Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services

Office Location: 4822 Madison Yards Way

Madison, WI 53705

Email: dsps@wisconsin.gov Phone Number: (608) 266-2112 Website: http://dsps.wi.gov

PHARMACY EXAMINING BOARD

LicensE Portal: License.wi.gov

INFORMATION FOR LICENSURE FOR OUT-OF-STATE PHARMACY APPLICATIONS

AN APPLICATION IS NOT COMPLETE UNTIL ALL OF THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTS HAVE BEEN RECEIVED:

A completed application must be on file at least 30 days prior to proposed opening date.

To license a New Pharmacy with the Pharmacy Examining Board, complete the Licensure for an Out-of-State Pharmacy Application and pay \$60.00 credential fee online via LicensE, https://license.wi.gov. Provide all information requested.

To re-license a pharmacy because of a Change of Ownership or Location Change, complete the Licensure for an Out-of-State Pharmacy Application and pay \$60.00 credential fee online via LicensE, https://license.wi.gov. Provide all information requested.

- No pharmacy that is in another state may ship, mail, or otherwise deliver a prescribed drug or device to persons in Wisconsin unless the pharmacy is licensed in Wisconsin (Wis. Stat. § 450.065).
- An out-of-state pharmacy that applies for a license is not required to comply with Wisconsin law relating to the professional service area of a pharmacy or the minimum equipment requirements for a pharmacy.
- A pharmacist employed in an out-of-state pharmacy is not required to be licensed in Wisconsin.
- A licensed out-of-state pharmacy is not required to be under the control of a managing pharmacist licensed in Wisconsin.
- A licensed out-of-state pharmacy shall provide a telephone number that allows a person in Wisconsin to contact the pharmacy during the pharmacy's regular hours of business and that is available for use by a person in Wisconsin for not less than 40 hours per week.
- The label of all prescription drug containers shipped, mailed, or otherwise delivered to a person in Wisconsin must bear the telephone number of the out-of-state pharmacy.

Wis. Stat. § 450.06(3), requires that a new pharmacy license be obtained following a change of ownership. The following chart sets forth when a change of ownership is deemed to have occurred or not occurred. Following the issuance of a new license, that new licensee must also renew that new license at the next required renewal date, regardless of when that new license was issued.

| OWNER | TRANSACTION | CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP? |
|-------------|---|-------------------------|
| Individual | Sells pharmacy to another | Yes |
| Individual | "Incorporates" him or herself and there are no other shareholders. | No |
| Individual | Incorporates and adds shareholders other than self, or goes into partnership with other(s). | Yes |
| Partnership | Sells pharmacy to another | Yes |
| Partnership | Members of partnership change <u>and</u> dissolves; e.g., individual(s) leaves. | Yes |
| Partnership | Members of partnership change, but partners vote not to dissolve unanimously or by partnership agreement. | No |
| Partnership | Partnership decides to incorporate itself | No |
| Corporation | Change in shareholders (including sale of all stock) | No |
| Corporation | Sells all assets (as opposed to stock) | Yes |
| Corporation | Becomes a subsidiary or division of another corporation. | No |

ⁱ Wis. Stat. § 450.06(3), provides in relevant part as follows:

No pharmacy may be opened or kept open for practice following a change of ownership... unless the pharmacy is licensed for the new owner...notwithstanding any remaining period of validity under the pharmacy's license under the previous owner . . .

#2737 (Rev. 9/20/2022) Wis. Stat. ch. 450

¹ Limited Liability Companies created under Wis. Stat. ch. 183, are the same as Corporations for change of ownership.