Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services

Office Location: 4822 Madison Yards Way LicensE Portal: License.wi.gov
Madison, WI 53705 Email: dsps@wisconsin.gov
Phone Number: (608)266-2112 Website: http://dsps.wi.gov

MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPY, PROFESSIONAL COUNSELING, AND
SOCIAL WORK EXAMINING BOARD

CREDENTIALING INFORMATION FOR CERTIFIED SOCIAL WORKER, ADVANCED
PRACTICE SOCIAL WORKER, AND INDEPENDENT SOCIAL WORKER APPLICANTS

THERE ARE THREE (3) TYPES OF SOCIAL WORK CERTIFICATES. THEY INCLUDE THE FOLLOWING:

Social Worker: Certification as a Social Worker (“CSW” or “Basic-Level Social Worker”) requires a Bachelor’s or higher degree
in social work and passage of the basic level national exam (ASWB Bachelor’s Examination).

Advanced Practice Social Worker: Licensure as an Advanced Practice Social Worker (“APSW”) requires a Master’s or higher
degree in social work and passage of the intermediate (ASWB Master’s Examination) level national exam.

Independent Social Worker: Licensure as an Independent Social Worker (“ISW”) requires a Master’s or higher degree in social
work, passage of the advanced (ASWB Advanced Generalist Examination) level national exam or verification of certification
from ACSW of NASW, and verification of at least 3,000 hours of supervised social work practice.

Certification or licensure is required for use of the following titles: “Social Worker,” “Advanced Practice Social Worker,”
and “Independent Social Worker.”

Reciprocal Applicants: (Applicants who currently hold a credential in another state. Credential must remain active until
Wisconsin credentialing process is complete.)

Reciprocal equivalency compares the state jurisdictional licensing standards to that of Wisconsin licensing requirements to
determine if substantially equivalent. All reciprocity applications are reviewed by the Section. Review is based on a comparison of
licensing requirements. It is not based on your individual qualifications.

Temporary Credentials: (temporary credentials for Social Worker, Advanced Practice Social Worker, or Independent
Social Worker)

A temporary credential permits you to practice and use a title if you have completed all the requirements except the exam, and can be
issued for an additional $10.00 fee. The temporary credential expires upon notification of successful completion of examination or
expiration of the 9-month period, whichever is earlier. It may be renewed once. Temporary permits are not applicable for reciprocal
applicants, applicants who have already completed the national exam or applicants that completed the Social Work Training
Certificate.

National Examination, Association of Social Worker Boards (ASWB):

e Required of all eligible applicants. If you have already taken the ASWB examination for the same level you are applying
for in Wisconsin, that score will be accepted if sent directly from ASWB. Contact information for ASWB may be found
under “study guides” below.

o Eligibility will be determined upon receipt of a completed application, appropriate fee, and other requirements.

DSPS will issue approval with examination instructions when all requirements have been met.
The ASWB examinations are administered year-round at specific sites within the state. After receipt of approval, contact
ASWRB at 1-888-579-3926 for the dates and further instructions.

If you fail the examination, you will be required by ASWB to wait 90 days before retaking the examination. Call ASWB to
schedule another examination date.

If you need re-authorization approval sent to ASWB, please contact DSPS.

ASWB Guide to Social Work Exams: Candidates may purchase a guide to Social Work exams by contacting ASWB directly at
1-888-579-3926 or www.aswb.org.

Scores: Wisconsin requires a scaled score of 70 or above to pass the examination.
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Wisconsin Statutes and Rules Examination:

The Wisconsin Statutes and Rules examination is an open book examination relating to the practice of social workers. If you have
taken the Social Work jurisprudence examination within the last five (5) years, you do not need to retake this examination.

The Wisconsin statutes and administrative rules contain information needed to answer the exam questions and can be obtained
from the Department website at http://dsps.wi.gov. You will need the most current edition.

Exam Instructions:

Once your completed application is received and processed at DSPS, you will be assigned a test name, password, instructor
name, and an ID. View your LicensE Application Status to obtain this information: https://license.wi.gov/s/application-status-
lookup. You will need your application number beginning with "PAR."

Supervision — ISW Applicants only (Wis. Admin. Code § MPSW 3.07 and ch. MPSW 4):

Supervision of APSW practice of social work includes the direction by an approved supervisor (see list of approved
supervisors below) of social work practice in face-to-face individual or group sessions of at least one-hour duration, during each
week of supervised practice of social work. Also, must engage in the equivalent of two (2) years of full-time supervised social
work practice approved by the Social Worker Section.

Approved Supervisors:

1. A Licensed Clinical Social Worker with a Master’s or Doctorate degree in social work.
2. A Certified Independent Social Worker with a Master’s or Doctorate in social work.
3. Another individual approved in advance by the Social Worker Section.

Your LicensE application status may be viewed at dsps.wi.gov under the “Self- Service” tab. Please check status before
contacting the Department of Safety and Professional Services.

THE FOLLOWING ITEMS ARE REQUIRED DOCUMENTS FOR PROCESSING APPLICATIONS UNLESS OTHERWISE NOTED:

120 Social Worker (CSW) 121 Advanced Practice Social Worker (CAPSW)
O Complete application and pay applicable fee(s) via LisencE. O Complete application and pay applicable fee(s) via LisencE.
O  Certificate of professional education (Form 1978), required after O Certificate of professional education (Form 1978), required after
graduation (not required if you completed a WI Social Work Training graduation
Certificate) O Wisconsin Statutes and Rules Examination (if not taken within last
[0 Wisconsin Statutes and Rules Examination five (5) years)
O Letters from all State Boards where licensed, active and inactive O Letters from all State Boards where licensed, active and inactive
O Convictions and Pending Charges (Form 2252), if applicable O Convictions and Pending Charges (Form 2252), if applicable
O Malpractice Suits or Claims (Form 2829) and copies of malpractice = [0 Malpractice Suits or Claims (Form 2829) and copies of malpractice
suit, court documents with allegations and settlement, if applicable suit, court documents with allegations and settlement, if applicable
O TIs name on all credentials the same? If not, submit certified copy of [ Is name on all credentials the same? If not, submit certified copy of
marriage certificate, divorce decree, etc. marriage certificate, divorce decree, etc.
122 Independent Social Worker (CISW) 123 Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW)
E gomplete apphcat101'1 and pay ap.phcable fee(s) via LIS?HCE' Please see Social Worker-Licensed Clinical webpage
ertificate of professional education (Form 1978), required after — -
. — and credentialing information (Form 2681).
graduation _—
O Supervisor’s Affidavit of Independent Social Worker Supervised
Pre-Certification Practice (Form 2992)
O Wisconsin Statutes and Rules Examination (if not taken within
last five (5) years)
O Letters from all State Boards where licensed, active and inactive
O Convictions and Pending Charges (Form 2252), if applicable
O Malpractice Suits or Claims (Form 2829) and copies of malpractice
suit, court documents with allegations and settlement, if applicable
O TIs name on all credentials the same? If not, submit certified copy of

marriage certificate, divorce decree, etc.
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