Optometry Examining Board

The Optometry Examining Board is created under Wis. Stat. § 15.405(8) and has authority as outlined in Wis. Stat. ch. 449.


The members of the Optometry Examining Board are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Legislature to serve four-year terms. The Board consists of five licensed optometrists and two public members.

MemberOfficerMember TypeTerm Expiration
Carli, Ann MeierChairpersonOptometrist Member7/1/2014*
Jinkins, Mark A.SecretaryPublic Member7/1/2016*
​Foss, Richard L.Optometrist Member​7/1/2017*
​Sorce, Peter I.Public Member​7/1/2023
Optometrist Member
​Optometrist Member
Vacant​Optometrist Member

*Board members whose terms have expired may continue to serve until their successor is confirmed by the Senate.​


Please review the following update:

NTSB Information on Risk of Pilot Impairment

​On March 16, 2017, the Board adopted the Best Practices for Prescribing Controlled Substances Guidelines.

Last updated: 3/25/2019