NOTE: The Chiropractic Examining Board has extended the deadline for obtaining CE credits for the 2020 renewal until 12/14/2022. License holders will still have to renew their license normally but will have extra time to acquire the necessary hours. License holders will still have to obtain a unique 40 hours for the 2022 renewal; CE hours can only be applied to a single renewal period.
40 credit hours through an approved course sponsor per Wisconsin State Statute 446.028. 8 hours can be obtained through an approved online program that is at least 50% synchronous in format.
Program sponsor means any of the following:
1. The Wisconsin Chiropractic Association.
2. The International Chiropractors Association.
3. A college of chiropractic approved by the examining
4. A college of medicine or osteopathy accredited by an
accrediting body listed as nationally recognized by the secretary
of the federal department of education.
5. A member−based state or national chiropractic organization that satisfies all of the following:
a. The organization is an entity that is described in section 501
(c) of the Internal Revenue Code and that is exempt from federal
income tax under section 501 (a) of the Internal Revenue Code and
has existed as an entity that is described in section 501 (c) of the
Internal Revenue Code for at least 5 years.
b. The purpose of the organization is not solely providing continuing education programs.
c. The organization engages in measurable advocacy efforts
to promote the chiropractic profession.
All courses need to be pre-approved by the Board.
One (1) credit on AED course work may be counted toward the continuing education requirement every biennium.
Chiropractic Continuing Education Approval Form
2019-2020 Continuing Education Courses
2021-2022 Continuing Education Courses
Biennium from 12/15/even – 12/14/even year.
NOTE: Does not apply to the biennium when license was first issued.
Chapter 5 of the Administrative Code for more details.
Chiropractic Nutrition Counseling Education
New rules allowing chiropractors to provide nutritional counseling became effective December 1, 2006. Before providing nutritional counseling a chiropractor must take specific educational programs.
Applications are now being accepted from providers of chiropractic nutritional counseling certification education for approval of their programs.
After December 1, 2006, programs must be submitted for approval at least 75 days prior to the first offering date.
Program requirements and the application process are described in Chir 12.03, 12.04 and 12.05 of the Wisconsin statutes.