Medical Examining Board (MEB)


The Department of Safety and Professional Services has been working closely with the Medical Examining  Board​, other health professions governing boards and councils, and Governor Evers' administration to position our health care workforce to best respond to the COVID-19 public health emergency. For information on the state COVID-19 response, including orders and memos, please visit our COVID Information page​.​

​The Medical Examining Board is created in Wis. Stat. § 15.405(7) and has authority as outlined in Wis. Stat. ch. 448.


The members of the Medical Examining Board are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Legislature to serve staggered 4-year terms. The Board consists of 9 licensed doctors of medicine, 1 licensed doctor of osteopathy, and 3 public members.

MemberOfficerMember TypeTerm Expiration
​Wasserman, Sheldon A.
​Physician Member
​Goel, Sumeet K.
​Vice Chairperson
​Doctor of Osteopathy
​Chou, Clarence P.
​Physician Member
​Bond, Jr., Milton

​Public Member​7/1/2023
​Bryce, David A.

​Physician Member​7/1/2021
Doniparthi, Padmaja

Physician Member​​7/1/2021
​Gerlach, Diane M.

​Physician Member
​Parish, Mich​ael A.

​Physician Member
​Roelke, David M.​
​Physician Member​7/1/2021
Sattler, Rachel E.
​Public Member
Yerby, III, Lemuel G.

​Physician Member
Yu, Emily S.

​​Physician Member

​Public Member

*Board members whose terms have expired may continue to serve until their successor is confirmed by the Senate.

Interstate Medical Licensure Compact Commission (IMLCC)

Click here for information and updates from the IMLCC.


FSMB Statement on Wearing Face Coverings During Patient Care​   

On January 16, 2019, the Board updated the Wisconsin Medical Examining Board Opioid Prescribing Guideline.  

On March 21, 2018, the Board updated the Wisconsin Medical Examining Board Opioid Prescribing Guideline

Interstate Medical Licensure Compact Commission Minutes

IMLCC Draft Minutes of June 27, 2017

IMLCC Draft Minutes of September 13, 2017


Chapter 4 - State of Principal License (Adopted: November 17, 2017)

Chapter 5 - Expedited Licensure (Adopted: November 17, 2017)

Please review the following requirement:
Physician's Duty to Report (2009 WI Act 382)

Please review the following update:
NTSB Information on Risk of Pilot Impairment


The State of Wisconsin Medical Examining Board is pleased to offer the new online application process for medical and osteopathic physicians called the Uniform Application for Physician State Licensure (UA). The UA will benefit physicians by reducing redundancy in filling out multiple applications when applying for licensure in multiple states. Physicians will be able to apply to multiple states by filling out the UA once, then directing it to additional states. Physicians applying via OLAS can import their UA information into their Wisconsin license application, leaving only the state-specific instructions and addendums of the application to be completed. Visit the Federation of State Medical Boards’ website for further information.

Last updated: 10/20/2020