
 
Division of Professional Credential Processing 
Manufactured Homes/Manufactured Home Unit 
4822 Madison Yards Way 
Madison WI 53705 
Phone: (608) 266-2112 (Option 3) 
E-mail: DSPSSBmanfhomes@wisconsin.gov  

 
 

 
MANUFACTURED HOME COMMUNITY PROGRAM 

Department of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS) oversees several manufactured home community 
functions: 1) licensing of new manufactured home communities and renewing current licensed communities; 2) 
regulation of manufactured home communities; 3) the investigation and resolution of manufactured home 
community complaints; 4) plan review for private sewage systems serving manufactured home communities; 5) 
plan review for some plumbing system features; 6) site installation features and basement or addition 
construction requirements; 7) licensing of manufactured home manufacturers; and 8) after July 1, 2000, titling 
of manufactured/mobile homes. 

 
GENERAL INFORMATION 
The general information of manufactured home communities falls under Wisconsin State Statute § 101.935 and 
Wisconsin Administrative Code SPS ch. 326. 

Wisconsin Administrative Code SPS § 302.33 regulates the license fee structure per number of mobile home 
park/manufactured home community sites as follows: 1 - 20 sites $250; 21 - 50 sites $450; 51 - 100 sites $700; 
101 – 175 sites $900, and 176 sites or more $1,000.  

Wisconsin State Statute § 101.935 also sets guidelines for license renewals and allows for a village, city, or 
county to qualify as an agent to perform the licensing and regulating for the Department. 

Wisconsin Administrative Code SPS ch. 326 states the requirements for designing and modifying a 
manufactured home community and the general upkeep requirements. For example, the garbage must be 
disposed of as often as necessary to prevent decomposition or overflow. Chapter SPS 326 also refers to the 
appropriate codes for private sewage systems at DSPS and private water supplies at Department of Natural 
Resources. 

 
LICENSING 
A license is required if three or more manufactured homes are located on a plot or plots of ground. To be 
licensed as a manufactured home community, the applicant must submit an application packet and meet the 
requirements set forth in Wisconsin Administrative Code ch. SPS 326. Some of the requirements to be met are: 

 
 Submit 2 sets of plans and one set of specifications of the manufactured home community. 
 For private water supplies, submit a safe water sample result in accordance with NR809. 
 For private sewage systems, submit an approval letter from DSPS, Industry Services Division, in 

accordance with SPS chs. 382 and 383. 

The information provided is reviewed and an inspection of the manufactured home community may be ordered. 
If approved, a two-year license is issued and the licensee is provided with copies of applicable state regulations 
governing mobile home parks/manufactured home communities. To renew a mobile home park/manufactured 
home community license, a notice is sent out and the fees must be submitted. 

 
COMPLAINTS/INSPECTIONS 
The DSPS Division of Industry Services also receives mobile home park/manufactured home community 
complaints from both community residents and community owners. The complaint process involves the 
completion of a DSPS Division of Industry Services complaint form and, if necessary, an inspection of the 
mobile home park/manufactured home community. If a State Statute or Administrative Code within our 
jurisdiction is violated, DSPS Division of Industry Services may commence formal action, such as a written 
order to correct the violation, final denial, suspension, or revocation of the manufactured home community 
license. An inspection will be conducted on a manufactured home community when there is a new community, 
expansion, or a complaint. The contact number is 608-785-9335. 

Wisconsin Administrative Code SPS § 302.33 regulates the plan examination and inspection fee structure per 
number of mobile home park/manufactured home community sites. See Wisconsin Administrative Code SPS 
ch. 302 for further information. 
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AGENTS 
In addition, there are local and county health departments who serve as agents of the DSPS Division of Industry 
Services in licensing and regulating manufactured home communities. If your proposed community is located 
within the boundaries of one of the following local or county offices, please contact them directly for licensing 
and regulating assistance: 

 
 

AGENCY TELEPHONE 
Adams County (See Wood Co below.)  
Appleton City Health Dept (920) 832-6429 
Ashland County Health Dept (715) 682-7028 
Brown Co Health Dept (920) 448-6400 
Dane Co Dept Human Services/Pub Health Div (608) 243-0330 
Douglas Co Dept of Health & Human Svcs (715) 395-1304 
Eau Claire City/Co Health Dept (715) 839-4718 
Juneau County (See Wood Co below.)  
Kenosha Co Human Serv Bldg/Div of Health (262) 605-6700 
La Crosse Co Health Dept (608) 785-9731 
Manitowoc Co Health Dept (920) 683-4155 
Marathon Co Health Dept (715) 261-1900 
Menasha City Health Dept (920) 967-3520 
City of Milw/Dept of Neighborhood Svcs (414) 286-2543 
Oneida County Health Dept (715) 369-6111 
Outagamie Co Health & Human Services (920) 832-5107 
Portage Co Health & Human Services (715) 345-5966 
Rock Co Health Dept (608) 757-5441 
St Croix Co DHHS Health Dept (715) 246-8370 
Taylor County Health Dept (715) 748-1410 
Waupaca Co Health & Human Svcs (715) 258-6300 
West Allis Health Dept (414) 302-8600 
Winnebago County Health Dept (920) 232-3000 
Wood Co Health Dept (Adams and Juneau) (715) 421-8911 

 
 

LANDLORD/TENANT ISSUES 
The Department of Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection handles all landlord/tenant issues. Their contact 
number is (800) 422-7128. 

 
PRIVATE SEWAGE AND PLUMBING PLAN REVIEW 
DSPS Division of Industry Services conducts plumbing and private sewage system plan review. Their 
contact number is (608) 266-3151. 

 
BASEMENTS AND ADDITIONS 
DSPS Division of Industry Services enforces the Uniform Dwelling Code which applies to basements and 
constructed additions to manufactured homes. The contact number is (920) 360-0020. 

 
WATER QUALITY 
The Department of Natural Resources (DNR) handles water quality issues. Contact the nearest DNR office: 

 
Eau Claire (715) 839-3700 
Green Bay (920) 662-5100 
Madison (608) 266-2621 
Milwaukee (414) 263-8500 
Rhinelander (715) 365-8900 
Spooner (715) 635-2101 
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