Skip to main content

Removal of Component Submittal Fee

Beginning February 1, 2015, DSPS will no longer charge a $100 plan entry fee for components submitted after the initial building plan has been submitted. If submitted with a current building project, there is a minimum $100 submittal fee. If submitted as a follow up to a previously submitted plan there is no additional fee.


Trades Professions Continuing Education Changes

A recent change to the Wisconsin Administrative Code SPS 305 allows an extra 3 months for trades credential holders to complete and submit their required Continuing Education (CE) credits prior to license renewal.

Previously, all trades credential holders were required to complete their CE credits three months before their renewal date.


2013 Wisconsin Act 270
2013 Wisconsin Act 270 establishes a Uniform Commercial Building Code (UCBC) for the State of Wisconsin, as well as a Building Code Council for the purpose of reviewing the code and making recommendations to the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS) to keep the UCBC current.
Click here to read 2013 Wisconsin Act 270.
Click here for more information about how to submit
local ordinances for exemption from the UCBC.


There are over 800 volunteer fire departments across the State of Wisconsin. The men and women of these departments are dedicated to protecting the lives and safety of all Wisconsin citizens. Understanding the sacrifice these firefighters make, Secretary Dave Ross, on behalf of Governor Scott Walker, has made it a mission to personally thank them for their dedication and service. Pictured left, Secretary Ross meets with members of the Rudolph Fire Department to thank them for their service.

For more pictures click here.



There are many recent changes to several aspects of the Department of Safety & Professional Services. Click here to learn if any of these changes affect your profession.


Governor Walker signed Senate Bill (SB) 453 into law, which streamlines the operations of the Department of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS). The majority of the changes to state law in SB 453 came directly from DSPS employees who made suggestions on ways they thought the agency could be run more efficiently.
Learn more  

Lt. Gov. Rebecca Kleefisch, along with Department of Veteran Affairs Secretary John Scocos (far left) and Department of Safety and Professional Services Secretary Dave Ross (far right) held a listening session at Fort McCoy to promote Wisconsin's Year of the Veteran.


Governor Scott Walker, Lt. Governor Rebecca Kleefisch & cabinet members hosted the 2nd annual Governor's Small Business Summit in La Crosse. About 300 small business owners and leaders from around the state attended. (Pictured L-R: DATCP Secretary Ben Brancel, DNR Secretary Cathy Stepp, DSPS Secretary Dave Ross, DVA Secretary John Scocos, Tourism Secretary Stephanie Klett, PSC Commissioner Phil Montgomery)
Learn more


Secretary Ross met with members of the Associated Builders and Contractors Board of Directors to discuss DSPS initiatives. DSPS leadership meets with stakeholder groups across the state to learn more about the day-to-day business processes of our customers and how we can help build a better business climate.


Secretary Dave Ross (far right) attended a Regional Credentialing Forum for medical professions to give an overview of the department and listen to concerns from members in the field.
Learn more


As of October 1, 2012, The Division of Industry Services (Formerly Safety & Buildings) began accepting plans electronically. This initiative eliminates waste, saves time and cost, and allows DSPS to better serve our customers.
Learn more



Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP)

Industry Services 
(Safety & Buildings)

Rules and Regulations

Application Forms


Latest News 

License Look-Up

Look Up Orders & Disciplinary Actions

License Renewal

Request List of
License Holders

The mission of the Department of Safety and Professional Services is to promote economic growth and stability

while protecting the citizens of Wisconsin as designated by statute.