Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services

Office Location: 4822 Madison Yards Way Madison, WI 53705 Phone Number: (608) 266-2112 LicensE Portal: License.wi.gov Email: dsps@wisconsin.gov Website: http://dsps.wi.gov

PHARMACY EXAMINING BOARD

INFORMATION FOR COMPLETING APPLICATION FOR PHARMACY TECHNICIAN REGISTRATION

REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS

- 1. Age and Education Applicant satisfies one of the following:
 - The applicant is at least 18 years of age and has graduated from high school or has attained high school graduation equivalency as determined by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction (DPI).
 - The applicant is enrolled in a youth apprenticeship program for pharmacy technicians that is on the list of youth apprenticeship programs approved by the Department of Workforce Development (DWD) under Wis. Stat. § 106.132m).
- 2. <u>Application</u> submitted via the Department's online credentialing system LicensE.
- 3. Fee(s)s paid in the Department's online credentialing system LicensE. (Initial credential fee is \$30.00.)
- 4. <u>Malpractice Suits or Claims</u> (Form <u>2829</u>) and copies of malpractice suit, court documents with allegations, and settlement, if applicable.
- 5. Convictions and Pending Charges (Form 2252), if applicable. (There is an \$8 additional fee if this form is submitted.)
- 6. Is your name on all credentials the same? If not, submit a certified copy of marriage certificate, divorce decree, etc.

VACCINE ADMINISTRATION

Per Wis. Stat. § <u>450.035(2h)</u> a pharmacy technician may not administer a vaccine unless all of the following additional requirements are satisfied:

- 1) The pharmacy technician has successfully completed at least 2 hours in a course of study and training, approved by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education or the board, in hands-on injection technique and the recognition and treatment of emergency reactions to vaccines.
- The pharmacy technician acts under the direct supervision of a pharmacist and the supervising pharmacist has successfully completed a course of study and training specified in sub. (2) and has satisfied the requirements specified in sub. (2t).
- 3) The pharmacy technician holds a current certification in basic life support or cardiopulmonary resuscitation.
- 4) The pharmacy technician holds a certified pharmacy technician certification from either the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board, or its successor organization, or the National Healthcareer Association, or its successor organization.

A pharmacy technician may not administer a vaccine under Wis. Stat. § <u>450.035(2h)</u> to a person who is under the age of 6.

ADDRESS OR EMPLOYMENT CHANGES:

(a) If the pharmacy technician moves from the last address provided to the Department, notify the Department of his or her new address within 10 days of the change in writing or in accordance with other notification procedures approved by the Department (Wis. Stat. $\frac{8}{440.11}$ and $\frac{450.068(3)}{10}$).

(b) If the pharmacy technician changes his or her employer or place of employment, notify the Department of his or her new employer or address of employment within 10 days of the change in writing or in accordance with other notification procedures approved by the Department and, if required by the Department, pay the transfer fee under Wis. Stat. § 440.05(7). (No transfer fee is required at this time.)

- Credential holders may update their personal addresses via LicensE.
- To update employment information go to <u>license.wi.gov</u>, select "Request Support" from the toolbar and create a new ticket.