Controlled Substances Board

The Controlled Substances Board is created in Wis. Stat. § 15.405(5g) and has authority as outlined in Wis. Stat. ch. 961.


The members of the Controlled Substances Board are appointed as outlined in Wis. Stat. § 15.405(5g). The Board consists of seven members with no term expiration dates: the Attorney General, the Secretary of Health Services, and the Secretary of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection, or their designees; the chairperson of the Pharmacy Examining Board, the chairperson of the Medical Examining Board, the chairperson of the Dentistry Examining Board, and the chairperson of the Board of Nursing, or a designee; and two members appointed by the Governor to serve 3-year terms: one psychiatrist member and one pharmacologist member.

MemberOfficerMember TypeTerm Expiration
Englebert, Doug
ChairpersonDHS Designated MemberN/A
Bloom, Alan
Vice ChairpersonPharmacologist5/1/2020*
Bellay, Yvonne M.SecretaryDATCP Designated MemberN/A
​Alton, Troy A.

​​Dentistry Board Representative​
Barman, Subhadeep
​Bistan, Matthew R.

​Dentistry Board Alternate Representative
​Eberhardy, Cullen M.

​Attorney General Designee​
​Ferguson, Kris

​Medical Board Alternate Representative
​Kane, Amanda K.

​Board of Nursing Representative
​Schmeling, Gregory

Medical Board Representative
Weinman​. ​Robert W. 

​​Board of Nursing Alternate Representative
Weitekamp, John G.
Pharmacy Board Representative​N/A

*Board members whose terms have expired may continue to serve until their successor is appointed​.


​On April 1, 2017, an emergency rule amending ch. CSB 4 went into effect. This emergency rule revises requirements for the Prescription Drug Monitoring Program.

2013 Wisconsin Act 267, also known as Lydia's Law, charges the Controlled Substances Board with aiding a physician in applying for and processing an investigational drug permit for use of cannabidoil (CBD oil) as treatment for a seizure disorder.

Investigational Drug Permit For Cannabidoil

Last updated: 11/8​​/2023​