- FEE (See Renewal Dates and Fees)
- SIG (Signature regarding previous arrests/convictions and pending charges, and also *Method of Certfier Proficiency. Proof of method is required.)
- CIB (Criminal Background Check to be run by Department)
- If your legal status as a qualified alien or nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United States has changed since the issuance of your credential or your last renewal, please contact the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services at (608)
- Online Log In:
License Renewal Online
- Request a Paper Renewal Form: (888) 506‑4239 or (608) 261‑4460 for the Madison area
*Method of Certifier Proficiency
Firearms Proficiency Certifier approvals expire on December 31 of each even-numbered year, per Wisconsin Administrative Code
SPS 34.04(7). Below are the acceptable methods by which a Firearms Proficiency Certifier may renew their license. Please note that proof of method must be included with renewal paperwork.
Method 1: Credential holder is approved as a firearms instructor by the Training and Standards Bureau in the Wisconsin Department of Justice.
Method 2: Credential holder holds a currently valid instructor's certificate in the police firearms instructor's program or security firearms instructor's program issued by the National Rifle Association.
Method 3: At any time on or after January 1, 1995, the credential holder was approved as a firearms instructor by the Wisconsin Law Enforcement Standards Board or certified as a law enforcement firearms instructor, or a substantially equivalent designation, by the National Rifle Association and has completed a six-hour firearms instructor refresher course within 12 months before application for approval or re-approval by the Department. The refresher course was presented by a regional training school approved by the Wisconsin Law Enforcement Standards Board or by a staff instructor in the Law Enforcement Activities Division of the National Rifle Association.
Method 4: Credential holder holds current certification or approval as a firearms instructor from a school in the Wisconsin technical college system, that certifies or approves firearms instructors in a manner which the department determines achieves equivalency to methods one through three listed above.
Method 5: Credential holder holds current certification or approval as a firearms instructor from an institution approved by the U.S. department of education, that certifies or approves firearms instructors in a manner which the department determines achieves equivalency to methods one through three listed above.
|RDAF||Renewal Dates and Fees|
|R210||Active Duty/Discharge Renewal Extension|
Wisconsin Act 210 (effective June 1, 2012)
This Act extends the license of a service member if the license expires while they are on active duty from 90 days to 180 days from the date of discharge. The same applies to a spouse of a service member if the spouse does not practice under their license while the service member is on active duty and does not practice because the service member is on active duty.
This Act repeals a provision of prior law that required a service member to meet all of the requirements for license extension or renewal, except for continuing education requirements, in order to have the license extended.
Service members and spouses may request extensions of licenses beyond 180 days from discharge and may request a waiver or extension of time to complete continuing education requirements due to hardship. Please view Active Duty/Discharge Renewal Extension Form #R210.