## **Frequently Asked Questions**

2021-2023 Fee Changes for Professional Licenses/Credentials Effective Date: July 1, 2021

Why are the fees changing for professional licenses/credentials and renewals?

Wisconsin Statute § 440.03(9)(a) requires the Department of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS) to conduct a fee study every two years. According to the statute, fees charged to occupations and businesses under the department's authority must reflect the approximate administrative and enforcement costs of regulating those professions under Chapters 440 to 480 of Wis. Statutes. The fee study enables DSPS to remain in compliance with state law.

Are all licenses/credentials regulated by DSPS included in the fee study?

No. Wisconsin statutes do not require DSPS to conduct a fee study for trades credentials (Refer to Appendix A for a List of Trades). Instead, these fees are set through Wisconsin Administrative Code SPS § 305.02. The most recent update of the fees for trades credentials occurred in 2006 (based on Administrative Code SPS § 305.02 legislative history).

How many professions are included in the fee study?

169

How is the fee study conducted?

DSPS compiles and calculates a large amount of data, including the number of license applications and renewals, revenues and expenditures, and costs associated with investigating and prosecuting complaints against license/credential holders over the last two-year period. The methodology also takes several variables into account, including adjustments for inflation. Refer to Appendix B for a detailed explanation.

What are the new fees?

The new fees vary by profession, with equal fees for both initial applications and renewals, with a maximum application fee of \$60. This is a complete list of the new fees.

When will the new fees go into effect?

The new fees will take effect beginning with initial license/credential applications received by the department and/or postmarked on or after July 1, 2021, and for license renewals that have an effective date of July 1, 2021 or later. Note that if a license/credential holder receives a notice of renewal prior to July 1, 2021, for a renew-

by date of after July 1, 2021, the new fees will apply regardless of when the notice is received or when payment is made. If a license holder's renewal-by date is before July 1, 2021, and the payment is made after July 1, 2021, the fee noted on the notice of renewal will still apply. If the license holder's renew-by date is on or after July 1, 2021, the new fees will apply.

What if I mistakenly pay the previous fee and require a refund?

When program staff identify an over-payment, the department will issue a refund check to the license/credential holder.

Are any fees going up?

For all professions, initial application and renewal fees will be reduced or maintained at the current level

When was the last time there were any significant changes to the fees?

The 2019-2021 biennium was the first time in about a decade that any significant changes were made to licensure fees. At that time, DSPS reduced or maintained virtually every fee and implemented a maximum fee of \$75. Prior to that, the 2009-2011 biennium was the last time major adjustments were made to the fees. Between this tenyear period, there have been only minor adjustments to fees, as well as the addition of credentials for several professions or businesses.