Respiratory Care Practitioner Exam Information

​​​​​​Pass the following required examination components:

  1. National Board for Respiratory Care Therapist Multiple-Choice (TMC)​ Examination
  2. Open-Book Online Wisconsin Statutes and Administrative Code for Respiratory Care Practitioner Examination
  3. Oral Examination (if needed)

National Board for Respiratory Care TMC Examination

Information on the TMC Examination can be found on the National Board for Respiratory Care (NBRC) site.

An applicant who fails to receive a passing score on the TMC and/or the Wisconsin Statutes Exam after three (3) attempts must submit a remedial education plan to the board for approval prior to rescheduling the exam.

Wisconsin Statutes and Administrative Code for Respiratory Care Practitioner Examination

The passing score for the exam is 85%. Print these instructions out and read them carefully before starting the exam.


The exam content is drawn from applicable state statutes and administrative code chapters specific to the profession. The purpose of the exam is to familiarize yourself with locating the statutes and administrative code that regulate the practice of the profession. State of Wisconsin Statutes and Administrative Code for the profession can be found under the Additional Resources section on this page.

The state exam consists of material taken from the following statutes and code chapters:

  • MED 10
  • MED 14
  • MED 20
  • SPS 7
  • Chapter 146
  • Chapter 440
  • Chapter 448
  • Chapter 961


  1. Go to
  2. Select "Test Launching."
  3. Your instructor is "dft."
  4. If you are unable to access the exam, try again later or refresh your web browser.
  5. The exam is not timed. You may exit and return to the test any time over the next 3 months. Exit by clicking the "X" at the top right-hand corner of any screen.
  6. Do not click "Done" until you are ready to submit the exam. If you accidentally click done before you are ready to submit your exam, just go back in and start again. Your first score will be deleted.
  7. Print out a copy of your score report and retain it for your own records. ​


If you fail the exam (score less than 85%), you must retake the exam by downloading the Request to Reta​​ke Statutes and Rules or Ethics Examination (Form 2699)​ and submitting it​ along with a $75.00 retake fee to the Department. You will then be assigned another test.


Additional technical or exam content-related questions can be directed to

Oral Examination

The Oral Examination must be completed if needed. Please see Med 20.04(4), Wis. Admin. Code.

Oral Exam Dates

Exam DateDeadline​Location
30 Days Prior​DSPS

Testing Accommodations Forms

190​7Disability Modification Request Form for Examinations
2349Requests for Modification of Examinations for Persons With Disabilities
2350Professional Verification of Request for Modifications​​