# Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services

Office Location: 4822 Madison Yards Way

LicensE Portal: <a href="https://license.wi.gov/">https://license.wi.gov/</a>

Madison, WI 53705 Email: dsps@wisconsin.gov Phone Number: (608) 266-2112 Website: http://dsps.wi.gov

#### NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATOR EXAMINING BOARD

### INFORMATION FOR COMPLETING NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATOR APPLICATION

## AN APPLICATION IS NOT COMPLETE UNTIL ALL OF THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTS HAVE BEEN RECEIVED:

- 1. Application for Nursing Home Administrator License Apply online in LicensE, https://license.wi.gov/.
- 2. Credentialing Fee Must accompany the completed application. The credential fee is \$60.00.
- 3. Examinations Passing scores on: (3a) the National Association of Long Term Care Administrator Boards (NAB)-administered Core of Knowledge Examination for Long Term Care Administrators; (3b) the NAB-administered National Nursing Home Administrators Line of Service Examination; and (3c) the Wisconsin state law examination are required. To apply for these examinations, see Application for Examination (Form #1573). (Active certification as a health services executive granted by NAB shall be accepted as evidence of satisfying 3a and 3b.
- 4. Education/Training If satisfying the education component via completion of a regular course of study (Wis. Admin. Code § NHA 1.02(7)), a program of study (Wis. Admin. Code § NHA 1.02(6)), or specialized courses (Wis. Admin. Code § NHA 1.02(8)), submit verification of education completion. Official transcript(s) or certificate(s) of completion must be submitted from the school(s) where training was completed. (Active certification as a health services executive granted by NAB shall be accepted as evidence of satisfying the education requirement.)
- 5. Verification of Experience in the Field of Institutional Administration (Form #71) (if applicable) An applicant for the examination is not required to have completed the education or experience requirement prior to taking the examinations.

  Applicants that have completed a regular course of study, including a supervised practicum (Wis. Admin. Code § NHA 1.02(7)), are not required to submit Form #71 if the practicum is noted on their transcripts. Applicants completing a program of study or specialized courses, however, upon passing the required examinations, must submit evidence of successful completion of one year of experience in the field of institutional administration (Wis. Admin. Code § NHA 1.02(2)). Form #71 needs to be completed by the supervisor at the facility where applicant was/is employed. (Active certification as a health services executive granted by NAB shall be accepted as evidence of satisfying the experience requirement.)

Approved Courses of Study: Wis. Admin. Code § NHA 3.01 requires all regular courses of study, programs of study, and specialized courses be approved by the Board. Courses are approved only on the basis that they meet the requirement as specified in Wis. Stat. § 456.04(4). (Questions can be directed to the credentialing team at DSPSCredNHA@wisconsin.gov or 608-266-2112.)

#### **To Apply for Licensure by Reciprocity:**

- 1. <u>Application for Nursing Home Administrator License</u> Prior to applying for licensure, applicant must have passed the Wisconsin State Law Exam. To apply for the examination, see Application for Examination (Form #1573).
- 2. <u>Credentialing Fee</u> Apply and pay \$60.00 credential fee online in LicensE, https://license.wi.gov/.
- 3. Verification of Licensure (Form #419) Must be completed by each state licensing Board or agency in which you hold a credential. A photocopy of the credential is not acceptable. (To apply via reciprocity, applicant must hold a current, unrestricted license issued by the proper authorities in any other jurisdiction. License should remain current until the Wisconsin credentialing process is complete.)
- 4. Reciprocity Experience Record (Form #2470) Submit evidence of having practiced as a Nursing Home Administrator for at least 2,000 hours of practice as a nursing home administrator in any consecutive 3-year period within the 5-year period immediately preceding the date of application (Wis. Admin. Code § NHA 4.015(2)).
- 5. Education/training Per Wis. Admin. Code § NHA 4.015(1) provide evidence of one of the following:
  - Bachelor's degree in any field that was obtained from an accredited college or university (official transcripts required); or
  - Current certification as a nursing home administrator granted by the American College of Health Care Administrators; or
  - Current certification as a health services executive granted by NAB.

<u>Late Renewal Applicants</u> (Wisconsin license expired more than 5 years) are required to submit the following: (1) application and fees online via LicensE, <a href="https://license.wi.gov/">https://license.wi.gov/</a>. [\$60 credential fee and a \$25 late renewal fee]; (2) an affidavit that licensee has not practiced as a nursing home administrator after July 1 of the biennial period for which the licensee was last currently registered; and (3) certification from the licensee that the continuing education required under <a href="https://wisconsin.license.wi.gov/">Wis. Admin. Code § NHA 3.02</a> has been completed (Wis. Admin. Code § <a href="https://wisconsin.license.wi.gov/">NHA 4.02(2)</a> (b).

#418 (Rev. 7/26/2023)
Wis. Stat. ch. 456
(RC 65)