised experience requirements, and
- passes the National Counselor Examination (NCE), National Counselor Mental Health Certification Examination (NCMHCE), or the Clinical Rehabilitation Counselor Examination (CRCE).

Reciprocal License: Applicants who have a current credential as a Professional Counselor or the substantial equivalent in another state or territory of the United States may be eligible for Wisconsin licensure. Other state/territory license must remain active until Wisconsin credentialing process is complete.

#1962 (Rev. 2/2022) Wis. Stat. ch. 457

Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services

National Counselor Examination (NCE) or the National Counselor Mental Health Certification Examination (NCMHCE)

The NCE is administered by the National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC) several times each year. Eligibility for the NCE and NCMHCE is determined by NBCC. You must submit your fee and directly to NBCC by the registration deadline along with an official copy of your transcript showing conferral of a master's degree in Counseling. Your eligibility to take or successful passage of the NCE or NCMHCE does not guarantee you will be eligible for professional counselor licensure. Your eligibility for a Professional Counselor license is determined by the Professional Counselor Section upon receipt of a completed application, fees, and supporting documents in the Board office. Applicants are to contact NBCC directly to apply for the examination at http://nbcc.org/.

Certified Rehabilitation Counselor Examination (CRCE)

The CRCE is administered by the Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor Certification (CRCC). Eligibility for the CRCE is determined by CRCC. Eligibility to take and successful passage of the CRCE does not guarantee you will be eligible for a Professional Counselor license. Your eligibility for a Professional Counselor license is determined by the Professional Counselor Section upon receipt of a completed application, fees, and supporting documents in the Board office. Applicants are to contact CRCC directly to apply for the examination at: https://www.crccertification.com/.

National Examination Score Transfers

With the exception of individuals applying for licensure by reciprocity, applicants must request the NBCC or the CRCC to forward their scores directly to the Professional Counselor Section.

Jurisprudence Examination (Reciprocity Applicants Only)

Reciprocity applicants are required to take an open book examination on the Wisconsin Statutes and Administrative Code relating to the practice of professional counseling. Reciprocity applicants will be provided access to the exam upon receipt of their completed application and fees. If you fail this open book examination, an additional fee will be required for you to retake it.

APPLICATION IS NOT COMPLETE UNTIL ALL OF THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTS HAVE BEEN RECEIVED:

- Complete application and pay applicable fee(s) online via LicensE
- Curriculum requirements (<u>Form #2239</u>) and course descriptions, if applicable
- Official transcript showing master's or doctorate degree
- Report of passing score <u>NCE</u>, <u>NCMHCE</u>, or <u>CRCE</u>, not required for temporary license, training license, or reciprocal license
- Certificate of Professional Education, (<u>Form #1960</u>), not required for reciprocal license or if you possess the training license
- Statutes and Rules Examination (Reciprocity Only)
- Employer Affidavit (Form #2456), required for training license only
- Supervised practice experience, (<u>Form #2464</u>), not required for training license or reciprocal license
- Letters from all State Boards where licensed, active and inactive, if applicable
- Convictions and Pending Charges (Form #2252), if applicable
- Malpractice Suits or Claims (<u>Form #2829</u>) and copies of malpractice suit, court documents with allegations and settlement, if applicable
- Is name on all credentials the same? If not, submit certified copy of marriage certificate, divorce decree, etc.