Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services

Office Location: 4822 Madison Yards Way Madison, WI 53705 Phone Number: (608) 266-2112 LicensE Portal: <u>https://license.wi.gov/</u> Email: <u>dsps@wisconsin.gov</u> Website: <u>http://dsps.wi.gov</u>

DENTISTRY EXAMINING BOARD

INFORMATION FOR EXPANDED FUNCTION DENTAL AUXILIARY CERTIFICATION APPLICANTS

On this form "auxiliary" means an expanded function dental auxiliary (Wis. Stat. § 447.035(1)).

Wisconsin expanded function dental auxiliary (EFDA) certification permits the holder to perform the following activities as delegated and supervised by a dentist: (a) Placement and finishing of restoration material after the dentist prepares a tooth for restoration; (b) Application of sealants; (c) Coronal polishing; (d) Impressions; (e) Temporizations; (f) Packing cord; (g) Removal of cement from crowns; (h) Adjustment of dentures and other removable oral appliances; (i) Removal of sutures and dressings; and, (k) Application of topical fluoride, fluoride varnish, or similar dental topical agent (Wis. Stat. § <u>447.035(2)</u>).

- The supervising dentist who delegates a procedure to an EFDA must remain on the premises where the EFDA is performing the procedure until the procedure is complete and the dentist has verified that the procedure has been performed successfully.
- The following procedures may **not** be performed by an EFDA: (1) Cutting of hard or soft tissue; (2) Diagnosis; and, (3) Treatment planning (Wis. Stat. § <u>447.035(3)(c)</u>).
- A certificate to practice as an EFDA is permanent unless revoked and is not subject to periodic renewal (Wis. Stat. § <u>447.05(1)(b)</u>). However, maintenance of proficiency in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and continuing education (CE) are required. (See <u>Form EFDA002</u>.)

Application is not complete until all of the following is received at the Department. Information and links to forms and Wisconsin Statute and Administrative Code are located at <u>https://dsps.wi.gov/Pages/Professions/EFDA/</u> Default.aspx.

- 1. <u>LicensE Application and Fees</u> Complete an application and pay applicable fee(s) online via <u>LicensE</u>. The fee for initial certification is \$30.00.
- Completion of an Accredited Instructional Program (Form EFDA001) Applicants must successfully complete an accredited instructional program that provides training in practice as an EFDA and requires no fewer than 70 hours of classroom instruction (Wis. Stat. § 447.035(3)(b)2).

Before enrollment in the program, an applicant must have completed one of the following (Wis. Stat. § 447.035(3)(b)1):

- At least 1,000 hours practicing as a dental assistant and holds the certified dental assistant credential issued by the Dental Assisting National Board, Inc., (DANB) or its successor.
- At least 2,000 hours practicing as a dental assistant, as verified by the supervising licensed dentist.
- 3. <u>Proficiency in Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation</u> Proof of current proficiency in cardiopulmonary resuscitation, including the use of an automated external defibrillator achieved through instruction provided by an individual, organization, or institution of higher education approved under Wis. Stat. § <u>46.03(38)</u> to provide documentation upload into your online <u>LicensE</u> application.
- 4. <u>Convictions and Pending Charges</u> (Form 2252) (If applicable, pay additional \$8.00 fee and submit form with required documentation. See form for details.)
- 5. <u>Malpractice Suits or Claims (Form 2829</u>) (if applicable, submit form with required documentation. See form for details.)

6. <u>Is name on all credentials the same</u>? (if applicable) If your name is not the same on all credentialing documents, submit certified copy of marriage certificate, divorce decree, etc.