Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services

DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL CREDENTIAL PROCESSING

INFORMATION FOR TEMPORARY 2021 WIS ACT 10 CREDENTIAL APPLICATION FOR
HEALTH CARE PROVIDERS LICENSED IN ANOTHER STATE

Pursuant to Wis. Stat. § 440.094 (originating in 2021 Wis. Act 10) eligible health care providers currently credentialed outside of
Wisconsin may apply for a temporary credential to provide services in Wisconsin, including telehealth, within the scope of their
out-of-state credential while their Wisconsin application for a permanent credential is pending. Eligible professions are listed on
the following page.

A health care provider must apply for a temporary credential within 30 days of beginning to provide services in Wisconsin for a
health care employer. All applications must be submitted online via LicensE, https://license.wi.gov/. Select the desired
credential type in LicensE and choose the “Act 10” application method.

There are two forms required to apply for a temporary credential under Wis. Stat. § 440.094. Each form must be
submitted within the required time frames specified within the section.

e  Credential Application: Health care providers must apply online via LicensE within 30 days of beginning to provide
services in Wisconsin for a health care employer. Select the desired license type in LicensE and choose the “Act 10”
application method. (See Page ii for a list of eligible professions.)

e Form 2021-A102: Health Care Employer Notification for 2021 Wis. Act 10 Temporary Credential. Employer must
upload completed form to the Department within 10 days of the date on which the health care provider begins providing
services in Wisconsin directly to the Department using the LicensE Third-Party* Upload Portal at
https://license.wi.gov/. You will need the healthcare provider LicensE Preliminary Application Reference (PAR)
number to complete the upload. (*For form completion purposes, the term “Third-Party” refers to any non-applicant or
non-DSPS individual or entity submitting required documentation in support of a credential application.)

(Please see Item 7 below regarding telehealth.)

Additional information regarding temporary credentials granted under Wis. Stat. § 440.094 (originating in 2021 Wis. Act 10)

1) Recognition as a Wisconsin credential/license. A temporary credential granted under Wis. Stat. § 440.094 is
treated by Wisconsin law as a full Wisconsin license, credential, permit, etc. issued by the professional’s
applicable State of Wisconsin professional board or DSPS. The temporary credential is subject to all
responsibilities, malpractice insurance requirements, limitations on scope of practice, and other provisions that
apply under Wis. Stat. chs. 440 to 480 to the practice of the health care provider.

2) Requirement for health care employer notification to DSPS. Except as noted in Item 7 regarding telehealth
practice, a temporary credential under Wis. Stat. § 440.094 may only be provided if the health care employer of
the health care provider submits DSPS Form 2021-A102 within 10 days of the date on which the provider begins
providing services in Wisconsin. For purposes of Wis. Stat. § 440.094 and the form, “health care employer”
means a system, care clinic, care provider, long-term care facility, or any entity whose employed, contracted, or
affiliated staff provide health care service to individuals in Wisconsin.

3) Effective date of a temporary credential/license. A temporary credential granted under Wis. Stat. § 440.094
becomes effective on the date identified in the health care provider’s LicensE Act 10 application and attestation
as to when that health care provider first provided health care services in this state under thissection. An applicant
may specify a date in the future on which the health care provider will first provide health care services in
Wisconsin. An option to do so is available in the LicensE Act 10 application.

4) Confirmation of the status of a temporary credential/license. Following submission of the LicensE Act 10
application and Form 2021-A102 (if necessary), the temporary credential number, effective date (listed as “granted
date”), expiration date, and an indication that the credential is active (unless revoked as provided under Wis. Stat. §
440.094) will be posted on the DSPS credential/licensing search webpage, https://licensesearch.wi.gov.
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5) General expiration date of a temporary credential/license. Except as indicated in Item 6 below, a temporary credential
granted under Wis. Stat. § 440.094 expires on the date that DSPS, or a board attached to DSPS, grants or denies an
application for a permanent credential submitted by the health care provider.

6) Temporary credentials/licenses under Wis. Stat. § 440.094 to health care providers that stated within their
applications that they would provide health care services in Wisconsin only during the presidentially declared

national Covid-19 emergency expire May 10, 2023.

7) Telehealth. The Health Care Employer Notification For 2021 Wis. Act 10 Temporary Credential form (#2021-
A102) is not required to receive a temporary credential under Wis. Stat. § 440.094 if the health care provider will only

provide services in Wisconsin via telehealth.

Professions List (wis. stat. § 440.004)

Profession (Registration Code)

Acupuncturist (55)

Athletic Trainer (39)

Audiologist (156)

Chiropractor (12)

Clinical Substance Abuse Counselor (132)
Dentist (15)

Dietitian, Certified (29)

Marriage & Family Therapist (124)

Marriage & Family Therapist In-Training (228)
Massage Therapist or Bodywork Therapist (146)
Nurse Midwife (32)

Nurse, Advanced Practice Prescriber (33)
Nurse, Licensed Practical (31)

Nurse, Registered (30)

Occupational Therapist (26)

Occupational Therapy Assistant (27)
Optometrist (35)

Perfusionist (18)

Profession (Registration Code)

Pharmacist (40)

Physical Therapist (24)

Physical Therapist Assistant (19)
Physician Assistant (23)

Physician, DO (21)

Physician, MD (20)

Podiatrist (25)

Professional Counselor (125)
Professional Counselor In-Training (226)
Psychologist (57)

Respiratory Care Practitioner (28)

Social Worker (120)

Social Worker Training Certificate (127)
Social Worker, Advanced Practice (121)
Social Worker, Independent (122)

Social Worker, Licensed Clinical (123)
Speech-Language Pathologist (154)
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