# Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services

LicensE Portal: <a href="https://license.wi.gov/">https://license.wi.gov/</a>

Office Location: 4822 Madison Yards Way

Madison, WI 53705

Email: dsps@wisconsin.gov Phone Number: (608) 266-2112 Website: http://dsps.wi.gov

#### MASSAGE THERAPY AND BODYWORK THERAPY CREDENTIALING BOARD

#### CREDENTIALING INFORMATION FOR MASSAGE THERAPIST OR BODYWORK THERAPIST APPLICANTS

#### LICENSURE ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS BASED ON METHOD OF APPLICATION:

Licensure by Examination or Late Renewal (credential expired more than 5 years): An applicant is eligible for licensure as a Massage Therapist or Bodywork Therapist if the applicant:

- Completes application and pays appropriate fee(s) online via LicensE.
- Submits a copy of current CPR/AED certificate from a DHS approved provider. For a listing of approved providers go to http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/License certification/CPR.htm.
- Is 18 years of age or older.
- 4. Has graduated from high school or attained high school graduation equivalency as determined by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction under Wis. Stat. § 115.29(4).
- 5. Completes Massage Therapy and Bodywork Therapy Program Curriculum (Form #2962). This form must be completed by your school and returned directly to the Department. If your school is not Educational Approval Program (EAP) approved, you must also submit an official transcript.
- 6. Passes the Wisconsin State Law Examination: The Wisconsin Massage Therapy and Bodywork Therapy State Law Exam is an on-line open book examination on the Wisconsin Statutes and Administrative Codes that govern Massage Therapists and Bodywork Therapists. Candidates will be assigned an ID#, test name, and password after submitting an application.
  - Important: (for Graduates from WI State Schools on or After 1/1/2012) You are required to take and pass this exam as a prerequisite to graduation. Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy schools should notify students when and where to complete the exam; it is recommended that the applicant complete the exam as soon as reasonable. Upon completion of the exam, the applicant will be presented with the option to "Print test feedback report." The applicant must choose this option ("Print test feedback report") to have the exam score available for review by the school (do not submit to DSPS). DSPS does not have the ability to recall a score. If the applicant fails to print the test feedback report when given the option, the applicant will be required to retake the exam and pay an additional fee.
- 7. Has in effect malpractice liability insurance coverage in an amount that is not less than \$1,000,000 per occurrence and \$1,000,000 for all occurrences in one year. All applicants are required to submit a copy of a current Certificate of Malpractice Liability Insurance which shows the amounts of coverage and the expiration date.
- 8. Has not been convicted of an offense under Wis. Stat. §§ 940.22, 940.225, 944.15, 944.17, 944.30, 944.31, 944.32, 944.33, 944.34, 948.02, 948.025, 948.08, 948.085, 948.09, 948.095, 948.10, or a comparable offense under federal law or a law of any other state.
- 9. Subject to Wis. Stat. §§ 111.321, 111.322 and 111.335, has not been convicted of any other offense not listed in item 8 above, the circumstances of which substantially relate to the practice of Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy.
- 10. Has passed one of the following nationally administrated examinations (exam applicants only):
  - National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage
  - National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork
  - Asian Bodywork Therapy Examination of the National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine
  - Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination
- 11. Completes 24 hours of acceptable continuing education, including 2 credits pertaining to ethics, during the renewal biennium immediately preceding the date of the late renewal application. (This requirement applies to Late Renewal applicants only.) This credential renews by 2/28/xxxx each odd year. Therefore, if an applicant submits a Late Renewal application on or after March 1, 2021, evidence of courses completed during the preceding renewal biennium, 2/28/2019 to 2/28/2021, should be submitted. Questions can be directed to credentialing staff at DSPSCredMdBdAffiliates@wisconsin.gov or 608.266.2112. (See Wis. Admin. Code §§ MTBT 4.04 and MTBT 7.02(3).)

### National Score Report: NCBTMB, NCCAOM, or FSMBT

Applicants who passed either of the National Certification Examinations of the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB). Complete NCBTMB Official Score Report Request Form. Attach appropriate fee and forward to address indicated on form. Forms are available at http://www.ncbtmb.org. Your scores must be returned directly to the Department from NCBTMB. Scores received from the applicant will not be accepted.

#### Applicants who have passed the Asian Bodywork Therapy Exam of the National Certification Commission of Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM)

Complete NCCAOM Request Form. Attach appropriate fee and forward to address indicated on form.

Forms are available at http://www.nccaom.org. Your scores must be returned directly to the Department from NCCAOM. Scores received from the applicant will not be accepted.

#2960 (Rev. 7/6/2022) Wis. Stat. ch. 460

## **Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services**

# Applicants who have passed the Federation of State Massage Therapy Board's (FSMTB) Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx)

Complete Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination Mobility Form. Attach appropriate fee and forward to address indicated on form. Forms are available at <a href="http://www.fsmtb.org">http://www.fsmtb.org</a>. Your scores must be returned directly to the Department from FSMTB. Scores received from the applicant will not be accepted.

#### **Temporary Licensure**

This provision applies only to those eligible for licensure by examination and who meet all other requirements for licensure, but who have not yet received scores from an approved nationally administered entry-level competency assessment examination.

A temporary license expires 6 months after the date of issuance or when the Department receives notice that the temporary licensee has failed or passed the examination required by Wis. Stat. § 460.06, whichever is first.

- a. A temporary license may not be renewed; and
- b. No person shall be issued more than one temporary license.

Practice under a temporary license shall be under the supervision of a licensed Massage Therapist or Bodywork Therapist, at the level of general, direct, or direct one-on-one supervision as necessary to avoid unacceptable risk of harm to the client. The supervising Massage Therapist or Bodywork Therapist is responsible for determining the level of supervision necessary to avoid unacceptable risk of harm to the client and is responsible for the acts of the temporary licensee.

The supervisor may be subject to discipline for failure to appropriately supervise the temporary licensee and/or for failure to ensure that, the temporary licensee adheres to the Board's rules and the standards of minimal competence.

The supervisor responsible for the temporary licensee shall ensure that clients know the temporary licensee is not fully licensed and that the supervisor is ultimately responsible for the care provided. It is recommended that this information be documented in the client record.

Licensure by Reciprocity: An applicant is eligible for reciprocal licensure as a Massage Therapist or Bodywork Therapist if the applicant:

- 1. Completes and submits Application (Form #2960) and pays the fee specified in Wis. Stat. § 440.05(1).
- Holds a current similar license, registration, or certificate to practice Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy in another U.S. state or territory or another country, the requirements for which are substantially equivalent to the requirements under <u>Wis. Stat. § 460.05</u>. (License must remain active until Wisconsin credentialing process is complete.)
  - "Substantially Equivalent" means the requirements must include either of the following:
    - Certification by the NCBTMB or any other organization accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies to certify Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy; **or**
    - Completion of at least 600 classroom hours of instruction in Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy at a school approved by an
      accrediting agency.
- 3. Submits verification of a current license, registration or certification issued by another U.S. state or territory or province of another country. You are required to have each jurisdiction in which you have ever been credentialed submit letters of verification to DSPS. The letters must indicate your date of birth, credential number, date of issuance, and a statement regarding disciplinary actions. City or county certification/licensure does not meet the State licensure requirement, nor will you need to submit verification from these jurisdictions.
- 4. Passes the Wisconsin State Law Examination: The Wisconsin Massage Therapy and Bodywork Therapy State Law Exam is an online open book examination on the Wisconsin Statutes and Administrative Codes that govern Massage Therapists and Bodywork Therapists. Candidates will be assigned an ID#, test name, and password after applying.
- 5. Has not been convicted of an offense under Wis. Stat. §§ 940.22, 940.225, 944.15, 944.17, 944.30, 944.31, 944.32, 944.34, 948.02, 948.025, 948.08, 948.085, 948.095, 948.095, 948.10, or a comparable offense under federal law or a law of any other state.
- 6. Subject to Wis. Stat. §§ 111.321, 111.322 and 111.335, has not been convicted of any other offense not listed in Item (6) above, the circumstances of which substantially relate to the practice of Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy.
- 7. Has in effect malpractice liability insurance coverage in an amount that is not less than \$1,000,000 per occurrence and \$1,000,000 for all occurrences in one year. Malpractice Liability Insurance: All applicants are required to submit a copy of a current certificate of malpractice liability insurance, which shows the amounts of coverage and expiration date.
- 8. Submit a copy of current CPR/AED certificate from a DHS approved provider. For a listing of approved providers go to <a href="https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/licensing/cpr.htm">https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/ems/licensing/cpr.htm</a>.
- 9. Has not engaged in conduct while practicing Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy that jeopardizes the health, safety, or welfare of a client or that evidences a lack of knowledge or inability to apply, or the negligent application of, principles or skills of Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy.

## APPLICATION IS NOT COMPLETE UNTIL ALL OF THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTS HAVE BEEN RECEIVED:

- Apply and pay applicable fee(s) online via LicensE
- Copy (front and back) of current CPR/AED card from DHS approved provider
- Passage of the Wisconsin Statutes and Rules Exam
- Massage Therapy or Bodywork Therapy Program Curriculum (Form #2962) (exam and late renewal applicants only) and official transcripts if required.
- Copy of Certificate of Insurance for malpractice liability policy showing applicant as policyholder and insured with coverage not less than \$1,000,000 per occurrence and \$1,000,000 for all occurrences in one year.
- Verification of licensure or certification from another state submitted directly from that state(s) board(s).
- Proof of passing National exam received directly from National Exam Services (exam applicants only)
- Convictions and Pending Charges (Form #2252), if applicable
- Suits or Claims (Form #2829) and copies of malpractice suit, court documents with allegations and settlement, if applicable
- Twenty-four hours of acceptable continuing education, (For late renewal applicants only.) (See Item 10 on page i of this Form, #2960, for further information.)
- Is name on all credentials the same? If not, submit certified copy of marriage certificate, divorce decree, etc.