Respiratory Care Practitioner

License Information

Per Wis. Stat. § 440.08 (2), the required renewal date for the Respiratory Care Practitioner credential is 06/30/even years.  Should you receive your initial credential in the months leading up to this date, you are still required to renew your license by the statutorily defined date.

An applicant for permanent certification may apply for a temporary certificate at the same time but must pay both fees and meet the following conditions:

  • New Graduate Temporary Certificate
    • Be a graduate of an approved school and be scheduled to take the national certification examination or be awaiting examination results.
    • Passed the Wisconsin statute and rules examination and is not required to take an oral examination.
    • Practice during the period of the temporary certificate shall be in consultation, at least monthly, with a respiratory care practitioner or a physician who shall at least once a month endorse the activities of the person holding the temporary certificate.
  • Individual Licensed in Another State Temporary Certificate
    • Be a graduate of an approved school and passed the national certification examination.
    • Passed the Wisconsin statute and rules examination and is not required to take an oral examination.
    • Pass required examinations.
    • Board review of application (if applicable) for determination to grant credential.  

Pre-Credential Education Information

Graduate from a school with a course of instruction in respiratory care approved by the American Medical Association commission on accreditation of Allied Health Education programs.

Certification by National Board for Respiratory Care.


Application for Licensure

FormDescription
1790

Application For Certification to Practice Respiratory Care
1792​Respiratory Care Practitioner Certificate of Professional Education
1793Verification of Certification (this form needs to be completed and forwarded to the National Board for Respiratory Care Inc, NBRC)
1794Practice of Respiratory Care (This form is not required for new graduates)
2871​Temporary Certificate Request For Certified Respiratory Care Practitioner (For individuals licensed in another state
1815​Temporary Certificate Request for New Graduate Respiratory Care Practitioner (For new graduates)
2829

Malpractice Suits or Claims Form (If applicable)
2252

​Convictions and Pending Charges
3071​Fax Payment Form

Renewal Information

Requirements

  • FEE (See Renewal Dates and Fees)
  • If your legal status as a qualified alien or nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United States has changed since the issuance of your credential or your last renewal, please contact the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services at (608) 266-2112 or dsps@wisconsin.gov.

Renewal Methods

  • Online Log In: License Renewal Online
  • Request a Paper Renewal Form: (888) 506‑4239 or (608) 261‑4460 for the Madison area
FormDescription
RDAFRenewal Dates and Fees
R210Active Duty/Discharge Renewal Extension

Wisconsin Act 210 (effective June 1, 2012)

This Act extends the license of a service member if the license expires while they are on active duty from 90 days to 180 days from the date of discharge. The same applies to a spouse of a service member if the spouse does not practice under their license while the service member is on active duty and does not practice because the service member is on active duty.

This Act repeals a provision of prior law that required a service member to meet all of the requirements for license extension or renewal, except for continuing education requirements, in order to have the license extended.

Service members and spouses may request extensions of licenses beyond 180 days from discharge and may request a waiver or extension of time to complete continuing education requirements due to hardship. Please view Active Duty/Discharge Renewal Extension Form #R210.